Young Fathers
White Men Are Black Men Too


3.5
great

Review

by StrangerofSorts STAFF
April 12th, 2015 | 22 replies


Release Date: 04/07/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: File under Rock and Pop

Don't mention the M-word prize, because Young Fathers took that in a stride they made several steps ago. It probably makes more sense to say 'leaps ago'. Young Fathers are not out to stand on a stage and preach, they're out to entertain, and according to their stage presence entertainment means jumping: lots and lots of jumping. A glitzy industry award never changed that.

The group's directive to change pop music from within sees them switch out hip-hop clichés for something easier to believe in. Aggression is passed over for excitement; thug life for metaphor; rap for what has helpfully been described as “rap-but-not-rap” - much to the confusion of mainstream broadcasters who, despite the critical furore, thought the general public too delicate to handle such a departure from the norm. An M-word trophy might collect dust in one of their mums' cupboards, but Young Fathers are back to making music from the fringes.

All the better for us, because White Men are Black Men Too – I mean, what a title! - returns to the anti-genre twilight zone of last year's Dead. Keeping to the sub 40 minute mark, Young Fathers dab at the now familiar palette of swollen bass backdrops, ritualistic percussion and vocal chants to make a more celebratory version of what we've heard before. "Liberated" glistens with enough optimism to fill a sportswear hype advert, while "Shame" feeds from the off-kilter energy supplied by those characteristic vintage EMS synth stabs. The group indulge in some slightly uncomfortable boy-band crones when the album clicks round to "27", but tear the song from the jaws of skip-inducing doom as soon as they reach the lines "27/ a night in heaven/ killed a man with my bare hands".

The album won't win many new fans, but for those already clued in it supplies a fresh batch of engaging, abstract production and, especially in the meat of "Old Rock n Roll", a few meals' worth of food for thought. With an album title like White Men are Black Men Too it shouldn't be a surprise to hear them get stuck in to controversial material at some point.



Recent reviews by this author
Burial UntrueRaime Tooth
kj wakeTape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You Love
Phaeleh All That RemainsBrian Eno The Ship
user ratings (122)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Ditto (3)
I wish that I knew what I know now...when I was younger...


Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album title of the year

Crawl
April 12th 2015


2557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not sure if I'm disappointed or not, yet. However, I definitely prefer Dead and the tapes to this. This one seems to be a bit more about production, though, but I miss the anthemic elements of Dead a lot.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're right - there is a hole that only "ak47 take my brethren straight to heaven" can fill.

Crawl
April 12th 2015


2557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm genuinely interested why 1.5?

PowerBlitz
April 12th 2015


131 Comments


I gotta be honest, the title alone was enough to grab my attention.
My only concern was the album was gonna be preachy, guess I have to listen to this soon.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not preachy at all man - they're not about that

oahmed
April 13th 2015


81 Comments


Great review and album title, will have to give this a listen

Phlegm
April 13th 2015


7243 Comments


hope this is better than their other stuff

KingNick
April 14th 2015


7 Comments


I genuinely wonder what made you thought this is a great album title?

Memoryplague
April 14th 2015


38 Comments


well that was bad

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Surprised that some people aren't jamming with this - I had this down as something it's pretty difficult not to like. Any not-fans want to chime in with why they don't like it?



I genuinely wonder what made you thought this is a great album title?




Well it isn't something you ignore, is it?

danielito19
April 14th 2015


12075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what is this m-word prize

Crawl
April 14th 2015


2557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mercury

Spec
April 14th 2015


35633 Comments


Well the title certainly caught my attention. I'm sure that was the point.

overthehill
April 15th 2015


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Came for the title. Stayed for the music. Seriously cool and interesting sound. Influences coming in from everywhere.

Cygnatti
April 15th 2015


32732 Comments


Getting like super mixed signals on this. Interested how it'll turn out tho.

SGGreenman
April 16th 2015


1226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This seems a lot more focused than their previous work

jtswope
August 7th 2015


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This has grown off me since I first listened to it. I like what they're going for sonically on a lot of these tracks, but it just gets mundane for me.

Crawl
August 8th 2015


2557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed with jtswope. Definitely prefer Dead over this.

wtferrothorn
October 4th 2015


5799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...well this wasn't as great as I thought it'd be



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy