Majical Cloudz
Impersonator


3.5
great

Review

by chaseguitar USER (2 Reviews)
April 4th, 2015 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Love will conquer these feelings

Impersonator is a personal record. It’s an emotional record. It’s a record that becomes more endearing as it goes on, captivating the listener with the longing for acceptance and love, something to which we can all relate. Some of us may have found these desires in life, and some are still searching. The latter group especially will connect strongly with these oh-so-human feelings presented throughout the album, making for an incredibly fulfilling and cathartic listening experience.

Majical Cloudz is a duo consisting of Devon Walsh (vocals) and Matthew Otto (production). Walsh’s voice is absolutely the focal point of the music, with humble synths and light percussion complimenting his singing. The production can be sparse at times, but this isn’t a fault; it just accentuates the style and atmosphere for which Majical Cloudz is striving. The focus on vocals allows us to concentrate on what Walsh has to say, and that’s important. This is a record about longing for something more; there is uncertainty in the air, and he wants to change that. In the end, though, he just wants to be loved [“I wanna feel like somebody’s darling”], but the feeling is not always reciprocated [“Love goes down / I feel down”].

These lyrics may not seem so profound, but the vocal delivery of Walsh captivates the listener with every word being sung. He sings mostly in a lower register (reminiscent of The National), with the occasional use of falsetto on some oohs bridging to the next chorus or verse. His voice is quite distinguishable, and he is a fairly dynamic singer given the relatively small range he limits himself to when singing. His voice is most effective on songs such as “Silver Rings,” where he seems restrained until the song builds up, at which point Walsh gives it his all and croons very loudly, acting as an emotional release of sorts, as well as a pay-off for the listener.

The background production also uses his voice generously, almost to the same degree as the synths and percussion elements. In fact, percussion isn’t introduced until the third track, giving the listener time to get accustomed to the voice/synth combo that is prevalent throughout the record. The record deviates from this moderately homogenous production on a couple tracks. On the stand-out, “Turns Turns Turns,” delayed drums and reverbed vocals complement each other to create a nostalgic atmosphere unlike any other on the record. The array of powerful emotions that Majical Cloudz is able to evoke is really quite impressive, especially considering the inherently sparse nature of the duo.

This isn’t a happy record, but it is a hopeful record. There is acknowledgment of a regretful childhood and past faults on the earlier tracks, but similar to their placement on the album, these can be put behind us. In fact, the album grows and improves as it goes on, it terms of production layers and quality. Maybe we haven’t been accepted in the past because we haven’t been ourselves. We’ve been impersonating others, trying to please others. In the end, maybe we need to impersonate ourselves in order to find love and certainty in life.

Follow your heart, I guess. Or as Devon Walsh puts it on the closing track,

“Love will conquer these feelings. Yeah.”


user ratings (74)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 4th 2015


40836 Comments


not on this alb but that one single, savage i think, is a fucking tear jerker

Digging: Amon Tobin - Fear In A Handful Of Dust

chaseguitar
April 4th 2015


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hm, never heard it, I'll check it out. But yeah, these guys make some pretty emotional music.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 4th 2015


40836 Comments


easily their best song

this cheesy lyric video makes me want to kill myself doe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYydlES_6R8

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 4th 2015


40836 Comments


this is the kind of song you listn to when your girlfriend dumps you if you want to make your life like about 2000x more shitty than it needs to be

chaseguitar
April 4th 2015


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha. emotional release, my friend.



yeah it's pretty great though. I was surprised this album didn't have a review; it def needed one. hopefully they'll get more recognition with their next album

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 4th 2015


40836 Comments


do they have something scheduled?

chaseguitar
April 4th 2015


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think so, I'm just kinda assuming/hoping they'll release something in 2015/early 2016

RadicalEd
April 5th 2015


9430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't this album used to have another review? Anyway your review is good.

chaseguitar
April 5th 2015


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, friend! But yeah I've never seen a review of this album on this site before

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

58 ratings and 9 replies? we should change that!

ParanoidAndroid96
August 19th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't like change

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn i'm surrounded by 3.5s

ParanoidAndroid96
August 19th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

saw these guys at a festival once. the singer's stage presence was adorably awkward

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only ever heard this album but it's a masterpiece

ParanoidAndroid96
August 19th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shiny new 5 you have there

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

meant to rate it 5, the 4.5 was a mouse slip



have you heard their other stuff?

ParanoidAndroid96
August 19th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nope, might check out their new album when it's released. the single is ight, I hope they have better stuff on the rest of the album and expand their sound a bit

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i actually love how minimalistic and voice-oriented this one is tbh. the music that is there is beautifully understated. haven't heard the new track yet but i've heard from a friend it's kind of meh. when doe the new album even drop?

ParanoidAndroid96
August 19th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah I like those qualities about this album too, I love the singer's voice and the production gives him plenty of space to do his thing. If the new album has the same production style I might lose interest unless the songwriting gets a lot better because by the end of this album I was left wanting a little more punch and/or diversity from the production and hopefully they can do that on the new album



album is out october 16

Gyromania
August 19th 2015


26489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i hear you. for me this is just a perfect relaxation album best used for reflection. it definitely has a very mellow, distilled sound to it but that's one of the reasons i love it so much. i'm sure their new album will have more musical exploration though, if this single is anything to go off of.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy