Susanne Sundfor
Ten Love Songs


4.0
excellent

Review

by ComeToDaddy USER (48 Reviews)
February 21st, 2015 | 108 replies


Release Date: 02/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Less an affectionate love - more a desperate obsession.

Ten Love Songs. It gives the impression of a bouncy, excitable series of tracks; a romp of overwhelming positivity, bursting at the seams with joy and rainbows - but it’s safe to say that Ten Love Songs is the most misleading album title of 2015 thus far. Susanne Sundfor didn’t lie to us, it certainly focuses on love, but she evades the beaten path by examining this tired subject from a unique and uncomfortable angle. Where a romantic sees unrequited love, a pessimist sees deluded infatuation – it’s all about perspective. When someone important stops returning your affection, it’s only natural to wallow in regret. You can’t just immediately stop loving someone, but there’s also a very fine line between the saddening inability to let go and an unhealthy obsession with something that needs to be left in the past; a line that Sundfor is all too familiar with.

This is an awkward waltz between two very uncertain and imperfect lovers, wrapped up in an equally unstable musical package. The backbone of upbeat electro-pop is built up in strange directions, with ethereal vocal hooks and driving percussion suddenly ceding ground to an orchestra for the climax, or an organ for the more poignant emotional moments. Even looking at the album from a birds-eye view, the flow of the album comes to a conclusion in the penultimate track, after which the audience is suddenly and inexplicably thrown into 3 minutes of grimy electronica. There’s almost no rhyme or reason to the album’s structure, and an absurd amount of variety is displayed throughout, furthering its flighty demeanour and weakening the foundations that hold everything up. It’s almost impossible to ascertain what direction the album will travel next, and despite love being the overarching theme that keeps Ten Love Songs together, it exists more as a framework for Sundfor to cover with her misgivings and insecurities. She is heartbreakingly unsure of herself, and the audience can see her mental state crumbling as she moves from denial (“Cause baby I know that I'll always be waiting/and you'll always want to come back”) to depression (“I know you're lonely/I can feel in/In the way you hold me”) and suddenly to the violent and obsessive (“Bear the cross, die for love/Crucify them, kill for love”), often within a single song. When the morose ‘Silencer’ opens with “a gun in my hand” and later says “a bullet pierced your heart”, you’re legitimately worried she just killed him with her own hands. It’s a sour album dressed up as a sweet tart – maybe not as immediate and accessible as you expected, but just as delicious given the right mindset.

Despite a loose pop label, it wouldn’t be surprising if this album gains no traction outside of Sundfor’s home country Norway. Despite some sugary hooks and a bewitching vocal performance, where Ten Love Songs succeeds is in juxtaposition, an artistic element that is often lost on the greater community. It can be scatterbrained at times; equal parts visceral and sterile, raw and pristine, human and manufactured - but there’s a fragile equilibrium here. Sometimes it’s punctured by particularly clunky transitions or extended orchestral interludes (‘Memorial’ being the grossest offender), but the atmosphere is never shattered entirely, which is what allows the album to stand tall amongst its contenders. It’s got that undeniable, raw humanity that makes you want to look away. All this self-destructive angst and frustration makes it uncomfortably relatable, and allows it to resonate with the part of ourselves that we all try to deny. In Sundfor’s own words, “We have different heartbeats/but all the same heartbreak”.



Recent reviews by this author
Spectral Voice Eroded Corridors of UnbeingSukekiyo ADORATIO
School of Emotional Engineering School of Emotional EngineeringSpectral Lore Gnosis
Power Glove EP IIAgent Fresco Destrier
user ratings (133)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
trending other albums

Aviary

Golden Hour

Suspiria

Konoyo


Comments:Add a Comment 
ComeToDaddy
February 21st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Available on iTunes and streaming through Spotify. You can listen to 'Accelerate' here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3492o3pfEWI



Props to Johnny for proofing this.



First review as a contributor! It's a bit out of left-field; I haven't reviewed an album of this style before, and I'm not acquainted with her past works like I normally am with the albums I review, but trying to step outside my comfort zone. As always, constructive criticism is welcomed and appreciated!

Digging: Ojne - Prima Che Tutto Bruci

ComeToDaddy
February 21st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't tell if I'll miss the pos system or not, sure hope review feedback doesn't dry up though.

Judio!
February 21st 2015


8433 Comments


Nice review man. And congratulations on your promotion! Glad to have you on our team :]

cryptside
February 21st 2015


2397 Comments


Awesome review per usual buddy. You're just getting better with every one, it seems. One thing I noticed:

"Susanne Sundfor didn’t lie to us, it certainly focuses on love, but she evades the beaten path by
examining this tired subject from a unique and uncomfortable angle."
This may boil down to a personal preference, but having that 'it certainly focuses on love' bit grouped by
commas makes it feel like you're trying to shove too much into the sentence. You could naturally
incorporate this into two more succinct sentences, like this:
"Susanne Sundfor didn't lie to us, as it certainly focuses on love. She simply evades the beaten path by
examining this tired subject from a unique and uncomfortable angle."

Again, probably personal preference but that's all I got for ya. Really nice work on this.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2015


6676 Comments


^it wouldn't be "an unique" since it begins with a "y" sound. try saying it out loud

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2015


6676 Comments


maybe put something transitional like "as" before "it" to make it flow better. idk, gotta say I disagree with sig here

cryptside
February 21st 2015


2397 Comments


Yeah, honestly didn't know about that rule, johnny. Said it out loud to myself before and thought it sounded weird. Good call haha.

ComeToDaddy
February 21st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really appreciate that man. I understand the criticism, honestly planned to break it with a semi-colon but I didn't want to fragment too many sentences like that in the first paragraph, so I left it how it was. That's a pretty sensible way to fix it, but I don't think it's a major issue how it is there. Thanks a heap though

cryptside
February 21st 2015


2397 Comments


That's fair, dude. Like I said, it absolutely boils down to personal preference.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2015


17838 Comments


Crashing the contributor party

Digging: Thom Yorke - Suspiria

cryptside
February 21st 2015


2397 Comments


Oh hey Talons. Nice pic there, is that your favorite mm?

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2015


17838 Comments


Hey dude, can't remember if I told you but congrats on the promotion! My favorite of theirs is definitely The Moon &
Antarctica, but Good News is probably their most jammable

cryptside
February 21st 2015


2397 Comments


Whew, we can still be friends then lol. TM&A is mine as well. Thanks dude, appreciate it!

Gyromania
February 21st 2015


25912 Comments


new contrib thread!

good debut contrib review

ComeToDaddy
February 21st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Gyro, appreciate it.



Also thanks @Judio, didn't even acknowledge that before when responding to the criticism haha. Glad to be part of the team (:

Phlegm
February 21st 2015


7243 Comments


album cover makes me wish this was impressionism - will check regardless! interesting review

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2015


4501 Comments


excellent review and congrats on the promotion!

Tunaboy45
February 21st 2015


16583 Comments


Great review, congrats on the promotion [2]

ComeToDaddy
February 21st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope y'all enjoy it when you get to checking this out. Thanks again for the kind words guys

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 21st 2015


28351 Comments


Feedback will probably dry up a little, such is the
nature of being promoted. People assume you don't
need it anymore which isn't true.

And it's "a unique" not "an unique", as unique
begins with a consonant sound of "y" and thus should
be preceded accordingly.

Digging: Julia Holter - Aviary



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy