Earl Sweatshirt
I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside


3.8
excellent

Review

by StrangerofSorts STAFF
March 24th, 2015 | 738 replies


Release Date: 03/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Earl steps out of Tyler's shadow to find the outside world ain't all that sunny either.

No longer just Tyler's prodigy, Earl Sweatshirt is stepping out of Odd Future's shadow to find the outside world ain't all that sunny either. But that suits him fine. As he says, he don't go outside, and in the darkest corners of the urban jungle Earl's production festers to reveal the frayed wires and rotting skin of a boy who's been pretending. The EARL power-fantasy posturing has wasted away. It's just Earl now: dark, psychotic, introverted Earl.

These days it shouldn't be a surprise to find Flying Lotus involved. Not directly, but these self-produced beats didn't come from nowhere. Just a couple of sessions, a couple of pointers here and there from the patriarch of contemporary hip-hop, was enough to help Earl's production on its ***ed-up spiral. The album sounds as if it is melting, so stands up to the recent wave of high-brow jazz accompaniment as the extreme, disintegrating alternative. Earl speaks as someone beaten down, unhealthy and lost, there is no cause for hiding it. “***ed up. I looked ***ed up. When I was in my most - when I had the most clarity, I looked ***ed up", he confessed in an interview for NPR. Here the beats speak for him.

And for the whole package comes the characteristic drawl: the vocal reflection of that vacant Earl stare dominating his on-screen appearances. Disinterested, measured and dark, his flow bares the hallmarks of the psychological-thriller psychopath. The same nonchalance to rape and murder which introduced Earl as a teenager is now directed at more personal problems. He's 21 now, living the life of debauchery and fully aware of any long term damage that brings: “I don't know where else to call home lately... / When I run don't chase me.”

There's a fair bit of tension in his rhymes and it works for him. Earl upholds a dangerous, unpredictable presence – when he slurs “step into the shadows, we can talk addiction” in “Grief” there aren't many who would take up the offer – but at times he holds himself wide open. The single moves on: “Lately I've been panicking a lot... All I see is snakes in the eyes of these niggas.”

With this, Earl is setting himself as the anti-hero of the urban catacombs. As his peers conspire to help each other on the way to the perfectly marketable, headphone-empire utopia, Earl cuts up his creations in the subterranean. There is no pretense, he is not trying to prove anything and this is the same messed up kid from EARL, but much wiser and much more aware of his own flaws. Earl is fully conscious of the darkness in his life but unwilling or unable to do much about it.

It will be interesting to see where Earl goes from here. Whether he'll split from Odd Future completely and take on this dark, mutant world solo. All things considered it feels like there's a lot more to come, and as Mike Tyson told him in a mutual interview last year: “you know, you’re only 20; you’re not crushed yet.”




Recent reviews by this author
Burial UntrueRaime Tooth
kj wakeTape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You Love
Phaeleh All That RemainsBrian Eno The Ship
user ratings (704)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
SGGreenman (4)
Earl finds his place. The rest of Odd Future can stay outside....

Goldfinch13 (4)
I been living what I wrote...

ampharos4life (5)
Midnight in an Imperfect World...


Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I review hip-hop now.

guitarded_chuck
March 24th 2015


15349 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this isn't going to be hip hop aoty of the year for me but it will almost certainly be my most played

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

nice edit -.-

MalleusMaleficarum
March 24th 2015


16346 Comments


"isn't going to be hip hop aoty of the year for me but it will almost certainly be my most played"

how the fuck does that make any sense

for what reason would your fav not be most played

captaincrunch11
March 24th 2015


1492 Comments


Did not know this was coming out!

Ritvik
March 24th 2015


480 Comments


Good album, but it was too short. Hopefully Earl has more up his sleeve. Vince Staples and Earl need to make a project together, they work really well imo.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2015


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Did not know this was coming out!




Apparently Earl had a release schedule planned out but Sony fumbled it, so the release hype was kinda limp. Hard to make yourself heard next to everything that's been coming out recently, too.

Ritvik
March 24th 2015


480 Comments


Lol seems like everyone is fucking up their releases. What a month of music this has been though

SGGreenman
March 24th 2015


1226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Album rules

Relinquished
March 24th 2015


37851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Kendrick Lamar, Death Grips, Ghostface Killah, Modest Mouse, Sufjan Stevens, GY!BE..."



cmon...

deathschool
March 24th 2015


22558 Comments


Really great review. I gotta give this a few more listens to decide how I feel about it. So far, I like it, but I feel like Earl may be a little too committed to his I'm-rapping-but-I'm-also-pretty-goddamn-bored style. Maybe it'll grow on me.

Ritvik
March 24th 2015


480 Comments


This kinda feels like a continuation of Doris.

cvlts
March 24th 2015


9475 Comments


"Kendrick Lamar, Death Grips, Ghostface Killah, Modest Mouse, Sufjan Stevens, GY!BE..."

cmon...

haha I had the biggest "are you fucking kidding me?" face reading that

but it's a good review tho

guitarded_chuck
March 24th 2015


15349 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"nice edit -.-"



well if you want me to actually mentioned it fine - i think your opening is silly





"how the fuck does that make any sense



for what reason would your fav not be most played"



kendrick's will prob be my aoty but i listen to more hyped hip hop more often, rae sremm will probably be my most played just because it's on all the time, but it's 100% not the best

Fort23
March 24th 2015


2968 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm on a campaign for more left brain music I also predicted he would be on this it was meant to be OF on some real shit is and mostly always has been earl/frank/left brain > the rest for me at least





guitarded_chuck
March 24th 2015


15349 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^100%



this is actually dope as fuck im loving this, i didnt think something so good would come from of ever again except frankie

adr
March 24th 2015


11994 Comments


An Album By Earl Sweatshirt is not part of the album name right? lol

Ritvik
March 24th 2015


480 Comments


It is lol

Fort23
March 24th 2015


2968 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^uk when you see something like that and its jarring but then the music or whatever it is your looking at is awesome and it all makes so much sense



It kinda like that

Fort23
March 24th 2015


2968 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rt Good review rt mad good sentences I agree with, this the best shit that come out this year since sorry 4 the weight





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy