Dead in the Manger
Cessation


4.0
excellent

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
January 29th, 2015 | 33 replies


Release Date: 02/03/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cessation marks the beginning of something very exciting for fans of extreme metal, and one can only hope that they will continue to progress from the excellent atmosphere and brutality on display here.

It’s hard to describe how successful Cessation is as an album in light of how much ground it covers in just six tracks. Though Dead in the Manger label themselves a blackened grindcore band, the pacing and structure of the album allows for so many more influences to come to fruition. Trem-picked guitars give way to hypnotic post metal leanings, and the desperate howls of the vocalist tie it all together with immense passion. Perhaps the most telling thing about the band is the fact that the members refuse to be identified, and that lack of identity forces the listener to judge the music on its merits alone. No gimmicks, no image for kids to hold onto, just simply a band that plays punishing, vicious music.

One of the best aspects of Cessation is the fact that a surprising amount of melody exists on the record. Of course, that doesn’t mean that melody impedes the heavier aspects of the songwriting; rather, it bolsters the tracks in a way that sets them apart from any other release thus far in 2015. The meandering clean guitar in the beginning of “Part I” transitions perfectly into the stop-start sledgehammer-like heaviness before moving to a full-on black metal section. The sheer musical maneuvering needed to pull all of this off in a three minute track is immense, but Dead in the Manger completes the task with ease. And they manage to do it over and over again on Cessation; it’s a focus on the small details that affect the overall sound of the album so positively. The slow-burning buildup to the monolithic conclusion of “Part III” works so well because of the fact that it’s sandwiched between two of the fastest and most immediate songs on the record. It’s simply a very unique formula where the band has seemingly made a conscious decision to let the need of the songwriting dictate where the song itself was taken. The somber introduction on “Part V” builds up to a demented vocal performance, replete with messy distortion. The transitions are so natural that Cessation is enjoyable from start to finish.

From the quiet beginning of the album to the militaristic drums that end the album on “Part VI” (an absolute album highlight), Dead in the Manger keep the listener enthralled. While it is indeed genre-bending, it’s even more encouraging that the band itself seems to have the right idea about what’s most important here: a singular focus on pushing themselves as musicians. Cessation marks the beginning of something very exciting for fans of extreme metal, and one can only hope that they will continue to progress from the excellent atmosphere and brutality on display here.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysBlood Gemini Snow Season
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
January 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Initially posted here: http://thesonicsensory.com/2015/01/29/dead-in-the-manger-cessation/



Streaming before release here: http://steelforbrains.com/post/109400634617/now-screaming-dead-in-the-mangers-cessation



Pre-order it here: http://listen.20buckspin.com/album/cessation



This is really amazing. Constructive criticism appreciated.

toomuchtestosterone
January 29th 2015


87 Comments


Good review. This sounds extremely interesting. I'll definitely will listen to it. Pos'd

cryptside
January 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude, definitely worth the listen. Let me know what you think.

ckssr1
January 29th 2015


178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, cannot wait to check this out.

cryptside
January 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, you'll definitely dig.

Ecnalzen
January 29th 2015


7156 Comments


Great review, siggy. I have no interest in this type of music, but if I did, you'd make me want to hear it from reading this.

cryptside
January 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Ec! It's definitely not for everyone, but if you were to get into this type of music, this would be the perfect place to start.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2015


10178 Comments


Nice review. This sounds reminiscent of Anaal Nathrakh so I should check it out.

Isn't hiding the band member's identities a gimmick of sorts though? Kinda like that band Ghost?

cryptside
January 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't really think so, man. They specifically state in interviews that if they play live, they wouldn't take it as far wearing masks or anything like that. To me it just seems like a band that wants to put more focus on the music.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2015


10178 Comments


Ah ok. That's a little different then

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2015


10877 Comments


Woah Mark, a string of 4.5s? Having a good year so far I see haha, great review man.

Digging: Russkaja - Energia!

Ecnalzen
January 29th 2015


7156 Comments


I don't know if I can handle it, ha ha. I just barely started listening to melodic death metal a few months back.

I have tried black metal kind of stuff before, and it just didn't seem like my kind of thing. I don't know if I have ever heard any grind, tho.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2015


4408 Comments


MARCUS AURELIUS

Review looks good from a quick skim. This looks like it could be pretty good.

cryptside
January 29th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great end of last year and beginning to this year Scuro lol. Definitely check this out.



Ec, there is enough melody here to give a bit of a reprieve at times, might be worth a shot.



EO, I actually think you'd love this.

Ecnalzen
January 30th 2015


7156 Comments


I'm scared.

Which 'part' should I try?

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 30th 2015


25036 Comments


Dude, seriously good review. It's brief but covers a lot, and I gathered most of what I'd want to know as a reader. Your writing has impeccable flow - keep up the good work.

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

cryptside
January 30th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ec, I would try "Part I"; it pretty much encompasses everything on display.



Thanks a ton Sowing! I really appreciate the feedback, coming from you it means quite a bit. You're one of my favorite writers on here.

DungeonBoy
January 30th 2015


3231 Comments


Great review again! I checked them out based on the review. I listened to this first through, then Transience. I really like this bands sound (I do find it odd that the label themselves as blackened grindcore, since I hear a black metal band but whatever). I thought this album was a step up from Transience, especially in the production and variation throughout. Transience is super focused in it's sound but that repetition makes it a little bland. I think they stepped it up here and I'm interested to hear more of what this band has to offer.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

cryptside
January 30th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to hear it, man! Yeah, Transience is great as well but like you said, more one-dimensional.

ComeToDaddy
February 3rd 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice review, short and sweet. Pos'd



2 songs deep and this is phenomenal. It's a little abrupt but in part 1's transitions but I think that'll keep the album interesting in the long run. Will give it a full listen soon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy