Runaway Brother
Mother


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
April 14th, 2015 | 84 replies


Release Date: 03/31/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The first exceptional emo record of 2015

In the past year or so, Tiny Engines has rightfully become the go-to label for promising emo talent. With bands like The Hotelier and Somos making huge waves in 2014, one couldn’t be blamed for eagerly anticipating what’s in store for them next from the thriving label. Enter Runaway Brother, an emo/rock hybrid with big shoes to fill; thankfully, they’re more than up to the task on their engaging debut, Mother.

The band’s first full length effort is ridiculously entertaining and eccentric, with vocalist Jacob Lee fueling the band’s sound with his commanding and theatrical performance. His voice possesses a mixture of angsty charm, which demands the listener’s attention around every corner. It’s not a far cry from what’s worked for acts like The Front Bottoms or Modern Baseball , but Runaway Brother bring enough new ideas to the table to keep their debut sounding fresh. Take closing track ‘Youniverse’ for example -- an irresistible 7-minute send-off that begs for repeated listens with its layered guitar-work and explosive conclusion. Not convinced" Just see how many times you can count a tempo change in any given song on the album. Rather than following the typical verse-chorus-verse format, each tune feels meticulously crafted, with the superb musicianship and songwriting keeping it all intact. It’s quite the telling accomplishment, and by the time each track runs its course, it’s nearly an unrecognizable shell of what it once was.

With the recent resurgence of the genre some are calling an “emo revival,” it’s not hard to figure out why Runaway Brother’s debut is able to match the quality of their peers. Mother finds the band firing on all cylinders –whether it’s the way the vocals seamlessly transition between gruff and gentle, or the groovy solos that are glittered throughout. The guitar work is also satisfyingly crunchy and piano notes dance around flamboyantly in the background of several tracks. To top it all off, the lyrics are about as clever as you will find in this style of music… and that’s just the icing on the cake. Due to the band’s refusal to stick to ordinary song structures, each track is strengthened with a genuine sense of longevity. It’s the kind of album you’ll have on repeat for weeks, and even then you’ll feel as though you haven’t discovered every nook and cranny. Not too shabby for a group of boys from the suburbs of Ohio. In fact, their peers should probably start taking notes.



Recent reviews by this author
Spanish Love Songs SchmaltzNatalie Hemby Puxico
Winterfylleth The Hallowing of HeirdomRunaway Brother New Pocket
Alela Diane CuspBrigid Mae Power The Two Worlds
user ratings (113)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

a HUGE thanks to ExplosiveOranges, Arcade, and JohnnyOnTheSpot for giving this a proofread. Album rules



http://www.avclub.com/article/runaway-brother-wants-you-listen-its-mother-216919

Digging: Wild Pink - Yolk in the Fur

elephantREVOLUTION
April 14th 2015


2959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really glad you reviewed this. they are from my area and i'm super happy to see them gaining the attention they deserve.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2015


11112 Comments


Really great write up man. Even though not exactly my kind of music, I really enjoyed reading your review.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

thanks man, glad you enjoyed it :]



@elephant, that's awesome man, you ever get a chance to seem them play live? I'm sure they'd be a blast

elephantREVOLUTION
April 14th 2015


2959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i actually heard them for the first time live when they were playing with citycop somewhere. i've seen them a good 6 or 7 times in the last year and they are always great. you better believe they nail those harmonies live. i'm seeing them again next week with tiny moving parts

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2015


15971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@elephant, that's awesome man, I've yet to hear tiny moving parts though



@calc, u got any favorite songs on here?

YakNips
April 15th 2015


19172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

skeptical based on your comparisons



ill give it a fair shot

loveisamixtape
April 15th 2015


7569 Comments


yeah this is pretty cool so far! i really love the artwork

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

yeah the artwork is pretty cool



@yak, i think you'd probably dig this. it's kind of a grower though

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


6667 Comments


ya hopefully this isn't just a poor man's modern baseball - would be dire indeed

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

i like this band significantly more than modern baseball, i just think the vocals are similar at times which is why I used that comparison. i even get some say anything vibes in certain spots



edit: maybe i should try to avoid band comparisons in the future, i don't want people to write off a band over something like that lol. but yeah, i think this is far more than just a front bottoms/modern baseball clone.

loveisamixtape
April 15th 2015


7569 Comments


this band is way more interesting than modern baseball. but i also hate modern baseball

PappyMason
April 15th 2015


5702 Comments


Great write up man. And yeah, the album cover looks lovely.
I'll try and have a listen later, sounds like it'll be great!

Snake.
April 15th 2015


20752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally damn

JasonCarne
April 15th 2015


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just picked up the opaque purple vinyl version of this - really digging it.

Digging: Cornelius - Fantasma

henryChinaski
April 15th 2015


4053 Comments


Will check out, sounds great. Nice review!

Digging: Night Verses - From the Gallery of Sleep

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@jasoncarne, how dare you tempt me with that, hmmmm



also thanks a lot pappymason and henrychinaski. the continued support is what keeps me writing

JasonCarne
April 15th 2015


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

With shipping it was only $18 ;)



Good job with the review by the way, I'd pos if I could.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2015


23537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

haha thanks man. and that definitely sounds tempting, but i went on such a big vinyl buying binge since i got my record player that i need to slow down a bit lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy