Ymyrgar
The Tale As Far


4.0
excellent

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
February 6th, 2015 | 23 replies


Release Date: 10/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The soundtrack to adventure

As with any form of art, the worth and appeal of music is measured differently by separate individuals. Many listeners, however, find the attractive allure of aural creativity can be attributed to the feelings it invokes, along with the thoughts those feelings can inspire. While the importance and scope of this aspect differs from band to band, the members of Ymyrgar seem to recognise and actively manipulate all the sounds at their disposal in order to craft a truly exceptional experience that plays on the listeners emotions and imagination.

In a manner common with many of their contemporaries within the folk metal genre, Ymyrgar’s musical output possesses a distinct cinematic character. There simply exists an innate larger-than-life quality to the product resulting from combining unforgiving black metal with tranquil folk instrumentation. Ymyrgar, however, expand their sound far beyond the mere intrigue of contrast. Coupling their aforementioned blend of styles with an array of additional techniques ensures that The Tale As Far evolves into an inclusive piece.

Never let it be said that Ymyrgar fail to implement any and every songwriting tool they deem necessary in their pursuit of the grandiose. That is not to say that the band are over indulgent, nor that there is unnecessary clutter or a lack of consistency, no. What exists instead is a never ending list of well-placed peculiarities that dutifully maintain the listeners interest. Complete with gang vocals, tribal percussion, a handful of folk instruments and orchestral elements to top it off, there are simply too many nuances to mention in the seemingly endless Ymyrgar repertoire. Throughout the album, a strong bass presence preserves the groove as overridden guitar strings rattle in the background, all the while the lead guitarist overlaps the two with interesting runs and solos. But none of this can compare to the obvious focus on the folk instruments and the vocalist, although every component is given ample time to shine despite the clear favouritism. Surprisingly dark for the generally lively atmosphere, vocalist Habib Rekik adopts a black metal derived approach for the most part, however, just like his fellow band members he's not afraid to experiment. Shrill screams at one moment, low roars another and deep cleans the next; that is the way Habib works. The addition of gang vocals and male choirs are a touch of genius, heavily influencing the listener to transport their minds to an era of Vikings and generally piratical behaviour. All things considered, the songwriting is astonishing and perhaps the greatest achievement of The Tale As Far. All the elements coalesce beautifully despite their vast differences in traditional use.

It is always a testament to a bands abilities when they can pack so much into an album and still leave plenty of room to breathe. The result is usually a convoluted mess, but that's certainly not the case with Ymyrgar. There just seems to be no limit to what this band is capable of; it’s almost as if they intuitively know when and where to implement something new. Whether this be the higher pitched yet still rough warbling in the closing minutes of ‘Ode To Mighty Deeds’, or the brief contribution made by a female vocalist on ‘Hall of the Slain’, everything interlocks seamlessly while also preventing stagnation. What the future holds for this little-known product of Tunisia no one can know for sure, however, with a debut as impressive and professional as The Tale As Far, the path ahead can only be a prosperous one.



Recent reviews by this author
Korpiklaani KulkijaJonathan Davis Black Labyrinth
Majesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das LichtDream Troll The Witch's Curse
Lautreamont Silence of the DeceasedWuW Rien ne nous sera épargné
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


This one took ages so I'd appreciate any feedback you guys can give me. Album is available on Bandcamp here: http://ymyrgar.bandcamp.com

Digging: Disturbed - Evolution

Mythodea
February 6th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

YMYRGAR!!A NEW ARBURMM!!!

No, seriously, very well written and with excellent choice of words. Some very nice phrases in here. I only noticed some minor grammar mistakes,



''Many listenerS, however, find''

''that the band IS over''



It seems like one hell of an album. I hope I'm going to like it, but the genre is not my cup of tea. anyway, I'll give it a shot and write my opinion...





ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Thanks a heap Myth (:, I'll fix those mistakes pronto too. I think you'll dig this actually, it's almost unfair to just call them 'folk
metal', it's only really half of the picture so you might like it. I'd definitley be interested in hearing your thoughts on it either
way.

Edit: I think I'm going to keep 'are' in place of 'is', usually you would be correct but since in this case I'm referring to the 'band'
as a collection of individuals I think 'are' is more appropriate.

Mythodea
February 6th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Look, the first track you have to admit is a Pirates of the Carribean worship. Then, Dawn of Time riffs hard. Under the Sign of Path is decent to great and the rest I have to hear.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Yeah, particularly the orchestral stuff in the first track reminds me of The Pirates of the Caribbean a lot too, but it's done well imo.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


7992 Comments


Good review overall, albeit with its occasional hiccups.


Some suggestions:

As holds true for any example of art

In any form of art


Surprisingly dark for the generally lively atmosphere, vocalist Habib Rekik adopts a black metal derived approach for the most part, although in sync as he is with the other musicians he doesn’t fail to experiment

Surprisingly dark for the generally lively atmosphere, vocalist Habib Rekik adopts a black metal derived approach for the most part, while being on par with the other musicians, and his vocal experimentations.


It is always a testament to a bands abilities when they can pack so much into an album and still leave plenty of room to breathe

It's always commendable when bands are packing so much...


The result is usually a convoluted war between the separate elements as they fight for supremacy in a mix thick with ego and short on space, but not with Ymyrgar

Usually, the result is a convoluted mess, but that's hardly the case with Ymyrgar

Digging: Kevin Hufnagel - Messages To The Past

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Thanks Voivod, I'll definitely change a few of those, gotta work on trimming some of the unnecessary fat.

Mythodea
February 6th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it sounds great to me but not that groundbreaking as you make it sound. I'd give it a 3.5, but that may become a 3, it depends on its replay value for me. Anywhay, decent album and I guess the genre lovers will like it.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Yeah it was a 3.5 for me too but it grew on me a lot, also I'm pretty big on the folk metal

Alastor
February 6th 2015


1968 Comments


tunisian viking metal.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


m/.

Alastor
February 6th 2015


1968 Comments


however, with a debut as impressive and professional as The Tale As Far, the path ahead can only be a prosperous one.


looking at the album art, this statement sounds kind of odd.

Mythodea
February 6th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, Blind Guardian had some awful first covers, look what they've become.

Alastor
February 6th 2015


1968 Comments


that comparison puzzles me, to say the least

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


I fail to see what the album art has to do with the music?

Alastor
February 6th 2015


1968 Comments


let's just say that the music might be impressive and professional, but the packaging is something these guys should improve.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Ah, yeah I can agree with that.

ComeToDaddy
February 6th 2015


1746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

" brief contribution made by a female vocalist on ‘Hall of the Slain’ " aaaaand I'm sold, folk metal with any female vocals anywhere on the album is an immediate priority haha. Great review Scuro, though your review reads like a 4.5 rather than a 4. Pos'd



I sort of like the album art, even if it's poorly drawn.

Digging: Ojne - Prima Che Tutto Bruci

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2015


11551 Comments


Cheers CTD, hopefully you like this man. Yeah this is very close to a 4.5 for me personally, it just keeps growing (:

Archelirion
February 7th 2015


5576 Comments


Only addition change to consider for me is 'Surprisingly dark for the generally lively atmosphere, vocalist Habib Rekik adopts a black metal derived approach for the most part, however, just like his fellow band members he's not afraid to experiment.' - a semicolon after part might make it read slightly less clumsy.

Great review, this is probably one of your best so the time you spent on it was worth it. Have a hearty pos. Album sounds really interesting, Tunisian Viking Metal is not something I thought could happen but it works



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy