Lord Dying
Poisoned Altars


2.0
poor

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
February 3rd, 2015 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The album fails to punch it up that extra notch when it's necessary to do so, leaving most of the songs feeling uninspired and stale.

There is something to be said for groove-laden metal music these days. With all of the genre-melding, it's more difficult to find musicians that value grooves and riffs over complex songwriting. Obviously those things are not mutually exclusive in any way; bands like Mastodon prove that unequivocally. Lord Dying are attempting to bring heavy metal back to its more simplistic roots with Poisoned Altars, an effort that proves to be as imaginative as their band name. That's not to say that this album's formula is inherently bad, but it has been done by many better bands in the past. Poisoned Altars is rife with a dedication to riffs, monotone screams, and an overall exhaustive repetition that gets worse as it progresses. By the time that the listener gets to the groan-inducing introduction to "Darkness Remains", they have heard the same song seven times before with little to no variation. However, the little flourishes that do flare up are a welcome respite to the similarities present here; the clean vocals courtesy of Aaron Beam (of Red Fang fame) on "An Open Sore" provide some much-needed variation, but the six-minute run time feels bloated and causes an otherwise good song to falter. The minor-key shredding coupled with the drums fills in the beginning of "Offering Pain" yields an excellent thirty seconds, but then there is a transition to the same boring mid-paced groove that we hear all album. This happens time and time again on this album; new ideas are introduced but never fully fleshed out, leaving the end product feeling hollow and boring.

Ultimately, this album doesn't fail because of a lack of talent. At times, the guitars are absolutely crushing, the drums are technical but not overly so, and the roaring vocals do well on some songs despite the limited range. It's the jarring transitions in the songwriting that spell boredom for the listener. The album fails to punch it up that extra notch when it's necessary to do so, leaving most of the songs feeling uninspired and stale. Lord Dying have the ingredients needed to create a monolithic beast of an album; unfortunately, this falls far short of an engaging listen. Poisoned Altars is indicative of a band that will need to step outside of their comfort zone in order to create an exciting album, but the album also proves that the band have the chops necessary to create something worthwhile in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysBlood Gemini Snow Season
user ratings (26)
3
good
related reviews

Mysterium Tremendum

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Shorter review, not much to say about this one. It's bad.

tempest--
February 3rd 2015


20634 Comments


I thought this looked kinda cool. Still gonna check it out but now I won't be expecting much.

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Arcade, appreciate it buddy.



Definitely let me know what you think, Lloyd.

Relinquished
February 3rd 2015


43166 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lord Dying are attempting to bring heavy metal back to its more simplistic roots with Poisoned Altars, an effort that proves to be as imaginative as their band name.


weak transition from your opening premise. and who slights a band for their band name nowadays?? and take off the album title for the following:

That's not to say that this album's formula is inherently bad, but it has been done by many better bands in the past. Poisoned Altars is rife with a dedication to riffs, monotone screams, and an overall exhaustive repetition that gets worse as it progresses.


switch these sentences

By the time that the listener


take out "that"

However, the little flourishes that do flare up


better to have "however" at the end of this, I feel as if it's too early to use that transition word considering the flow.

boring mid-paced groove that we hear all album


*throughout the*

Ultimately, this album doesn't fail because of a lack of talent.


will do better without the 'ultimately'

SharkTooth
February 3rd 2015


14139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Rating's about right, not much interesting about this

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Relinquished, will make most of those changes this evening.



Agreed Shark, I found it to be really boring.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2015


4959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good write-up, pos. The two tracks I heard off this were quite meh, I have to check the entire album to rate it though.

Digging: Yuri Gagarin - The Outskirts of Reality

Relinquished
February 3rd 2015


43166 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is a band that definitely benefits off a live setting. compared to the last record, they over-polished the production past where this could've sounded just right their style.

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks man, appreciate it. Definitely nothing to come back to here; had trouble writing much about this one.

SharkTooth
February 3rd 2015


14139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I could see them putting a good live show, but their music just sounds so stale

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

How is their first album, Relinquished?

Relinquished
February 3rd 2015


43166 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

slightly cavernous in sound, has more hooks, tempo changes, and doomy riffs

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2015


25397 Comments


nice review Mark. I appreciated the fact that you took the time to mention the album's strengths rather than just its flaws despite giving it a 2 rating. Pos from me

Digging: Spanish Love Songs - Brave Faces Everyone

Insurrection
February 3rd 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

spot on review. this didnt do much for me

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks, Aaron and Andrew! Ins, I had this at a 2.5 before, but it gets worse with every listen.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2015


11770 Comments


Album art is pretty interesting. Nice write up too Sig.

Digging: Alcest - Écailles De Lune

cryptside
February 3rd 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah art rules on this. Thanks dude!

SharkTooth
February 3rd 2015


14139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"but it gets worse with every listen. "



Yeah I checked this out recently and I concur with that statement

Wizard
February 5th 2015


20239 Comments


Fucking boring ass album. Review nailed it.

Is it just me or has Relapse been slipping in quality over the past few years?

cryptside
February 5th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Wiz. I think you're right on that, I am becoming disenchanted with them for the most part.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy