Blood Gemini
Snow Season


4.5
superb

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
March 28th, 2015 | 33 replies


Release Date: 03/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Haunting passion.

After a certain amount of time analyzing music, it becomes a bit more difficult to feel that wow factor when I listen to music for the first time. I honestly believe it to be the result of hearing music in a different context; there is this constant thought of how can I explain this and appeal to others in regards to the music present" Although it helps the writing process, it's a little too mechanical for my comfort. After all, a passionate love to share and write about music that I cared about was what prompted all of this writing business in the first place. So how does Blood Gemini factor into this" Well, besides Snow Season being one of the best releases thus far of 2015, it also coaxed a review out of me quite easily. The combination of ambient soundscapes, ethereal female vocals, and electronic-come-hip-hop beats make this album a pleasant and diverse listen. It ends up providing much more than that, however; the five tracks flow beautifully from one to the next. The ghostly vocals that begin "(Dawn)" are entrancing and inviting, but the music that follows is subtle and messy, favoring a distant and scratchy sound until all of the sounds coalesce into a satisfying hip-hop beat at the end. The twosome that make up Blood Gemini do this consistently through the EP; there is a sense of the duo getting ready to lose themselves in the icy ambient tundras that they create, only to pull it all together to form a coherent and thought-provoking end product. It actually ends up helping to not understand a word the vocalist is saying here, as it makes the sudden shift from a gorgeous melody in "(Dream)" to a hopeless croon at the end much more effective. However, the best example of the vocals elevating the music is the beginning of penultimate track "(Gemini)", where she airily whispers something not meant for our understanding over an incredibly catchy beat that features a well-placed vocal sample.

Snow Season simply feels as though there is so much content to delve into as a listener, as its subtle shifts and turns will warrant repeated listens. Given the fact that it's sitting at right around twenty-two minutes, I find it astounding that Blood Gemini were able to take such a short amount of time and flesh out every track perfectly. "(Waking)" meshes a stately orchestral background with an unobtrusive beat and vocal arrangements to die for, while "(Dusk)" ends the album on a very final-sounding positive note. It would seem that even from a cursory listen, it is easy to see that this twosome from Cincinnati would falter without each other. The combination of the emotive palette of sounds and the haunting voice of the singer is what will inevitably draw a fanbase to them, and rightfully so. Snow Season is the sound of two musicians getting it right the first time around, mixing experimentation with slight vocal-centric pop sensibilities. It's a beautiful thing to witness (or hear, rather), and I am happy to report back as a music critic that these lovely sounds reinvigorated my passion for writing about artists that need to be heard by others. It's about goddamn time, and I eagerly await the next output from Blood Gemini.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysCaina Setter of Unseen Snares
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
March 27th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://bloodgemini.bandcamp.com/releases



Shit rules, check it out. Feedback appreciated, as always.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2015


11622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review man, I feel you on the intro about over-analysing music, especially now studying music theory haha, but it's interesting and it's making me appreciate the process more. Really enjoyed the review too, very vivid description, I'll check this out.

cryptside
March 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man, really appreciate that. I had no idea you were studying music theory, that's awesome. Definitely let me know what you think of this.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 28th 2015


6676 Comments


I'm not 100% on your transition of your "how does Blood Gemini factor into this? well..." thing. you make a couple good points (that I agree with) when it comes to discussing music, but then you say "it's one of the best releases for me..." and then I'm left hanging.... what does it being a great album have to do with the previous statements specifically? is it in that it simply prompted you to write this review? idk, maybe I'm lost. you wrote your last review like 9 days ago, so I'm just not sure what you were getting at

cryptside
March 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I understand what you mean. What I was trying to get at was that this brought me back to a place where listening to this didn't seem to be so clinical, and picking it apart was much easier than it has been for me.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 28th 2015


6676 Comments


ah, i feel ya. so, maybe when you say "After all, a passionate love to share and write about music that I cared about was what prompted all of this writing business in the first place. So how does Blood Gemini factor into this? Well, Snow Season is one of the best releases thus far of 2015 for me" you could add that you saw no need to be clinical, as it was effortlessly enjoyable and worth sharing for the sake of sharing or something just to clarify (idk, I'm just saying things. good review, man)

cryptside
March 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, yeah I feel you on that one. I will reword that in the am. Thanks man, I appreciate it.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2015


23933 Comments


Really nice write-up Mark, it's always a treat to find an album you're really passionate about like this.

PotsyTater
March 29th 2015


1560 Comments


will check this hard

cryptside
March 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Aaron!



Let me know what you think, Pots.

ExplosiveOranges
March 29th 2015


4408 Comments


A+/10 review, Marcus Aurelius. Would I dig this?

cryptside
March 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shanks, Oranges! I think you'd dig.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2015


11622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is pretty cool actually, I like the vocals and the last track is really nice

cryptside
April 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you dig, Scuro. I find myself coming back to this one after the fact quite a bit.







I finally made a small change to the review, hopefully it reads a little better Johnny.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2015


11622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I like it for sure, pretty relaxing but also a bit uneasy which I like. Thinking a 3.5 at the moment.

cryptside
April 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for checking man, I really think that this will be interesting to quite a few people on Sput. I'm hoping that more people catch onto it.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
April 10th 2015


11622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Part 3 is so cool wow, probably my favourite off this

cryptside
April 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That it is, my friend. My fave changes pretty consistently haha.

DeadStarShine
April 11th 2015


778 Comments


Listened to Part 1 of this and it seemed really interesting.

cryptside
April 11th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it's really unique man. Let me know what you think of the rest of it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy