Marriages
Salome


3.6
great

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
April 7th, 2015 | 77 replies


Release Date: 04/07/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Marriages finally release the charming rock record we always knew they were capable of.

With the onset of post-rock/metal's putrefaction, Marriages seem to have gotten out just in time. While the genre tag has always been really loose to begin with, one cannot deny the overt literal and thematic heaviness that the band has typically displayed. Winding passages thick with burning reverb have littered their short discography, while each song has slogged away murkily. Yet a lot has changed in the years since Marriages first made waves in 2012. But as they say, the more things change the more they stay the same, with the band doing just enough to move themselves in the right direction.

Salome is actually the debut album of Marriages. That's right, nearly three years after their first EP Kitsune the LA trio have finally made honest go of it, and as expected, it's a charmer. They've cleaned things up a bit, polishing the buffeted surface and sanding the jagged edges. While still milking the shoegazing sound which defined Kitsune, Marriages have scaled it back a bit. In fact, just about everything has been scaled back: the heaviness, the thick atmosphere, and the psychedelic leanings. It's all been reigned in, for better and worse. Instead of a ballooning cauldron of haze and aimless guitar, Salome is a neatly wrapped package. Clear and definable, Marriages have made a quirky little rock album that houses the spirit of their earlier material, but with a clean-cut translation of everything they've been attempting to do. Because of this, the band have never felt more tribal. Vocalist Emma Ruth Rundle, for the first time, is perfectly audible. She gives the album its earthy, powerful drive that taps into something almost primal. Sounding like Grace Slick by way of something more occult, Rundle's dark contralto is a sure standout. In order to hear all of this however, Marriages had to turn everything down a notch. The oppressive guitar heard on their debut is much more understated here. While it is wonderful to hear this band firing on all cylinders for the first time ever, the "under water" sound from their debut EP gave the work a certain allure.

It matters very little at the end of the day, though, because Salome is a success through and through. Marriages tweaked every facet of their sound to give birth to something entrancing and digestible. No track wanders along aimlessly or over stays its welcome, as Salome is a perfectly constructed rock record. At times beautiful while at other times eerie, this is a debut not to be missed.



Recent reviews by this author
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperBlut Aus Nord Deus Salutis Meae
Acephalix DecreationMiley Cyrus Younger Now
Cannabis Corpse Left Hand PassCormorant Diaspora
user ratings (145)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Underflow (4)
Marriages Deliver Tightened Songwriting And Grace With "Salome"...

related reviews

Kitsune


Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
April 7th 2015


5964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't wait to hear this

Digging: Devictus - Mercury Haze

MattGandee
April 7th 2015


39 Comments


I enjoyed this album quite a bit, and agree wholeheartedly with the review and score (though "finally" in the summary seems a bit odd, given that it's only their second release!).

tcat84
April 7th 2015


1142 Comments


I'd hardly say they tweaked every aspect of their sound and I definately wouldn't call this a quirky little rock record. This is still dark, has post-metal and a bit of drone all over this. The melodies are definately more defined, but this hasn't been polished beyond recognition.

17WordHaiku
April 8th 2015


251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually kind of like this. Never heard of them. Every song feels same-ish but it didn't damper my enjoyment.

CrimsonLies
April 8th 2015


2575 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, will read the review tomorrow

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2015


7605 Comments


Great review, this sounds promising.

Digging: Fleurety - The White Death

Artuma
April 8th 2015


29122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is v good. both the album and the review

Taxt
April 8th 2015


1050 Comments


Good review, glad to see this got a feature.
I have nothing but good things to say about this album, I've been listening to almost nothing else for a week. There's really not a bad song on here, but that run from Southern Eye through Less Than is especially jaw dropping.

Phlegm
April 8th 2015


7241 Comments


lovely! gotta check this out asap

Evreaia
April 8th 2015


4894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album!

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 8th 2015


25036 Comments


Listened to some clips of this album and it intrigued me. Didn't seem like a truly great album, but certainly one that would have interesting moments.

Will probably give it a full listen some time this week. Nice write up as always.

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

FadedSun
April 8th 2015


1750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, hey. I remember this band. Kind of forgot about them. I loved Kitsune, so definitely have to check this.

SpiritCrusher2
April 8th 2015


5715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is so beautiful

Shiranui
April 8th 2015


541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, well deserved.

Gmork89
April 8th 2015


7352 Comments


Really like this so far. Sounds way too colorful for that dull grey album cover.

Lowder91bird
April 8th 2015


613 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I will be checking this out soon.

KerfuffleinaHussle
April 8th 2015


1033 Comments


idk why but this reminds me a lil of The War on Drugs if they all had major depressive disorder or something

FadedSun
April 8th 2015


1750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid on first listen. It all started to sound similar by the end for me though. Love their rhythm section.

tcat84
April 8th 2015


1142 Comments


I find some of the best albums are like that. Then all these details start popping out on the 2nd and 3rd listens. Like walking through a forest, at first all you see is trees, then you realize all the bugs and small animals around.

Relinquished
April 8th 2015


36599 Comments


great record



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy