Blacklisted
When People Grow, People Go


2.5
average

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
February 11th, 2015 | 51 replies


Release Date: 02/10/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The inability to commit to being a forward-thinking hardcore act is what holds this album back from being anything noteworthy.

The simple instrumentation and impassioned vocals of "Insularized" felt like a lead-in for a potentially great album. Unfortunately, When People Grow, People Go ends up being the poster-boy for tempering one's expectations. Blacklisted has provided a more than serviceable hardcore album that certainly has its highlights, but often feels stagnant and one dimensional. The most frustrating aspect of the album in general is the fact that it is fairly obvious on many tracks they are attempting to change up their songwriting; it just ends up being successful to varying degrees. For example, "Riptide" is a perfect example of Blacklisted proficiently blending a lurching tempo and Keith Buckley-esque vocals in the beginning of the song with the razor-sharp fury in the midsection of the song. The blistering pace in the beginning of "Burnt Palms" seamlessly transitions into a mid-tempo heaviness that boasts of some of vocalist George Hirsch's best passionate wails, and it's songs like these that makes When People Grow, People Go such a rewarding listen. Unfortunately, you also have songs that plod along and end up killing the momentum that Blacklisted have painstakingly built. "Foreign Observer" sounds like a Norma Jean B-side off of The Anti-Mother; while that is not a bad thing in and of itself, there is an uninspired quality to the quasi-clean vocals that ends up making the song seem hollow and passionless.

Blacklisted's inability to commit to progress is apparent with trite songs like "Deeper Kind". It's easy to feel as though the band also misses an opportunity on the title track (sitting at around three and a half minutes) to experiment a bit more with mood and pacing. It ends up simply being a longer version of the monotony experienced throughout When People Grow, People Go. Consequently, much of the album goes by in unremarkable fashion, making even the highlights a chore to get through. It's a shame because there are many moments within songs where Blacklisted do end up getting it right. The fast-paced brevity of "Calendars" packs a vicious punch and is gone before it has the chance to falter, and past releases have shown that Blacklisted have what it takes to release a hard-hitting record. When People Grow, People Go ends up being a disappointment in many respects, but doesn't take away from one thing; Blacklisted still possess the potential to put out another great album. This simply isn't it.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysBlood Gemini Snow Season
user ratings (70)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This grew off me pretty quickly; boring for the most part.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
February 10th 2015


6680 Comments


(edit: fixed)

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Edit: because johnny makes me looks crazy with his "edit:fixed" comments lmao.

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I made a few changes, but I am at that point where if I look at it anymore I will say screw it and scrap it

altogether haha.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2015


11660 Comments


great review Mark. Album has cool artwork in any case.

Digging: Windswept - The Onlooker

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks dude, I appreciate it. Artwork is cool, reminds me of Deaf Havana's artwork for Fools and Worthless

Liars so I like it.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2015


11660 Comments


I checked out that art, looks like it could almost be the other side of this one

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Haha, yeah definitely could be. In any case, the artwork for this is more interesting than the music itself.

SharkTooth
February 10th 2015


13943 Comments


"I made a few changes, but I am at that point where if I look at it anymore I will say screw it and scrap it altogether haha."

that's what I fucking hate about reviewing boring albums, it's hard enough just listening to a boring album from beginning to end, having to review said album just makes the experience worse imo

SharkTooth
February 10th 2015


13943 Comments


But for what it's worth you put up a pretty good review

pos from me

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Shark, you totally nailed where my mind is at right now lol. I appreciate it, buddy.

pmmets07
February 10th 2015


5984 Comments


yeah i streamed this and nothing really stood out to me. nice review dogg

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man, it's not anything special.

pmmets07
February 10th 2015


5984 Comments


i never listened to their older stuff but So You Are a Magician? was pre dope

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 11th 2015


40848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will check this anyway cuz We're Unstoppable, No One Deserves... and Heavier than Heaven.. are all dope

Digging: Amon Tobin - Fear In A Handful Of Dust

Grizzlypyro
February 11th 2015


272 Comments


Great review, will probably check this still but cheers for the heads up

Shiranui
February 11th 2015


551 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is potential wasted.

Hopelust
February 11th 2015


3347 Comments


Bummer. Bad blacklisted album. That's just truly unfortunate.

cryptside
February 11th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks dudes. I would recommend everyone at least giving it a listen; I was bored by it but there are some

pretty cool songs here and there.



Whoo, featured!

Artuma
February 11th 2015


30087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is good what the heck guys



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy