Mark Knopfler
Tracker


3.5
great

Review

by DrJohn USER (47 Reviews)
March 18th, 2015 | 48 replies


Release Date: 03/17/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The aptitude to place oneself in another's trail; an homage, fostered by moments and weathered tracks.

In an industry presuming loudness and digital compression, it comes as no surprise that Mark Knopfler fancies the warmth of dynamic recording and tape -to encompass an array of acoustic folk ornaments amongst the subtlety of his guitar. Besides, a proper trail register is made of wood and although some share elaborate carvings -the essence of the traveler, the study of trail philosophy and chronicles, his take on the story, can be found even inside the more common "mailbox" type.

Tracker, marks solo effort number eight for the ex-Dire Straits frontman; he will draft and comment in the journal of "low man" heroes, using light pencil strokes and side notes. To repeat, the trademark guitar takes back seat, either for Mark aged 65 won't oblige to feel safe behind his cardinal affiliation; or perhaps, he can feel even safer behind decades of compositional know-how and high emotional quotient. Anyhow, you could be hiking... if not appositely boating a river town, or hitting the pub after a walk on Grainger Street; your companion will reminisce of vagabonds on foothill illuminations of Mount Etna, or the days before the success... Indeed, he'll pay homage to his muses, who were not of the godlike type -some of whom were lady writers (suitably Dire-esque, unsuitably short), some were once mighty working-class heroes or crowd pleasers, and some were simple girls he misses.

In truth, I can't be certain if Mark has another string to his bow so that he can attract new fans. Likewise, the narrative clarity to aurally portray a poet he met, while working for six and six down on the Evening Chronicle, might not be enough to fully extenuate a few misdemeanors -as the incongruous Ruth Moody duet outro, or the sporadic overflow of sax mildness. On the other hand, if you track the trail and put the pieces of his registers together, you may actually get why he's reluctant to fill live playsets with Strait hits; there's something inherent that consumes him with benevolent curiosity... Chiefly, discordant with keeping track of former mtv glory; in short -Empathy.


* "...Bury all joy
Put the poems in sacks
And bury me here with the hacks

In the summer the fair
Will stretch over the Moor
Lovers will lie and make out in the park
Basil puts on his old duffel and scarf
And goes out into the dark..."

*Excerpt from Basil.



Recent reviews by this author
World's End Girlfriend Last WaltzTestament Brotherhood of the Snake
Metallica Hardwired... to Self-DestructScandroid Scandroid
Jess Williamson Heart SongAaron Lee Tasjan Silver Tears
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrJohn
March 18th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unfortunately, a good chunk of scattered tunes around youtube has been uploaded bearing the wrong speed. I may edit this post and add some if & when I track em... But keep that in mind, if you go checking out yourself.



Here's a proper one: Beryl - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4AINYf0RMk

Samples of tracker tracks - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4Ec0EB5_io

Making-of - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpNV5ECePg8



bnelso55
March 18th 2015


1268 Comments


Fantastic review, Doc. Have a pos.
His tour for this album is stopping by my town and I'm debating whether or not to catch the show. That said, I haven't heard this yet. I'll follow your link and see if the sound intrigues me.

Digging: Meus - Miserere Mei Deus

DrJohn
March 18th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks mate. The track I linked is not the most representative out of the whole album... So, maybe you should check the samples link or fiddle with the speed option while investigating youtube ; )

bnelso55
March 18th 2015


1268 Comments


Good to know. Thanks a lot. I'll follow the links you included for now. Later on, I'll see if I can find some solid versions of some of the other songs.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2015


10757 Comments


I had no idea that this guy released a new album. I haven't checked any of his solo stuff so I wonder if this is a good starting point.

Excellent review doc, pos.

Digging: Heavy Sentence - Protector / Darkest Hour

DrJohn
March 18th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thnx manos

Well, 2012 Privateering might be a good entry point, then perhaps Shangri-La, or the sophomore Sailing to Philadelphia (more closely related to Dire Straits), but this album is accessible as well.



manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2015


10757 Comments


Sweet, thanks. I'll give Privateering a listen and see where to go from there.

Rawmeeth38
March 18th 2015


1154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn I was gonna review this tomorrow. anyways I'm glad you did, good review. I'm loving this so far.



@manosg definitely start with Shangri-La

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2015


10757 Comments


OK, I'll check both. I'm sure I'll enjoy them but the question is to what extend. The man is incredible after all.

Sciroccu
March 18th 2015


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

IMO you should better start with Golden heart and Sailing to Philadelphia, they are his most famous ones. Privateering is great but it's a double album.

TwigTW
March 18th 2015


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to this now--sounds good . . . It's easy to underrate Knopfler's solo work. I'm probably guilty of that myself, but listening to him play it live is magical.

Digging: Nadah El Shazly - Ahwar

TwigTW
March 18th 2015


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is more about Knopfler's singing and songwriting and less about his guitar playing--review definitely got that right.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2015


10757 Comments


Congrats for the feature doc.

bnelso55
March 19th 2015


1268 Comments


Glad to see this one featured. Top notch review.

DrJohn
March 19th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thnx guys

betray
March 19th 2015


9189 Comments


Wow. Got excited for some reason from the thumbnail thinking this was for Between the Buried and Me's newly announced album, Coma Ecliptic.

Those two covers are damn similar, down to the font and everything.

KILL
March 19th 2015


80995 Comments


lol yea youre out of your element bro

betray
March 19th 2015


9189 Comments


yeah i'm aware but still it was shocking that btbam basically ripped this cover

also i may still check this it sounds cool from the review

KILL
March 19th 2015


80995 Comments


check dire straits instead if you havent already their first album is a rocker

sonictheplumber
March 19th 2015


8483 Comments


dire straits sound a lot like btbam



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy