Red City Radio
Red City Radio


3.5
great

Review

by Atari STAFF
April 17th, 2015 | 18 replies


Release Date: 04/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We get old and pray we don’t grow up, but that’s nothing that we choose

As we continue to grow older, we must embrace change. It’s simply part of life; whether it be marriage, becoming a father, or that house payment that’s due at the end of the month. Of course, it’s not always easy, but these difficult changes are often as rewarding as they are intimidating. Gruff punkers Red City Radio are aware of this, and they’ve crafted an album that can proudly be sung by just about anyone regardless of their current situation in life.

Although Red City Radio haven’t made a complete u-turn with their latest effort, there’s something about the heartfelt lyrics that suggest a new sense of maturity. They’re still the same band we’ve come to know and love, but this time they’ve mixed some truly impactful messages into these 10 stadium fillers. It seems fitting then, that their 3rd full length effort is named after the band. This album is everything the band has ever stood for, from their love of rock music to the boisterous gang vocals; yet the enormous sing-along choruses suggest they’re finally claiming the throne they rightfully deserve.

At first, longtime fans may be put off by the more accessible sound the band has adopted, but it’s not much of a change from their sophomore effort, Titles. That album found the band inching away from their in-your-face punk approach, and they’ve simply taken the next step in that direction. However, don’t be fooled into believing Red City Radio has sold out. Even with the loss of a vocalist, they’re able to inject each moment with a level of energy that refuses to let up throughout the album’s runtime. Songs like the lead single ‘Rest Easy’ or ‘Electricity’ are so damn catchy you’ll have to use genuine restraint to keep yourself from tapping your feet or shouting along with the lyrics.

The band also haven't lost their sense of humor despite the slight shift in lyrical themes. Vocalist Garrett Dale sounds as convincing as ever as he shouts lines like “I just wanna get high and play my ***ing guitar” or “I can see the sun it’s out on the street, seems like it’s filled with assholes to me.” Sure, he sounds a bit more melodic than the past, but his voice still contains that hoarse quality that works wonders for these more aggressive lyrics. He truly sounds like he has a small frog lodged in the back of his throat at times, and that’s what makes him such an original and charming singer.

Red City Radio are no strangers to revision. Since their debut album, the members have overcome lineup changes and entered new chapters of their lives. This time, however, the band are writing more than just their typical booze-fueled punk anthems. The closing track is one of the most ambitious tracks they’ve ever written; not only is it their longest song to date, but it tackles the negative impact drug abuse can have on somebody’s life. It’s not that the band are against partying, quite the contrary actually –but they’re aware that it can go too far. We can’t stay young forever… and as we age we’re forced to look at the bigger picture. Despite this notion, the band hasn’t forgotten how to have a good time or craft a memorable rock-n-roll song. They’re simply embracing change, and they’re openly inviting you to be a part of the process with their latest batch of hard-hitting punk tunes. It might not surpass the band’s previous works in terms of musical ability, but it accomplishes something else entirely; it’s completely relatable.



Recent reviews by this author
Outer Heaven Realms Of Eternal DecayUn Sentiment
Elise Davis CactusShannen Moser I'll Sing
Spanish Love Songs SchmaltzNatalie Hemby Puxico
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i can understand why some people might be skeptical about the change in sound, but honestly this just feels like an expansion to the sound on "Titles" to me. And it's pretty great. Feedback appreciated.



album is streaming over at absolutepunk



http://www.absolutepunk.net/showthread.php?t=3723625

Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

Scoot
April 17th 2015


19117 Comments


the dangers of standing still is one of my favorite summer punk albums

ShadowRemains
April 18th 2015


24987 Comments


didn't realize these guys were following up so soon

henryChinaski
April 18th 2015


4110 Comments


Oh cool, checking this out now. Never listened to their second album, but The Dangers of Standing Still was definitely solid. Nice write-up!

ComeToDaddy
April 19th 2015


1774 Comments


Never heard these guys but I'm a sucker for this sort of thing. Will check out a single or two. Nice work on the review too.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2015


6676 Comments


"The band also hasn’t lost their "
- either change hasn't to haven't, or change their to its. maybe go with the latter

"He truly sounds like he has a small frog lodged in the back of his throat at times, and that’s what makes him such an original and charming singer."
- a bit of a silly line

- didn't really notice anything else. nicely done

NightProwler
April 20th 2015


7005 Comments


Great review, looking forward to hear this album. Sounds like the right direction for them to go after Titles.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for the comments/feedback everyone. band is really underrated

argonaut
June 4th 2015


818 Comments


On first listen, this might be my favorite thing this band has ever done.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad you dig. can't believe how many people have overlooked this one

argonaut
June 4th 2015


818 Comments


Yeah. It didn't quite keep my whole attention all the way through, unfortunately, but still a solid album.


Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i honestly like all their albums about the same. this has some fantastic songs, even if it's not their most consistent release

NightProwler
June 5th 2015


7005 Comments


This grew a lot on me. One of my favorites of the year so far

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the closing track rules so hard

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2015


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

It takes a couple of tracks to get going, but Red City Radio's self-titled 3rd LP soon settles into a groove that will be familiar to fans of the Oklahoman quartet. Despite a switch in guitarists, the melodic punk rockers deliver more gruff sing-alongs here, even if they're not quite as memorable as on previous efforts. This may be due to more methodically paced tempos being utilized & the lyrics running a little deeper than usual. One thing's for certain; the instrumentation is uniformally excellent, with some of the best moments being sans vocals. Recommended Tracks: Electricity, Stranger, I Should Have Known & ... I'll Catch a Ride.



Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2015


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

might have to bump this up, album's a blast

SteveP
June 9th 2016


99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Took me awhile but this finally grew on me to the point I think it might be their strongest record yet. I think this band has a truly classic masterpiece inside them. Great review as always Atari

Digging: Antarctigo Vespucci - Love in the Time of E?-?Mail

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2018


23864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stoked for their Skytigers EP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy