Chaos Divine
Colliding Skies


3.0
good

Review

by ComeToDaddy USER (48 Reviews)
April 1st, 2015 | 27 replies


Release Date: 03/06/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You won't complain to the chef, but you also won't come back for seconds.

As fervently as I defend the oft-derided modern progressive scene, it has undeniably spawned legions of copycats intent on pushing a trite formula to the limit. There’s a veritable crowd of little league artists in a relatively small ballpark, where many simply copy the big name player’s signature moves and hope it will get them noticed. For better or worse, Colliding Skies has it all – big vocal hooks, talented yet restrained instrumentals, light/dark interplay; every skill popularized by the forerunners of the progressive sphere. Most importantly however, there’s a light touch of left-field experimentation that separates these Australians from the competition.

From the pounding waves of ‘Painted With Grey’ to the soothing current of ‘Tides’ and everything in between, the album ebbs and flows with a comfort that makes back-to-back listening a simple task. Even the occasional abrupt shift in direction doesn’t feel like a hindrance because of how smoothly most of these tracks play out – it’s at the exact moment you wish they’d shake things up a bit that the band blindsides you with an unexpectedly chunky riff. The metallic elements that overpowered the mix in past releases are now integrated admirably, and while this new tone is more derivative of popular acts, the diversity gives it an edge over their past releases when looked at from a birds-eye view. Chaos Divine have succeeded on paper, but the problem lies in the composition of the album. The band becomes too content, letting the album continue to ebb through the midsection without paying attention to how far the tide is going out. ‘The Shepherd’ provides a late resurgence, and the powerful closer continues to push the shoreline forward, but it can’t make up the ground lost from the earlier lethargy. The band is never lazy, and no songs are completely one-dimensional and boring, but that stagnancy catches a band that simply doesn’t respond quickly enough.

When Chaos Divine are firing on all cylinders, it really is something to behold. There are distinct gold flecks shining in the gravel, but it hasn’t been separated from the soil and refined. The magnificent saxophone solo that ends the album screams “potential”, but it hasn’t been realized here. There is certainly enough meat to sate listeners, but not enough flavour to keep you coming back for more, and in a culture of rapid consumption, the flavour is paramount to success. It’s proof that doing just enough isn’t really enough.



Recent reviews by this author
Spectral Voice Eroded Corridors of UnbeingSukekiyo ADORATIO
School of Emotional Engineering School of Emotional EngineeringSpectral Lore Gnosis
Power Glove EP IIAgent Fresco Destrier
user ratings (51)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ComeToDaddy
March 31st 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Stream can be found here: https://chaosdivine.bandcamp.com/

I have a really tough time balancing negativity and positivity in these middling (2.0-3.0) reviews, but I'd been stopping and starting this one for 2 weeks so thought I'd just put it out. Album started off a 3.5 for me but just got worse with each listen. There's some really solid tracks on here though, if you're interested in the genre, there's still plenty to be excited about.

Digging: Ojne - Prima Che Tutto Bruci

emester
March 31st 2015


8249 Comments


Nice review as always.

Probably not gonna listen as I thought the previous album by these guys was pretty crap.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2015


11550 Comments


Great review, although it reads higher than a 3 in my opinion. But yeah, fantastically written.

Digging: Four Fists - 6666

ComeToDaddy
March 31st 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, that's partially because my rating has dropped with each listen, but I'm glad the review came across well regardless. I'll tweak little parts if I can think of better ways to convey my thoughts.

PotsyTater
March 31st 2015


1560 Comments


band name deserves to not exist

also i can tell just by reading that these guys are from Perth and they have a 'progressive' tag that i would hate this more than most other things

PotsyTater
March 31st 2015


1560 Comments


the whole australian modern prog metal scene is just full to the brim with bands that i cant stand

ComeToDaddy
March 31st 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Agreed hard on the band name. Aussie prog was a big part of my gateway from radio music to what I listen to now, so I'll always have a soft spot for it, but you definitely shouldn't check this.

tempest--
March 31st 2015


20626 Comments


at least this is real prog and not faux prog well their last 2 albums were

love the artwork to this, will prob enjoy it more than I should

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2015


11550 Comments


The art is really cool actually

Hawks
April 1st 2015


60880 Comments


Sweet review dude. I'm gonna steer clear of this one.

Digging: Four Fists - 6666

henryChinaski
April 1st 2015


4097 Comments


The art is really cool actually [2]


Digging: The Story So Far - Proper Dose

ComeToDaddy
April 1st 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Always support the local m/

TooManyFriends
April 1st 2015


2925 Comments


The art is really cool actually [3]

xenocide.
April 1st 2015


1268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually a pretty good album, if a bit predictable and derivative.

Gmork89
April 1st 2015


7700 Comments


I thought The Human Connection was amazing but I haven't been able to get into this.

Khaotica
April 1st 2015


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had high hopes for this album coming off of The Human Connection, which was pretty damn good. It has its great moments, but it just doesn't hold me throughout like their previous album. Sadly, a little disappointed with this album.

Rice303
April 2nd 2015


366 Comments


Hmmm, found this album somehow overlong and not fully realized, still I'll probably pick up a copy of this sometime because I feel like it might grow on me. Seems to me like they'll never be able to top their last album

ComeToDaddy
April 2nd 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I must be the only one who didn't particularly enjoy The Human Connection. This one is still definitely good, and has some really stellar moments, there's just not enough unique content to spread across the length. If it was more of an ep built off the better songs like The Shepherd, Landmines and With Nothing We Depart it would be an absolute killer.

PortalofPerfection
April 28th 2015


1991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

was pretty disappointing with this. picks up in the last third or so but the whole first half is just...bleh...

ComeToDaddy
April 28th 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah the only times I come back to this album, I just spin the final 3 tracks and then turn it off. The rest is just too one-dimensional.



How's things man? It's been a while



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy