Vangelis
Mythodea


5.0
classic

Review

by Mythodea USER (16 Reviews)
February 2nd, 2015 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Celestial

It's commonly accepted that childhood memories contribute vastly in the shaping of our personality and determine the provision of our psyche, our character and - ultimately -of what we are. My deeper relation with Vangelis's music and the proportionate influence it has on me, can be rooted back to the unending hours I've spent enjoying it. It was fourteen years ago, more than half of my life, when my parents decided to present me with this piece of music. Now, after deliberate thought, I have come to the conclusion that what Vangelis offered the world in 2001 is the most superior creation in music that mankind has to suggest. No opus that preceded it managed to reach it's heights, no opus that followed has succeeded in surpassing its greatness.

But let's take it from the beginning. Vangelis had already composed the pieces since 1993, in – what he claims – was merely an hour. The title was inspired by the greek words ''Mythos'' and ''Ode'', that were fused together. The work was shorter, with little capabilities due to the limited means he had to work with. Eight years had to go by until NASA chose this work among others of his, to accompany the mission to the red planet, Mars. Then, the composer had the chance to slightly alter it, by adding two more pieces, extending two others and touching upon chorus and music alike. With the support of the Greek government and NASA, the choral symphony was recorded in Greece's Music Hall (Megaro Moussikis), involving Vangelis, two harpists, the 75-person London Metropolitan Orchestra, the 120-person chorus of the Greek National Opera, as well as Greek Percussion ensembles. The two main vocalists are sopranos Kathleen Battle and Jessye Norman, who cooperate into crafting brilliant vocal landscapes.

This short chronicle provides no information about the process of composition or what does the music sound like. What it actually does, is inform us about its significance. A symphony that glorious that was thought worthy of representing human civilization in outer space.

All the above are insignificant to me. I would adore Mythodea whether it was renamed or not. No matter how many years have passed, I still feel the tissue of my existence being degraded, and each filament being connected to cosmic fibers. Suddenly, time and space cease to exist, images from the past condencing the substance of stars and space, project directly in my mind.

The music of Mythodea cannot be described with words, especially by such a die hard fan like me. Every note, instrument and voice is so very carefully set and aligned with the others so as to reflect the unbearable vastness of space, of this infinite goliath and each and every mystery it encloses,unfolding the powers that eternally make the world around us. Everything can be lived through this musical piece.

The symphony is divided into Movements. At times we can distinguish behind the music or as the main sound an uproar, a cosmic sound that contributes in the making of atmosphere. Under the right circumstances, Mythodea will get you aboard a boat that will consign to the ancient universal oblivion, the supreme unknown!

Quite interesting is the fact that Vangelis chose not to write any real lyrics,but rather pseudolyrics, a distinctive technique of his. Words that mean nothing, pure nonsense that were selected just for their sound , creating an amusing sound pareidolia, that has led listeners worldwide to many assumptions and misunderstandings about the cryptic and mystical meaning of Mythodea.

I could go on and on talking about this masterpiece. It has been the axis for all my musical journeys and explorations. It has defined my tastes not only in music, but in the way I want to experience world, thus my love for it is completely expected. And even if it makes me realize the truth about my insignificance in the universe, it's good to know I am able to be reunited with it through this spectacular opus.



Recent reviews by this author
Steven Wilson To the BoneTemples Volcano
Soen LykaiaNeed Hegaiamas: A Song For Freedom
Pain of Salvation In the Passing Light of DayAenaon Hypnosophy
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
danielcardoso
February 2nd 2015


11759 Comments


Nice one, man. Pos'd.

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks a lot Daniel. I wanted to express all my fanboyism and all the emotions this one conveys, hope I don't lose it along the way, making me seem like having issues!:P

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2015


11272 Comments


Sweet review Mytho, pos.

I was expecting you to write something about this album for a while now and you didn't disappoint. Unfortunately, I haven't listened to this one yet but I'll change that soon.

Digging: Winterstorm - A Coming Storm

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was a bit late, taking into consideration that I've been here for a year, but it's only my seventh review, so I guess it's ok. Anyway, thanks for the good words.

Friday13th
February 2nd 2015


6560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet, I've been jamming some Vangelis recently.

I will critique a bit though.

"Quite interesting is the fact that Vangelis chose not to write any real lyrics, rather than pseudolyrics, a distinctive technique of his. Words that mean nothing, pure nonsense that were selected just for their sound , creating an amusing sound pareidolia, that has led listeners worldwide to many assumptions and misunderstandings about the cryptic and mystical meaning of Mythodea."

In terms of grammar, he correct English would be "Vangelis chose not to write any real lyrics, BUT RATHER pseudolyrics." Not a big deal. Believe me, I could never attempt to write a Greek sentence XD

In terms of content, others have done this approach to lyrics before Vangelis. Jon Anderson, Magma, Sigur Ros...not sure if this is his first example, though, so you can contest me on that.



Friday13th
February 2nd 2015


6560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

* "the correct English"

EvoHavok
February 2nd 2015


7638 Comments


Nice write-up! Album seems to be quite the gem.

Digging: Dir En Grey - The Insulated World

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm going to correct the sentence after I finish this comment!



Vangelis has a really jazzy side than not many seem to know. If you like him, I'd recommend Direct, Albedo 0.39 and The City. Great albums all the way.

As for the pseudolyrics, I didn't know many artists who did this, only Vangelis. He also used the same technique on 1492: Conquest of Paradise. Good to know though, so thanks for the info!



Also, my correction ''In terms of grammar, he correct English would be''

''In terms of grammar, THE correct English would be'' :P

Friday13th
February 2nd 2015


6560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah haha saw that

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hello EvoHavok.



I adore this album beyond normal adoration. It reminds me of both space and universe, but it's also a bit personal, you know, nostalgia all the way.

Hurricanslash
February 2nd 2015


1829 Comments


Really, really great review for a really awesome album. Reminds me to listen to it again sometime. Also, yeah, figured you would write this one at some point.

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good to see many Vangelis fans in here. His page on Sput has little to no movement.

Torontonian
February 2nd 2015


2657 Comments


awesome review myth, you write extremely well! havnn't jammed this since i first heard it but damn this review made me want to revisit.

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thank you for your kind words Torontonian. This album is excellent and I suggest you relisten to it soon!



All you guys, if you go back to relistening to it, post your opinions, good or bad. It's going to be interesting!

Jethro42
February 2nd 2015


15550 Comments


Looks interesting according to the review. Posd.

Mythodea
February 2nd 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks Jetrho. Give it a try if you will, chances are you wont be disappointed..

deslad
February 3rd 2015


621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, pos. I love Vangelis although I haven't had the chance to listen to this one. I enjoy the subject very much so I'll definitely give that a listen soon.

Digging: Bill Withers - Bill Withers' Greatest Hits

Mythodea
February 6th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

has any of you guys heard this? It's kinda lonely here....

Hurricanslash
February 7th 2015


1829 Comments


I finished my exams now, I will get to listen to this again ASAP.

Mythodea
February 7th 2015


4251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good. I'm studying currently, I finish next Monday...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy