Ethereal Shroud
They Became the Falling Ash


4.0
excellent

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
March 14th, 2015 | 658 replies


Release Date: 02/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The culmination of eight years of hard work, it certainly has paid off in the form of a musical journey that is as epic as it is compelling.

There is a forlorn, foreboding feeling to Ethereal Shroud's newest release. While that's nothing new for the genres that sole member Joe Hawker incorporates in his music, he takes those descriptors and matches them up with one that's a little more difficult to use: this release is absolutely majestic. They Became the Falling Ash is a near-perfect example of depressive black/doom metal, and certainly one of the best releases to grace my ears this year. Standing tall at sixty minutes and three tracks, the effortless crescendos ebb and flow in such a way that it doesn't feel as though Hawker wastes a moment on here. When he chooses to slow the affair down, there is purpose in the delicately picked guitars and orchestral background; he wastes no time to simply give the listener a reprieve from the gloomy outing. The tremolo-picked guitars and desperate roar of the vocals give plenty of variation in both speed and style, but never at the cost of it sounding tacked-on in any way. The songwriting almost feels obsessive in its focus, which makes sense given that this album has been written over the course of eight years. This lends even more to the excellent production, giving it an expansive atmosphere but still being depressive enough to seem suffocating in a way that benefits the listening experience.

When attempting to describe this album, opposite descriptors continue to pop up in my mind as the music progresses through my headphones each time. The excellent trem-picked guitar section starting around six minutes in on "Echoes in the Snow" is both intense and ethereal, and the section segues into a lush and enigmatic lull before boasting some of the most varied drumwork. The small additions to the sound such as the recurring theme of wind blowing and church bells give the epic and grandiose sound even more credence. Quite simply, it's hard to remember an album that on paper should be inaccessible that is as immediately enjoyable as this one. With two of the three tracks almost hitting twenty-five minutes each, there are certainly some people out there that won't have the attention span for the subtle and rewarding songwriting. They Became the Falling Ash is the culmination of eight years of hard work, and it certainly has paid off in the form of a musical journey that is as epic as it is compelling.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysBlood Gemini Snow Season
user ratings (108)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Absolution|Emptiness

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://etherealshroud.bandcamp.com/



Noctus' project, please check and give it some love. One of my favorites from this year so far. Constructive criticism appreciated, thanks to Johnny and Atari for helping me refine this review.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2015


16938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, album is certainly bm AOTY material

Digging: Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno - Finding Shore

cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, yeah this is really great stuff. "Echoes in the Snow" is one of my fave songs this year. Also, this album was incredibly hard for me to review for whatever reason. I had like six iterations of this review.

Crysis
Emeritus
March 14th 2015


17304 Comments


i enjoyed this, nice work on the album joe

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Vigilance Perennial

emester
March 14th 2015


8186 Comments


Loved this album. Reminds me of what an amalgamation of Esoteric's crushing emotional weight and Darkspace's suffocating and all encompassing atmosphere would sound like.

Digging: Morbid Angel - Kingdoms Disdained

LordePots
March 14th 2015


38576 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

U are a true bro for reviewing this. Nice to see everyone loving noctus's hard work

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2015


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was gonna get around to reviewing this today or tomorrow, but I probably won't bother now. Nice job.

cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Pots, yeah I am happy that everyone seems to really be enjoying it.



Thanks game, you know I'd never tell you not to review something though haha. I'd love to read your take on it.



Sounds like I need to check Esoteric, emester.

Judio!
March 14th 2015


8404 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic album, and great write up Mark (have a ghost pos). Was working on a review for this last month but shit got in the way haha.

emester
March 14th 2015


8186 Comments


Esoteric is fantastic. I highly recommend them if you wanna delve into some quality funeral doom.

cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Judio! All good, I know how that happens. Stupid real life stuff lol.





Will check emester! I love me some funeral doom, quite regularly listen to Silent Path, Eye of Solitude, and Lucian the Wolfbearer so I need more bands like that in rotation.

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2015


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome that you reviewed this. I listened to it for the first time a couple of days ago and it's genuinely one of the best things I've heard this year, at least for the moment.

YakNips
March 14th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is gud

oltnabrick
March 14th 2015


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ace review mate

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2015


10196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Thanks game, you know I'd never tell you not to review something though haha. I'd love to read your take on it. "



I generally prefer to review things that lack one unless I just really feel strongly about it. In this case I think you pretty much covered everything I might have come up with.

cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this is really good stuff. I'm hoping more people check it.



Thanks oltna!

LordePots
March 14th 2015


38576 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i bumped this up for to a 3 out of a sense of solidarity because noctus is a good dude and he worked hard on this and i want to support him, but yeah this just isnt my cup of tea



u know, one of those albums where you know its not bad by any means but its just not for u

cryptside
March 14th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally get that, man.

DarkNoctus
March 14th 2015


10105 Comments


thank you so much for this review and everyone else for the support

absolutely no hard feelings about not liking it pots, you've been a gentleman about it and it's all i can ask

Digging: Aetherian - The Untamed Wilderness

elcrawfodor
March 14th 2015


1264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Voted for this on /r/metal's list for top albums of the first quarter of the year, really awesome album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy