">
 

Kendrick Lamar
To Pimp a Butterfly


5.0
classic

Review

by Necrotica USER (197 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2015 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist


To Pimp a Butterfly, vignettes of
eternal struggle;
color,
sex,
money,
ways of life, the vices of
all life concerned, rapped about,
grappled with quality flow;

slow, fast, all in between is
the tempo of Lamar's words
diversity the name of each game
each track, experience of a new
variety

the jazz, the soul, in full coordination
with the hip-hop roots, expressed with
guests; Isley, Clinton, Gordy,
legends of old soul
old funk and
the best of 70s nights on Thriller grounds

But it's still Kendrick, still centric in the writing,
performance, presence, all there from "Wesley"
to "Mortal," all the way to Tupac;
spoken from nostalgia, 90s snippets, from the man
who inspired the Lamar's gift

But "How Much a Dollar Cost," "For Free"
"I," "For Sale" among other names see
another decade, made of Motown,
now alive, always been alive, a sound
not dead but fresh through new ears

To Pimp a Butterfly, generations of struggle
captured, flashing through stories in all shades
confusion
complication
bleakness
triumph,
the nothing and somethings of bitter Compton
or elsewhere

To Pimp a Butterfly,
hip-hop
soul
jazz,
black,
blacker than black
blacker than the blackberry
(so sweet the juice),
classic.



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Selling England by the PoundTegan and Sara Hey, I'm Just Like You
Tool Fear InoculumTaylor Swift Lover
Carnifex World War XYanni In My Time
user ratings (3817)
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Necrotica
March 23rd 2015


10693 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Unapologetic

Tunaboy45
March 23rd 2015


17646 Comments


inb4.. oh fuck it

deathschool
March 23rd 2015


27315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha- hard pos

PotsyTater
March 23rd 2015


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

word



also still lol'ing at the fact that nobody has mentioned how heavily outkast influenced this and section.80 sound

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2015


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you just didn't learn from the Queen II review, didn't you?

MrSirLordGentleman
March 23rd 2015


14550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked the Queen II review :[





But seriously, there are already too many reviews for this

Ryus
March 23rd 2015


25788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dont care pos'd

Digging: RP Boo - Established!

ParanoidAndroid96
March 23rd 2015


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

pos for being unapologetic

psandy
March 23rd 2015


280 Comments


ummmmm.. yeah

SpiritCrusher2
March 24th 2015


6289 Comments


"also still lol'ing at the fact that nobody has mentioned how heavily outkast influenced this and section.80 sound"

I'm not really that much into hip-hop so I wouldn't know, but as soon as my buddy heard this album he posted this on facebook, roughly translated: "new kendrick is garbage, this is how you do it", with a yt link to aquemini lol

Ryus
March 24th 2015


25788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bout to give in and 5 this honestly

ParanoidAndroid96
March 24th 2015


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

one of us

PotsyTater
March 24th 2015


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



I'm not really that much into hip-hop so I wouldn't know, but as soon as my buddy heard this album he posted this on facebook, roughly translated: "new kendrick is garbage, this is how you do it", with a yt link to aquemini lol




i disagree that its garbage, but your friend knows whats up. outkast made this album over a decade and a half ago



bout to give in and 5 this honestly




dont

treeqt.
March 24th 2015


16970 Comments


but it's better than almost all his other 5s

PotsyTater
March 24th 2015


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yore sew pretentitus tbh treetato

treeqt.
March 24th 2015


16970 Comments


same

Ryus
March 24th 2015


25788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

better than after school definitely

PotsyTater
March 24th 2015


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is that deftones new album

treeqt.
March 24th 2015


16970 Comments


no thats preschool

Asdfp277
March 24th 2015


23562 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

is this album good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy