Dance Gavin Dance
Instant Gratification


3.5
great

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
April 9th, 2015 | 619 replies


Release Date: 04/14/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Admitting is the first step

I was ready to write this album off well before it came out. Acceptance Speech was a major disappointment, I really don't like Tillian's voice, and I'm an adult who does taxes and lives with his girlfriend - like what business do I have listening to music I loved freshman year of high school when I had long hair, a wardrobe full of Hot Topic tees, a virginity, and wrote run-on sentences worse than this one" Well, to quote the sweeter than sin "Death of a Strawberry," sometimes you "just want to be a kid again."

There's always been something deeply innocent about Dance Gavin Dance, even on their self titled album when they haphazardly threw in all those "fucks" into the lyrics - an overwhelming sense of joy and love for the music came out of those records. As a renowned online music elitist, it's easy to write off Dance Gavin Dance because they make "Fast Food Post-Hardcore," but their music is delicious and fun, they're one of the best bands in said subgenre, and more than anything, sometimes it's OK to indulge in the simple pleasures. I'd be lying if I said the chorus to "Variation" wasn't catchy beyond belief, or that I can easily resist air-drumming along to "The Cuddler," or that "Shark Dad" didn't make me care about guitar again. DGD are as fun and consistent as ever on Instant Gratification, and I feel safe in admitting I feel pretty damn good when I listen to it.

One misstep (Acceptance Speech) caused me to grow cynical beyond my years about Dance Gavin Dance, and I wholeheartedly regret not getting all aboard the hype train for Instant Gratification like I did back in '08 when I listened to DGD's new singles on Myspace. To be fair I'll probably never enjoy a new Dance Gavin Dance record as much as I did back in the mid to late 2000s, but Instant Gratification is solid enough, and fresh enough to knock the cynicism right out of me - and believe it or not, Tillian's vocals grew on me.



Recent reviews by this author
American Football American Football (LP3)Hotel Books I'll Leave the Light On Just In Case
Bring Me The Horizon AmoAlkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?
Mark Kozelek Mark KozelekDr. Octagon Moosebumps
user ratings (963)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
paradox1216 EMERITUS (4)
Instant Gratification lives up to its name, and adds a bit more gratification every time you hit the...

cmaitland421 (4)
Dance Gavin Dance's return to form is perhaps their strongest release to-date....

beachdude (4.5)
I got a feeling that we're here to stay…...

SweeneyTodd (4.5)
Instantly gratified!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2015


56532 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

sup

Digging: Venom Prison - Samsara

Slut
April 9th 2015


4255 Comments


Great review I agree with all of this so hard and I've accepted it a long time ago

Slut
April 9th 2015


4255 Comments


Guitar tone on shark dad is really cool and I want to know how to do that

FearThyEvil
April 9th 2015


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On the Run and Eagles vs. Crows are awful but most of this is actually pretty damn good and I'm not really a fan of this band.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2015


56532 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

On The Run is one of my favorites

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2015


10552 Comments


I'm digging the review, nice job.

"a wardrobe full of Hot Topic tees, a virginity, and wrote run-on sentences worse than this one?"

this cracked me up pretty hard

OwMySnauze
April 9th 2015


1928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great write up Trebor. Extremely fun album.

ATTA
April 9th 2015


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Spot on Review. I would agree, Dance Gavin Dance isn't what it used to be, but still holds as a band that we liked when we were younger, but I we will still keep on listening to them, because it's Dance Gavin Dance, and dang is this new album dang catchy.

ATTA
April 9th 2015


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Spot on Review. I would agree, Dance Gavin Dance isn't what it used to be, but still holds as a band that we liked when we were younger, but we will still keep on listening to them, because it's Dance Gavin Dance. Dang is this new album catchy.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2015


56532 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys!

Angelboros
April 9th 2015


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"but they're music is delicious and fun"



Replace 'they're' with 'their'. Aside from that, excellent review, Treb. Have a mind pos.

ATTA
April 9th 2015


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Shark Dad is the pinnacle of this album.

oisincoleman64
April 9th 2015


2260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been interesested in checking out this group, would this be a good place to start

ATTA
April 9th 2015


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Oisincoleman64^ start at Downtown Battle Mountain(The first album), and from their it doesn't matter.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2015


56532 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Angelboros

RealityBoost
April 9th 2015


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review! I'm really digging this album, so much fun!

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2015


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review man

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Plays The Music Of Twin Peaks

mazalthan
April 9th 2015


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I dig this review, thank you for providing a fair outlook on the album itself upon giving it a couple listen throughs. This genuinely feels like some of DGD's best work since DBM1 in my eyes. The recommended by reviewer are interesting though LOL.

Toondude10
April 9th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review, though I disagree

Digging: Devin Townsend - Empath

Toondude10
April 9th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

no



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy