Enter Shikari
The Mindsweep


2.0
poor

Review

by ProjectFreak USER (27 Reviews)
February 7th, 2015 | 30 replies


Release Date: 01/19/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't even bother.

It's funny that a key line of the twin title tracks, "The Appeal & The Mindsweep," is the desperate scream of "I am the mindsweeper, focus on me!" Generally speaking, someone begging you to focus on them is not doing anything that's inherently worth paying attention to. And that's exactly what The Mindsweep is: a mess of gimmicks all begging for your attention, but failing to deserve it.

It's not just the electronics tacked on a post-hardcore background. There's a way to do that well, and once or twice, Enter Shikari stumble on it. It's the miserable execution and juvenile lyrics. Songs alternate between boring and cringeworthy, depending on which of those elements take the forefront. Expect a string of boring breakdowns strung together with typical clean/scream tradeoffs, and a hilariously misguided attempt to spread the Gospel of Science and Reason ("The velocities at which we now evolve mean we got to dissolve unchecked tradition") or something. Enter Shikari neither advance post-hardcore nor pay homage to its roots.

But they strike gold with "The One True Color," which clocks in at track 2 and sets the bar of expectations unreasonably high. It's a tightly focused blast of melodic intensity, deftly bouncing from driving verse to hushed chorus to climactic finale. The lyrics are cheesy, yes, but it's hard not to sing along with "Oh, how rich the soil! How wondrous the upheaval!" It's infuriating how strong of a song this is, because it's followed up by "Anaesthetist," which features brostep-laced rapping about healthcare or capitalism or something, which is as precisely as terrible as it sounds.

The Mindsweep never recovers from this abomination. "The Last Garrison" marries a moderately energetic verse with a depressingly dull chorus. "Never Let Go of the Microscope" features more flow-free 'rapping,' but it's the repetitive chorus that sinks the song instead. Then come the attempts at diversity, as if someone told Enter Shikari that was the secret to success. Unfortunately, the blatant System of a Down worship of "There's a Price on Your Head" is clunky and out of place, and "Dear Future Historians...", despite its awesomely melodramatic ending, can't recover from Roughton Reynolds singing, in the midst of a piano ballad, "For when I dive into your iris, my brain erupts into biochemical mayhem" with a straight face.

Enter Shikari is apparently a band meant to be experienced live, but that doesn't excuse the disaster of this recording. The band may deserve a smidge of credit for deviating ever so slightly from the factory-polished, sterile hybrids of electronica and metalcore that seemed to be everywhere a few years ago (are they all gone these days, or did I just tune them all out"). The problem is all of the deviations should have been shot down from the get-go. Please, ignore the mindsweeper.



Recent reviews by this author
Showbread Showbread is ShowdeadThe Decemberists What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World
The Classic Crime What Was Done, Vol. 1: A Decade RevisitedFrom Indian Lakes Absent Sounds
Yellowcard Lift a SailManchester Orchestra Hope
user ratings (531)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
February 7th 2015


16105 Comments


Don't know if I'll ever listen to this

Avagantamos
February 7th 2015


6132 Comments


don't even bother

Digging: Autechre - NTS Session 3

Cygnatti
February 7th 2015


32492 Comments


out of 0 thought this review was well written
?!?

Digging: DJ Funk - Booty House Anthems

Tunaboy45
February 7th 2015


16105 Comments


It's an error on the site, been around for a few days now.

ProjectFreak
February 7th 2015


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

BUT HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE VALIDATING ME AND MY OPINIONS?!?!?!?! Q_Q

MattTD
February 7th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nobody wants to validate your opinion



Nah in seriousness I disagree hard with this review but I'm not gonna get hung up on it

ProjectFreak
February 7th 2015


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I appear to have provoked the butthurt. I'm honestly not sure why this band is held in such relatively high esteem here.

nononsense
February 7th 2015


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boring is the right word here. My least favorite album of theirs. They are quite an opportunity to behold live though. They are

incredible.

protonjon
February 8th 2015


110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fantastic album/terrible review combo.

RadicalEd
February 8th 2015


8956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

0 out of 4 thought this review was well written



What? Review is okay.

Digging: DJ Healer - Nothing 2 Loose

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2015


13851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review isnt bad by any means but i think its got some issues



"a mess of gimmicks all begging for your attention, but failing to deserve it."



you never really delve any further into this from what i can see, and calling a band gimmicky is a pretty big claim. Yeah you explain what you dont like quite well but never how any of its gimmicky, which is your opening statement and should be built upon a bit.

Digging: Terrorizer - World Downfall

MattTD
February 8th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some bits could be written in a more eloquent manner i.e. "healthcare or capitalism or something"



The review on the whole is fine but there are little bits that need doing up.

Comatorium.
February 8th 2015


4823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review is wrong/bad

LunaticSoul
February 8th 2015


1001 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review is right/good





ProjectFreak
February 8th 2015


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Some bits could be written in a more eloquent manner i.e. "healthcare or capitalism or something""



That was meant to be a little intentionally mocking/simplistic, but I guess it didn't come across very well.



"Yeah you explain what you dont like quite well but never how any of its gimmicky,"

I thought listing the awful rapping and SOAD worship and the awful lyrics would come across as gimmicks. Again, apparently my message isn't coming across very well.



thanks for the feedback guys, appreciate it

LunaticSoul
February 8th 2015


1001 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm more amazed about the fact that one has to explain the gimmicks of this disc on a review. Duh

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2015


13851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

because people have different opinions? and its a statement in a review that makes a big point so should be explained a bit better?



sorry for giving him constructive criticsm

ProjectFreak
February 9th 2015


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not sure how you don't see the gimmicky nature of ES to be quite honest

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2015


13851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Im not sure you know what a gimmick is tbh

MarchOfTheFireants
February 21st 2015


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This entire review is well written tbh but I do agree with the others that you make a strong introduction statement by taking the lyrics out of context without backing it in a specific manner. Hence, this may come across slightly biased.

I do relate to the SOAD meets TDEP track sounding slightly out of place. But pleasantly surprising - I dig! I only wish it didn't fade into symphony. The ending piano ballad was tired and boring.



Unfortunately i'm not into this scene/ new to this band, so I can't comment on your originality views. I did read on an UG review that they were on the fore front of intergrating dubstep into hardcore even before dubstep was a peak trend. I know this record sounds devoid of dubstep. So if the claims are true, that's admirable.



Bottomline is I liked this.. partly because I've not heard hardcore fused with electronica/trance&drumnbass&rap done as good prior to this. I know Asking Alexandria and another AA that does electronica with hardcore. They sounded dry & monotonous devoid of any creativity.



Can you recommend a band intergrates Hardcore with electronica/trance/dnb in a better manner than Shikari? I'm saying 'better' only because you've judged this to be poor. Cheers!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy