A Night in Texas
The God Delusion


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
February 24th, 2015 | 182 replies


Release Date: 02/14/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Godless deathcore.

Deathcore has received its fair share of disparagement, as well it should. Most of that due to the lack of experimentation and growth found in the genre. Every genre needs standout groups pushing and prodding its boundaries or, better yet, completely caving them in. There are some groups that do that very thing, yet at the same time there is value to be found in just taking the sound’s primary elements and refining them. A Night In Texas gravitates more towards the latter. Their debut full length The God Delusion is the epitome of modern deathcore. Every second of it is a freight train of blistering tempos, crushing grooves, and mind numbingly vicious vocals…..precisely what you need in a deathcore record.

The greatest strength The God Delusion has going for it is its concise runtime. A Night In Texas cleverly cuts off the album at the half hour mark and avoids the exhaustion factor that comes with this brand of extreme music. The band doesn’t fool around with slowed down prog sessions or acoustic breaks, instead preferring their tech riffs and chugging breakdowns. Sure it’s fairly one note, but in that simplicity lies effectiveness. It’s a pissed off record for pissed off people and doesn’t shoot for anything greater. The faster moments call to mind fellow technical deathcore outfit Beneath The Massacre; but where that band is weighted down by their constant blasting, A Night In Texas balances the tech nicely with groove. The breakdowns seem to appear at just the right moment to relieve the listener’s wearied ears. Death metal purists will cry foul, as always, at the frequency of those moments, but it’s hard to argue too loudly when the breakdowns are this heavy. As evidenced by the album title, many songs scream out against organized religion. The topic has been done many a time already, but somehow on The God Delusion it adds a bit of menace to the formula. Between the album cover and the lyrics themselves, this album just feels a little bit more rebellious, dangerous perhaps, than other similar releases.

Deathcore in 2015 has been on the up and up. Releases from I, Valiance and Aversions Crown have been reigniting exactly what fans love in the genre. The brutality is being pushed to new heights and that fun factor is greater than ever. A Night In Texas are just adding to that rising tide. The God Delusion is one of the most evil and insanely heavy deathcore records in recent years and fans of the genre would do well to check it out.



Recent reviews by this author
Forteresse Thèmes pour la RébellionBattle Dagorath II - Frozen Light of Eternal Darkness
Wolves in the Throne Room Thrice WovenDayseeker Dreaming is Sinking /// Waking is Rising
The Acacia Strain GravebloomTwilight Fauna The Year the Stars Fell
user ratings (88)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Shout out to Judio for the proofread.



This is a must for deathcore fans.

Nocturnalize
February 23rd 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sick review paws'd and ya this is essential deathcore



"mind numbingly vicious vocals"



Only thing you said about the vocals is totally accurate



2:35 in Satans Upheaval is the craziest thing I've ever heard lol







riffariffic7
February 23rd 2015


488 Comments


Solid review, Gameofmetal. Not into the deathcore scene myself, but I don't mind my fair share of heavier records. Might check this out. Thumbs up from me. Keep up the great work, man.

cryptside
February 23rd 2015


2397 Comments


Awesome review, game. Pos'd hard, you just keep improving with every review.

ComeToDaddy
February 24th 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's officially streaming on youtube too, throw the link into the first comment for people who are curious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7GG7dFaSWQ



This was pretty killer, the aggresison really helps carry it through despite how bland it is. Fantastic review too, it 100% sold them album on me and I'm glad I checked it out. Pos'd hard

ComeToDaddy
February 24th 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Side note: RIP thelastsignal 2012-2015

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks so much for the positive feedback guys. Sorry I forgot the link to the stream, but now it's here so should be all good.



That part on I, Godless where he screams "I AM GODLESS" is one of the heaviest things I've heard in years.

Nocturnalize
February 24th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found the Beneath The Massacre comparison odd tbh these guys sound way more like Thy Art Is Murder and The Red Shore

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I thought it sounded like beneath the massacre with chelsea grin vocals, more slow parts and grooves, and a little less tech. The bands you mentioned would've served well enough though too.

cryptside
February 24th 2015


2397 Comments


Side note: RIP thelastsignal 2012-2015 [2]

Need to check this one out.

betray
February 24th 2015


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Game can I pos this review any harder?



late 2014- early 2015 deathcore rules so hard right now

betray
February 24th 2015


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh good recommends section as well i feel a lot of those albums in this one.



user ratings (6) is a damn shame

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thx. Yeah needs some more recognition, although that might just get us some troll ass 2s and below from people that hate deathcore viciously.

betray
February 24th 2015


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah this is definitely not worthy of that



then again i seem to give everything a 4.5 these days so idk

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, what was with that Feed Her To The Sharks 4.5, even I was like damn

Nocturnalize
February 24th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya smae FHTTS is boring



Check new Oceans Ate Alaska if you want new metalcore, if you know the band forget everything about them and jam their new shit its way different and gross heavy

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

OAA are ok. I've been meaning to check the new album, just haven't got around to it. The single didn't really impress me, but I don't really remember what it was like now.

climactic
February 24th 2015


22300 Comments


those first couple sentences are literally the beginning of every deathcore review ever

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The part about it being disparaged yeah. The twist is that I follow it up without saying it is shit ;)

cvlts
February 24th 2015


9424 Comments


s/o to dawkins



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy