The Prodigy
The Day Is My Enemy


3.0
good

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
March 26th, 2015 | 40 replies


Release Date: 03/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Birth of Classic Electronic.

Far from the trailblazer he once was, Liam Howlett nowadays occupies the spot of a rockist in a ravers world. For years prior to the release of their 6th studio album, he has often spoken of the ennui prevalent in EDM culture, offering little advice to help curb the phenomenon. Indeed, headlining Download and Sonisphere hasn't done Howlett any favours for his newly established position in the dance music universe, preferring to play to crowds who prefer their dance music to sound like it's being made by a rock band. Recent interviews indicated as much, but nothing can really prepare you for what this so-called 'call to arms' is: the most by-numbers album from The Prodigy yet.

It's no surprise that The Day is My Enemy falters in the belief that back-to-back bangers are the key to saving dance music. Howlett's role of royal curmudgeon is unbecoming, with the likes of "Beyond the Deathray" suffering in comparison to lead single "Nasty" simply due to album sequencing. Furthermore, Howlett's irrational distaste for modern dance music comes to plague his embittered criticisms of it, especially when Sleaford Mods pop up on "Ibiza" to mock bass hunger with a satisfying dose of said grimy drops. Were it not for the fact that The Prodigy leave a desirable distance between successive releases, The Day is My Enemy could have easily been derided as an unsatisfactory Invaders Must Die clone. Still, Liam Howlett's penchant for fuck-off massive beats is a pleasure, and Keith Flint and Maxim know how to thumb their way through hyperactive and pummeling hooks. One can't help the thought though that The Day is My Enemy signifies a plateau for this once innovative band; if there ever were a band who fit the description of 'Classic Electronic' better, I'd like to hear it. As it stands, The Day is My Enemy is consistent if inessential listening.



Recent reviews by this author
Sheck Wes MudboyTravis Scott Astroworld
Denzel Curry TA13OOPusha T DAYTONA
Post Malone beerbongs and bentleysJ. Cole K.O.D.
user ratings (202)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Tunaboy45 (3.5)
It may not be anything new, but that doesn't stop it from being an entertaining entry in The Prodigy...

MattTD (3)
Diesel Power against the mainstream...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2015


4473 Comments


[edit: fixed.] solid review which is about as long as this album deserves from what I've heard so far. listening now via iTunes and it's not horrible but eeh

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2015


4473 Comments


check Music for the Jilted Generation if you haven't yet too. their early-'90s XL release What Evil Lurks is also ace

ExplosiveOranges
March 25th 2015


4408 Comments


Looks good, man.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2015


4473 Comments


to an extent, yeah. I just saw that Dev kind of trashed What Evil Lurks, but that was a bit ago and his rating has since been deleted so idk if that's how he feels now. I personally think it's a really interesting EP but that's just me

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2015


11682 Comments


Great rev. Never really got into these guys, then again I'm not a fan of the genre.

DirEnRefused
March 26th 2015


3532 Comments


Good review, wish I could write this concisely.

breakingthefragile
March 26th 2015


3104 Comments


Music for the Jilted Generation pretty much broke me into electronic music as a whole, good times. Might give this a shot, really didn't care for their last two albums.

MassiveAttack
March 26th 2015


2754 Comments


not surprising ;/

Tunaboy45
March 26th 2015


16734 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Shame it's not better, will probably check though.

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

KevinKC
March 26th 2015


854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Very good review which tells everything about the album. Shame it's not better [2]

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2015


32190 Comments


I'm sorry, but I really can't get behind this review at all.

Far from the trailblazer he once was, Liam Howlett nowadays occupies the spot of a rockist in a ravers world. For years prior to the release of their 6th studio album, he has often spoken of the ennui prevalent in EDM culture, offering little advice to help curb the phenomenon. Indeed, headlining Download and Sonisphere hasn't done Howlett any favours for his newly established position in the dance music universe, preferring to play to crowds who prefer their dance music to sound like it's being made by a rock band.


The Prodigy have been like this since The Fat Of The Land came out. In fact they've deliberately played at certain festivals to deliberately curtail certain associations with electronic music. They've always been the electronic act with the rocker attitude. This is nothing new, and it's played here as if it's some new development that's influenced the album. If anything, this album is Howlett and co giving into popular electronic music, rather than continuing to rebel against it

PoodleRapist
March 26th 2015


268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's watered down as hell. the music is as boring as imd's haters said of that record, which i actually quite liked. parts of songs were great, but it's basically an exploitation of the prodigy franchise, and as a follower since fat of the land, it's incredibly boring, with a few glaring exceptions. to me, it just serves as frustration because they clearly are capable of releasing a great record, but are yet to. i will say i prefer the other review to this; it's a good review, but that one felt more genuine.

PoodleRapist
March 26th 2015


268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"They've always been the electronic act with the rocker attitude"



not until they put out jilted

MassiveAttack
March 26th 2015


2754 Comments


I'd agree wholly agree with Dev for more mainstreamed rock attitude and it definitely shifted within Fat of Land, their previous material is extremely close to their roots. That album marked a total conscious move to a more streamlined sound and it worked, extremely well, but since they've yet to produce anything quite as special and widely digestible in all their fan base/communities.

dbizzles
March 26th 2015


13067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't believe it is 2015 and the Prodigy is relevant. No shit, though, this album is cool as fuck. Wild Frontier, 8-bit, FTFW!

Digging: Gorement - The Ending Quest

satanicaleve
March 26th 2015


24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As usual I didn't go into this record thinking it would be on par with their first three albums but I wasn't disappointed with the final product. Decent record with a little more variety than Invaders.

Digging: Sleep - The Sciences

MattTD
March 26th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"i will say i prefer the other review to this; it's a good review, but that one felt more genuine."



fanks boo xx

deathschool
March 27th 2015


23925 Comments


/Quality Review.

Mental pos

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2015


32190 Comments


not until they put out jilted


No, they've always had the "attitude" and outsider mentality. As for actually introducing "rock" elements directly into their music, then yeah sure

helpoemer420
March 30th 2015


188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its okay but how the hell did this take six years to make...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy