Tool
72826


3.5
great

Review

by MotoOnSputnik USER (1 Reviews)
March 20th, 2015 | 38 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A very young Tool create a raw and aggressive demo tape to begin their careers as the forerunners of progressive/alternative metal.

Now I'm sure you all know who Tool is and what they're about, but judging from the rating numbers and lack of reviews for this particular demo tape I'm assuming not many of you have heard this, the first recorded music ever released by Tool, 72826 (SATAN).

Maynard James Keenan – vocals
Adam Jones – guitar
Paul D'Amour – bass
Danny Carey – drums

Before we begin, we're going to establish that, of course, the recording quality of this tape is nowhere near the quality of any of their full-length LPs, and as such it holds a very raw sound that may be off-putting to some fans of their later work. This is also certainly not the place to start for any prospective Tool fans so if that's why you're here go check Aenima or Lateralus first. Or even start at Undertow and go chronologically, but I would recommend avoiding their EPs until you get used to Tool's sound (the more adventurous of you may want to even consider starting with Opiate and going chronological from there).

The first thing you'll notice about this is the recording quality, which is less than desirable, but could be worse. The lack of quality actually serves to benefit the sound of the tape due to the raw style Tool are using here. There is a noticeable lack in the progressive elements of the music that is found in their later releases, as at this point Tool was hammering away as a primarily hard rock band, which would be the case until their first masterpiece Aenima. Now, while there was a dramatic shift in style and quality after the release of Aenima, that does not mean that the young, hard rocking Tool's sound was bad or lacking, far from it actually.

In Tool's early work we hear some of front-man Maynard James Kennan's best screams, as he was still young and aggressive in his vocal work, favoring an all-out approach rather than a refined one, the songs "Cold and Ugly" and "Hush" are prime examples. As for the other members, Paul D'Amour has a nice bass-line during "Crawl Away" and another standout moment during "Cold and Ugly" showing even this early on that Tool were comfortable using the bass as a driving force in their songs. Adam Jones plays like Adam Jones throughout. The guitar is crunchy as per usual, it takes over when it should and it stays back when it should. Danny as always is solid throughout the tape, although he has no real standout tracks like "The Grudge" and "Ticks and Leeches" would later become.

Overall 72826 is a quality demo tape released by Tool in their very early years. There are some slip-ups musically and vocally (That Maynard voice crack in Jerk-Off) as would be expected. Regardless, this was a very good way for Tool to start their careers as it laid the foundation for their early raw, aggressive, hard rock sound which would be prevalent throughout both their second EP Opiate and their first full length release undertow. A definite must-have for hardcore Tool fans.


user ratings (271)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My first review on the site, I saw there weren't any reviews of this so I gave it a shot. Criticisms welcome.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2015


18140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cold and Ugly has such a sweet bass solo

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1

Tunaboy45
March 19th 2015


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

OGT

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Talons OMG I forgot about that X_X, just added it in

Artuma
March 19th 2015


30238 Comments


"The first thing you'll notice about this tape (if you are already familiar with Tool) is the recording quality, which is less than desirable, but which gives the demo a very raw feel which turns out to be quite appealing"

eww this sentence. i'll let someone else do the feedback cuz i'm tired af

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

Relinquished
March 19th 2015


39397 Comments


This is, Tool- 72826, with 6 tracks, a run time of just over 20 minutes, and only a few thousand copies ever being released.

Tool at this point (1991) were as follows

Maynard James Keenan – vocals
Adam Jones – guitar
Paul D'Amour – bass
Danny Carey – drums

get rid of this, you're not wikipedia

Flugmorph
March 19th 2015


20783 Comments


Great to see you reviewin somethin bruv.

I kinda need to sleep now but I will read it tomorrow.

Gn8, was a fine day folks

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

Tunaboy45
March 19th 2015


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goodnight flug, may you slumber in peace

Tunaboy45
March 19th 2015


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this isn't a bad review actually, just drop the band description that's rather awkwardly placed.

sips coke

That ghost neg is unnecessary, it is only your first.

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea my feels hurt when I saw that But it's w/e lol. Got rid of some of the description, I want to keep the band members part because some newer Tool fans may not know of D'Amour being the bassist early on. Also edited the part Artuma complained about, I hope it's an improvement?

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Night Flug

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Edited some other stuff, just to make it flow better. I'm pretty happy with how it is ATM.

BMDrummer
March 19th 2015


14480 Comments


good first rev

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TY baby

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2015


18140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Paul D'Amour has a nice baseline during "Crawl Away" and another standout moment during "Cold and Ugly" showing even this early on that Tool were comfortable using the Bass as a driving force in their songs.




"baseline" should be "bassline," and I don't think "Bass" needs to be capitalized. You also might want to put album names in italics and song names in quotations.



There are some slip-ups musically and vocally (That Maynard voice crack in Jerk-Off), but regardless this was a very good way for Tool to start their careers, as it laid the foundation for Tool's early raw, aggressive, hard rock sound which would be prevalent throughout both their second EP "Opiate" and their first full length release "Undertow".




You use a lot of commas here, this sentence could probably be chopped up by a period or two somewhere in there.



For the future, if you have to mention the line-up for albums at least list it at the end or just work that info into the body of the review. You also don't really need that last sentence in the first paragraph, but that's just a preference thing, up to you.



Just some nitpicks, good first review! Pos'd

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2015


18140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry I meant the sentence at the end of the paragraph after you list the line-up, not the very first paragraph.

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fixed it, thanks.

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man!

Mongi123
March 19th 2015


20177 Comments


"Now I'm sure you all know who Tool is and what they're about, but judging from the rating numbers and lack of reviews for this particular demo tape I'm assuming not many of you have heard this, the first recorded music ever released by Tool, 72826 (SATAN).

Maynard James Keenan – vocals
Adam Jones – guitar
Paul D'Amour – bass
Danny Carey – drums"

Really not needed.

"This is also certainly not the place to start for any prospective Tool fans so if that's why you're here go check Aenima or Lateralus first. Or even start at Undertow"

Since you rated this a 3.5, which typically means "great," I'd suggest not rambling about which of their albums are better. Since this has lots of positive qualities to it, you should be convincing us to listen to this and not steering us in another direction right?

Also, try not to insert yourself into the review by saying "I'm." It reads better and more professionally when it's not in the First Person.

Other than that, not bad man. Your last two paragraphs are a big step in the right direction and you'll only improve as you start to write more. Keep at it!

MotoOnSputnik
March 19th 2015


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Mongi!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy