Abstracter
Wound Empire


4.0
excellent

Review

by NocteDominum USER (200 Reviews)
February 5th, 2015 | 28 replies


Release Date: 02/10/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not all wheels need reinventing.

California's Abstracter are not your typical metal outfit, swapping sludge, post metal, doom, crust and small doses of punk to ultimately swallow the listener whole, taking its enveloping sound to a new level. Wound Empire placates while oppressing, it's actually quite a feat considering the record's "done before" soundscape, managing to pull of a full sound without compromising musianship. Wound Empire is aesthetically pleasing and not, but in the best of ways. Building from the band's previous record (and debut) Tomb Of Feathers, Abstracter bring an ambivalence through ambiance to their 2015 release. To say that Wound Empire is atmospheric is a complete understatement, the album relies on it, is swelled by it and ultimately brings Abstracter to an eerie greatness reserved for the bands with this distinct style.

Despite having all the makings of a slow doom inspired sludge record, Wound Empire remains quite up-tempo, building a contrast between the sinister overtones and bleak outlook created by such an album. In comparison, the tempo becomes the "yin of the yang" and the "light to the dark", all of which helps Abstracter be the successful forty-three minute escapade it is. At the record's core, it is quite oppressive. From the melancholic tones of 'Open Veins' which builds on itself manifesting in raw sludge tones, low, slow and strong to the reflective 'Glowing Wounds' which closes the album. Each track has its place in the jig-saw, although not each piece is a perfect fit. The harsh tones found in most sludge albums melt away into transcendental crooning and clean guitar tones. Abstracter know they don't have to blow away the listener, in fact the effect draws them in, attracting them to the lighter side of decay and reflection (see 'Glowing Wounds' in full). The atmosphere is already there, swelling on the listeners' cerebral. It becomes almost "black-gazey" relying on simple instrumental and even wailed scream passages layered on sensual riff work and trudging drum/bass lines. There's a level of genius to be found in the albums simplicity, simply because it sounds anything but. The track itself is the album's climax, with no real let off. It's by design that the tension found in album opener 'Lightless' can continue throughout the entire of the record.

Wound Empire is not going to please all fans of the sludge, doom and post metal world, nor is it going to surpass the likes of Thou in memorability. Instead Wound Empire is happy to be its own element, its own space, making its specific impact on the listener. It almost goes without saying that music like this can relate too well to those experiencing loss or distance from others, but that also makes it so great. Overall Abstracter's Wound Empire may not stick with you all year long, but while the getting is good, get on it. With a tendency to push all senses it can become all too much, but in a smothering, hold onto me sense. For listeners with a taste for this sort of music, there's a lot here to enjoy. Abstracter paint a picture in which to immerse yourself completely.

http://abstracter.bandcamp.com



Recent reviews by this author
Serious Beak AnkaaDumbsaint Panorama, In Ten Pieces
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Streaming:



https://soundcloud.com/cvltnation/sets/abstracter-wound-empire



First as a user in a very long time.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2015


6369 Comments


(edit: fixed)

enjoyed the review. nice and straightforward, no bs

cryptside
February 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Abstracter paint a picture in which to immense yourself completely."

*immerse



Nice review, pos'd. While it was fun to pos your review, I hope that you get your contrib status back.

NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Edits here and there. Graci fellas for the kind words an proofing.



How are we all?

NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0





Double post.



: /

cryptside
February 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome man, just enjoying a salad on my lunch. Relaxing a bit, things have been crazy lately. What about you? How's the family?

NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good, work's killing me though. 50 hours in a kitchen all week to come home late, give the boy a feed and go to bed. A few more hours at home would be nice.



Have you had the chance to spin this yet Mark?

cryptside
February 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, good to hear man. I haven't yet, but this sounds right up my alley. I will check soon.

NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It will be, if in doubt check out the last track.

Relinquished
February 5th 2015


36600 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First sentence reads awkward; I can't tell if it's two sentences in the beginning with that first comma poorly placed.



I got a nit-pick that you don't type "post-metal" without the dash, it's part of the grammar rules with terms like that. Dashes are missing for attributive compounds like "doom-inspired" in the second paragraph (which I may add, in the context of this record, "slow doom-inspired sludge" is redundant since that's what sludge is (or should be)).

crust and small doses of punk


crust is punk, or do you mean traditional hardcore punk?

managing to pull of


pull off*

Wound Empire is aesthetically pleasing and not, but in the best of ways.


awkward sentence, needs flow. plus starting off consecutive sentences the same way isn't good.

NocteDominum
February 5th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good pointers. I'm aware crust is punk (or rather part of it) bit it's also not punk, as in true punk as in

needing to be listed separately.



As for what sludge is or should be, you're missing the variance the genre has to offer.



Edit: These both may just be personal preference.

Relinquished
February 5th 2015


36600 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bro if I was even missing that, then I wouldn't have made those lists. much of the 'variance' we see misses the point of the term "sludge". that shit isn't trve, it's just watered-down stoner bullshit.



"I'm aware crust is punk (or rather part of it) bit it's also not punk, as in true punk"

elaborate on this, where do you feel on this record is Abstracter playing "true punk"?



Wound Empire placates while oppressing*,* it's...


oppresses*, and a semicolon should replace the following comma.

previous record (and debut)


just say "debut record" to cut the fat

Wound Empire is not going to please all fans of the sludge, doom and post metal world


if they are true fans of those genres, then they'd dig this

Overall Abstracter's Wound Empire may not stick with you all year long


cmon dude if this is a 4/5 (8/10) record then SELL IT



idk maybe some more that I'm missing, but try to proofread the rest for grammar, conciseness, flow, and any repeating ideas: like basically repeating how oppressive this record is.

ComeToDaddy
February 6th 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice and straightforward, no bs [2], pos'd. Sounds pretty interesting, will check this out

mordvynn
February 7th 2015


160 Comments


Album is really boring

ComeToDaddy
February 8th 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lightless is a killer track

NocteDominum
February 8th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@relinquished.



It's more of a song writing issue. Most people wouldn't pick up on how songs were made. You have valid points don't get me wrong -- these could all just be too vague. I'll consider removing.



As for the rating; there's more than one reason why higher scores are given. Sure, lasting value may seem like a bigger one I consider a host of reasons as to why an album deserves a certain rating.



I'll go work on flow, grammar etc. I might be a tad rusty it seems.



@mord,

See dick post.....



@daddy, hopefully you'll dig the rest of it too.

cryptside
February 8th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Downloaded this, gonna listen tonight.

NocteDominum
February 10th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope you dig, our site's got it on promo if you're inclined.

cryptside
February 10th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good, need more spins before I can rate it though.

NocteDominum
February 17th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How did you let this sit Mark?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy