Capsize
The Angst In My Veins


3.5
great

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
April 7th, 2015 | 13 replies


Release Date: 09/30/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Buckets of promise, but no payoff just yet.

Melodic hardcore as a genre depends on a couple of things to be effective. It needs an urgent delivery full of immediacy to carry the album, due to the trademark emotional heaviness usually found with the sound. It also needs a sense of relatability in the lyrical storytelling. Melodic hardcore giants like Defeater proved that true when their impassioned tales resonated with fans. Newcomers Capsize succeed in the former category, but fall just a bit short in the latter which holds their sophomore record back from being more than just another promising outing from an up and coming band. Regardless, The Angst In My Veins is a melodic hardcore album that’s sure to please fans of the genre.

As a whole, Capsize turned up with a very Counterparts esque sound on their second outing. The melodies tend to bury themselves in with the dissonant riffing, in a marriage of sounds that really ought to clash…..yet they never do, to Capsize’s benefit. The split between heaviness and melody is nicely even as well, and the breakdowns that plague some of the more metalcore influenced melodic hardcore of today (For The Fallen Dreams, The Ghost Inside) are fairly toned down. On first listen the songs tend to run together, making for a less than memorable experience. Over repeated listens, parts do start to stand out, but even then it’s clear that the album functions better as a whole. While the dirty snarl of a vocal performance prevalent throughout the album is both entertaining and emotionally gripping, the lyrics fail to reach past the stereotype of “mopey, self-absorbed diary entries”. The words may lack relatable resonation, but luckily the music pushes forward some of the passion that would otherwise be missing.

Capsize impress with a fun, interesting, and well performed debut full of energy, if lacking in anything innovative. With some more attention addressed to memorability, and some more varied lyrics, this melodic hardcore outfit could really do something with their third release.



Recent reviews by this author
Vimur Triumphant Master of FatesBorn of Osiris The Simulation
Hate Eternal Upon Desolate SandsCultes Des Ghoules Sinister
Horrendous IdolBosse-de-Nage Further Still
user ratings (101)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You know the drill. Feedback appreciated.

cvlts
April 7th 2015


9528 Comments


something I learned in my reviewing is try not to make sweeping generalizations about genres in your reviews, especially the opening sentences...

comparing "X" band to the one being reviewed is okay every once in a while but try to stay away from the "insert genre" needs to sound like "blank" in order to be good. just cut to the chase and tell us if you think the album's good or not.

pretty concise review though. ratings like these can be tough to write about as it can really easily be described as "okay, but nothing special" and nothing else. they're the most difficult ones in my experience.

seeing these guys in a couple weeks with Defeater and Counterparts so I need to check out a couple songs from these guys to see what they're about.

betray
April 7th 2015


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

horrible title, great album.



saw them live with defeater and counterparts last thursday, picked up their LP at the show. good stuff, although nothing we haven't heard before. good review game.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"something I learned in my reviewing is try not to make sweeping generalizations about genres in your reviews, especially the opening sentences...



comparing "X" band to the one being reviewed is okay every once in a while but try to stay away from the "insert genre" needs to sound like "blank" in order to be good. just cut to the chase and tell us if you think the album's good or not."



I usually don't, but felt the urge in this case. Did you think the generalizations were inaccurate or were you just warning me about the dangers of doing so?



Thanks for the positive feedback too guys

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
April 7th 2015


6682 Comments


@game - you're basing your thesis on what an album of ___ genre should be, rather than simply interpreting it as it sits in front of you. some of the greatest albums recorded didn't adhere to what the parent genre typically required. so, it's just a bit of a weak opening. plus, it's cliche to review an album based on where it stacks up in its respective scene. you could just say the album lacked/has ___ traits and make that your argument.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 7th 2015


42434 Comments


id listen to this is i could see her nipple

Digging: Cvd - Elsewhere Nowhere

cvlts
April 7th 2015


9528 Comments


Nah, they could be right on the money but it always seems like word filler that doesn't really do anything other than make the average reader a) agree wholeheartedly or b) rage and instantly neg your shit.

A lot of the older staffers that I took influence from like Kiran, Sobhi, Adam, and Greer rarely ever did that and I found it looked and read a lot more professional (if that's what you're going for).

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"@game - you're basing your thesis on what an album of ___ genre should be, rather than simply interpreting it as it sits in front of you. some of the greatest albums recorded didn't adhere to what the parent genre typically required. so, it's just a bit of a weak opening. plus, it's cliche to review an album based on where it stacks up in its respective scene. you could just say the album lacked/has ___ traits and make that your argument."



hmm interesting, I'll have to be careful about it from now on.

Snake.
April 7th 2015


21564 Comments


is that grimes on the cover

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Could be.

Matt97
December 4th 2015


76 Comments


I just don't know if I can get into an album called "The Angst In My Veins"

loveisamixtape
December 16th 2015


7743 Comments


this band sounds like atreyu

Speed512
June 15th 2016


200 Comments


They're trying really hard to be the next Underoath now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy