Mac Miller
DELUSIONAL THOMAS


4.5
superb

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
April 5th, 2015 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Darkly humorous.

The fact that Mac Miller didn't release Delusional Thomas under his own name initially should tell you something about the album. Its release on Halloween in 2013 might explain the psychotic lyrics and off-kilter beats, but it doesn't explain why it exists in the first place. Miller found commercial success quickly in his career, though many detractors rose to decry his success. He continued to dominate radio airplay, even writing and performing a wildly successful track with singer Ariana Grande. But even with all of that success, something happened to Miller along the way. Descending into the darkest depths of depravity on Delusional Thomas, Miller casually (and callously, some might say) spins lurid tales of rape, murder, and suicide. Sound bites of machine guns mix with babies and children laughing maniacally to begin the album, and it's when Miller steps in on "Larry" that listeners begin to understand what they're in for. His pitch shifted vocals will no doubt be difficult for some to get used to, but this is most coherent and varied Mac's flow has ever been. The ADD-riddled take on lyricism goes from grave subjects (drug addiction) to mentioning tattoos of a certain savior on his foreskin in the same breath; we're treated to the rantings of a psychopath with moments of clarity interspersed to keep things compelling enough for repeated listens.

The production is perhaps the best part of the album, as there is a murky minimalism to the beats that suit the subject matter quite well. It's understated, paling in comparison to the outlandish pictures that Miller has painted throughout. The chilling piano in "Bill" provides a haunting backdrop for impressive features from Earl Sweatshirt and Bill, but Mac makes the intelligent decision to keep features to a minimum here. When he does bring someone in, it pays off exponentially; Da$h's fiery feature on "The Jesuits" meshes perfectly with the echoing and laid-back beat. It would be easy to dismiss this as shock-rap, but there's more to be taken from this album. Delusional Thomas represents the darkness in Mac, and it's as viable as anyone else's psychosis. Stints in rehab from too much lean (and likely too many opiates) have seemed to open Miller's eyes that this world is not all sunshine and rainbows. Instead of internalizing his depression like most, he has channeled his despair into a blackly humorous release that will only resonate with people that understand this release is meant only to be evil, not to be taken at lyrical face value. This is Mac at odds with his own sanity, succumbing to the disturbing thoughts speaking up from the darkness. I can't say I blame him; Delusional Thomas is as suffocating as my mind feels sometimes. Miller's own words summarize his crumbling sanity best in "Grandpa Used to Carry a Flask (featuring himself):

When I'm out in London, I be posted at the Parliament
Coke in the parliaments, chilling by some monuments
Ominous when I feel your body with godly hollow tips
Leave you holy, prepare for the apocalypse


Good luck, Delusional Thomas.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMThe Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' Boys
Blood Gemini Snow SeasonCaina Setter of Unseen Snares
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
April 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Part two of me justifying my love for newer Mac Miller stuff, and failing miserably. Constructive criticism would be appreciated, as always.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2015


10934 Comments


Great review Mark, although I'm not sure I understand the relevance of that lyrical excerpt. Would I enjoy this?

Digging: Evilfeast - Elegies of the Stellar Wind

cryptside
April 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man, and I think you'd like it. It's really hard to say, because getting used to the pitched up voice takes some patience. Production and beats are phenomenal at first listen. I changed it up a little bit to explain the relevance of the quote, so let me know if it's still dubious. If it is, I will just take it out completely.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2015


10934 Comments


Nah it's cool now, much better. I think I'll give this a go, sounds interesting but I may struggle with the vocals, doesn't sound like I'd dig those. Only one way to find out (:

cryptside
April 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Exactly, buddy :] let me know if you dig it, it's very different but I love the off-kilter vibe it has going on. Thanks for going over the correction too, helps out a bunch.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2015


4408 Comments


Fantastic review, dude. Usually despise this guy's stuff, but from the way you put it, this could actually be interesting.

cryptside
April 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks, man! Honestly, I could see you really liking this. At least check the song Bill. For old times sake?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2015


10195 Comments


Noice review. Been getting into rap and hip hop and such lately. Think I'd dig?

cryptside
April 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Shanks game. It's possible man, I think it's worthwhile so definitely give it a shot.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2015


8499 Comments


i hate that you're convincing me mac miller is worth checking out.

will have to download Faces soon, great review as ever mark.

Digging: Godflesh - Post Self

breakingthefragile
April 6th 2015


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not really seeing an argument for that 4.5 rating in this review. Are you saying this is a 4.5 for a Mac Miller project? Have you heard much horrorcore? Because this is pretty standard-issue for the genre, except with a really grating pitched-up voice.



@Arcade Blue Slide Park is also worth checking out for the beats mainly.

cryptside
April 6th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@breaking I've heard plenty of horrorcore, but I think a ton of it lacks authenticity. I understand why someone may not enjoy it, but I feel like I've justified why I personally like it so much. Thanks for the feedback on this, though.



@arcade, I def appreciate the compliment. Let me know what you think of Faces, I think you'll dig it. A lot of the highlights are the later tracks fyi.

SharkTooth
April 8th 2015


13794 Comments


damn, this review makes this album look a lot more interesting than anything else he's done,
I'm probably gonna check this out honestly

cryptside
April 9th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cool dude! Let me know what you think!

JWT155
April 9th 2015


13613 Comments


Kid is a twat.

I'm from Pittsburgh and he comes from a well to do family that's had the money to support his aspirations. More power to him. I've bumped into him a few times. Like many young artists he's cocky and thinks he's hot shit. I lost respect for him when he played a show at a venue my brother worked at, which the Steelers own, and during the show they gave him a free jersey with his name on it. The next day his agent came in with the jersey, saying that Mac didn't like it and wanted a newer retro jersey instead... oh and he also wanted a retro Buccos jersey too... and can you have this all done in a few days... and oh yea, his agent was his Mother.

He's a spoiled brat.

RadioSuicide
April 9th 2015


705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stoked this got a review, and a good one at that. only thing "Grandpa Used to Carry a *Flask"

RadioSuicide
April 9th 2015


705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also his Faces mixtape he released after this is a rather notable improvement on his usual personal work.

cryptside
April 9th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@JWT, didn't know that man. It's always a disappointment when an artist shows his true face and it isn't pretty.



@Radio, thanks for the catch there, don't know how I missed it lol. Lol also reviewed Faces awhile back, and agree that it's an improvement.

Elijah9
July 30th 2015


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just FYI, the feature on Bill is not Ill Bill, it's just Bill, a Pittsburgh dude who's friends with Mac.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy