Knife Party
Abandon Ship


4.5
superb

Review

by rawkfist777 USER (9 Reviews)
February 8th, 2015 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: F*ck them haters. This album destroys.

I had been WAITING for this album for MONTHS. Ever since I heard Rob and Gareth drop "Micropenis" at Tomorrowland, ever since I heard the preview for "Boss Mode", ever since we even got a TASTE of "Resistance".

And then it got delayed, and I got angry.

And then it got delayed again and I got downright PISSED.

And then someone at iTunes accidentally released the album three weeks early and we all flipped out.

Because Knife Party's Abandon Ship is probably what I'm going to call Album of the Year this year.

After raising heads and pulses with the intro "Reconnect", Abandon Ship dive-bombs into a beautiful mess of electronic beats and hard-hitting instrumentals. "Red Dawn" combines a driving kick with some Arabian strings for maximum dancability, while "404" mixes glitchy sounds with incredibly dirty bass to leave listeners reeling long after the song's ended. But that's not all Knife Party bring to the table - anyone who misses their dubstep will find solace in "Give It Up", and they take a trap turn for the awesome in the badass "Boss Mode".

They've got a sense of humor, too - "EDM Trend Machine" makes fun of the increasingly popular "future house" genre you've heard in songs like "Latch", and the incredible "Superstar" is mostly disco, even featuring a breakdown where an electronic voice complains, "Oh my god, what the f**k is this disco sh*t? What happened to the dubstep?" And then there is the both immature and banging "Microp*nis". It's on another level.

The duo shows off their lighter side on the very poppy "Begin Again" (featuring Rob Swire's incredible vocals) and the very progressive "D.I.M.H.", as well as the fantastic closer "Kaleidoscope".

Overall this album is a whirlwind of musical talent and electronic bravado with just enough comedy thrown in to make it what is, even now, most likely the best release of 2014 - electro or otherwise. Buy this album. There truly is no party like a knife party.



Recent reviews by this author
A.I.R. KickCash Cash Overtime
Oliver MechanicalRuN RiOT Lose Yourself
Alvin Risk JunkfoodThe Almost Fear Inside Our Bones
user ratings (96)
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
ExplosiveOranges (1)
We were dead before the ship even sank....

TheMoonchild (2)
On their debut LP, Knife Party make an admirable attempt to show some maturity and growth. Problem i...



Comments:Add a Comment 
MattTD
February 8th 2015


678 Comments


I never quite got the hang of the concept of an EDM album. Surely the genre should thrive off of singles and "BIG SUMMER CH00NS"?

Some of the analysis in this review is good but some of it is dire.

Froot
February 8th 2015


1910 Comments


preach it

SharkTooth
February 8th 2015


14167 Comments


trvth

BMDrummer
February 8th 2015


14657 Comments


lol good one

JS19
February 8th 2015


7670 Comments


After reading this I have zero idea what this sounds like good review

VaxXi
February 8th 2015


4418 Comments


gr8 b8 m8 i r8 8/8

Let
February 8th 2015


1749 Comments


Gvido as fvck

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2015


19000 Comments


F*ck them haters. This album destroys.


neg

Digging: Gorillaz - Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez

Tunaboy45
February 8th 2015


17234 Comments


That summary isn't doing you any favours

TheMoonchild
February 8th 2015


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I cannot read this

Grizzlypyro
February 8th 2015


272 Comments


Review is 11/10

ExplosiveOranges
February 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Review is ten outta ten, hundred outta hundred.

granitenotebook
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2015


1056 Comments


it's cool that you're willing to explore a release that most people instantly panned but you've got to be able to justify your 4.5. that's literally a 9/10. that means the album is almost perfect. the only things you say in your review really are "here's a bunch of things the album has in it. it has variety." many many people would argue that variety is a bad thing in an album like this. you need reasons/justifications, not just opinions/facts. a good review is a balance of objectivity and subjectivity.

three more things:
1. in general the more words you have to censor the more you need to use a thesaurus instead of just exploding into "edgy" profanities. otherwise you have a pretty good vocab (although I'm pretty sure "Latch" isn't "future house," whatever that is)
2. expansion in general would be a good idea, this is really short
3. "Because Knife Party's Abandon Ship is probably what I'm going to call Album of the Year this year." it came out in 2014 and this is 2015 but ok

Let
February 8th 2015


1749 Comments


But this is is supposed to be a joke review right?


















right?

ParanoidAndroid96
February 8th 2015


1393 Comments


excellent

TumsFestival
February 9th 2015


2470 Comments


sick of these poorly written "are they/aren't they a joke" reviews

ChoccyPhilly
April 8th 2019


12791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This wasn't that bad, just had no flow. Dunno why y'all hate it so much

Digging: Satyr - Locus

LOVEANDACCEPTANCE
April 8th 2019


897 Comments


Bbbbbbbbb bonfire

ChoccyPhilly
April 8th 2019


12791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

EDM Trend Machine, Give It Up and Kaleidoscope are honestly solid tracks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy