Turnstile
Nonstop Feeling


3.5
great

Review

by ComeToDaddy USER (48 Reviews)
January 19th, 2015 | 69 replies


Release Date: 01/13/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Where imitation becomes inspiration.

Turnstile are one of those bands that wear their influences proudly on their sleeves, but have essentially been held captive by their idols. It’s impossible to hear the singer’s aggressive yells and not catch the Zach De La Rocha worship. There’s snare-heavy drum work that sounds cut straight from mid-90’s crossover hardcore, call and response gang vocals, stop-start guitar rhythms – pretty much everything you’d expect to find in a tribute band clutching at the past of a genre that has long since forsaken its roots. Restricting themselves within the bounds of ground already covered by their heroes, they released two EPs that were very well received, but brought absolutely nothing new to the table. Thankfully, Nonstop Feeling sees Turnstile breaking away from the pile of forgotten imitation artists and finding inspiration; forging their own personality without forgetting the sound that got them where they are today.

This wasn’t immediately evident in the first 2 tracks released from the album however. Opener ‘Gravity’ and lead single ‘Drop’ show growing pains with clunky transitions and unnecessary repetition, and while they certainly maintain the foot-stomping, heart-pounding intensity of their EPs, they also fall prey to the same lack of individuality. Maybe the band simply intended to put something in here for the fans of old to gobble up - growing pains will always be evident when a band is struggling to find its feet, but the album really kicks into gear with the third track and rarely lets up from there, careening through its various twists and turns with admirable finesse. There are heavy metallic riffs, galloping bass guitar lines, surf rock segments, dreamy clean vocals and morose instrumental work all co-existing closely together, and somehow, it just works. It’s an amalgam of styles that shouldn’t gel together, but the band members pour so much energy and passion into their work that it feels coherent and purposeful. An honourable mention should also be awarded to the production team, who have managed to polish the mix to perfection while keeping a raw 90’s hardcore aesthetic that keeps the music honest. While much of the music was clearly built with performance in mind, all of these seemingly small elements have a huge part to play in Nonstop Feeling succeeding as an LP, separate from the stage.

It’s important to put critical examination aside every now and then, and I confess, I haven’t found hardcore this fun in a long while. As time passed, genre stalwarts moved towards the bluer end of the spectrum, pushing for emotional lyrics and diversity and forgetting to just have fun every now and then. Sure, there’s still some downtrodden parts in Nonstop Feeling, but there’s this overarching sense of satisfaction emanating from the band in what they’ve accomplished here that helps carry momentum through its runtime, and is a large part of what makes the album so addictive. In a scene that has become homogeneous to the point of indistinguishability, it’s refreshing to have a band catchy and infectious enough to keep ringing in your ears long after you’ve turned the album off. Putting aside diversity and instrumental skill, Turnstile place the listener’s enjoyment on a pedestal above all else – something I didn’t realise I was missing until I heard Nonstop Feeling for the first time.



Recent reviews by this author
Spectral Voice Eroded Corridors of UnbeingSukekiyo ADORATIO
School of Emotional Engineering School of Emotional EngineeringSpectral Lore Gnosis
Power Glove EP IIAgent Fresco Destrier
user ratings (221)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ComeToDaddy
January 18th 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Would be a 4 if not for the first 2 tracks, this album is unbelievably fun. As always, constructive criticism is welcomed and appreciated.

ConsumerOfNut
January 18th 2015


325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed with the score, agreed with the fact that it's fun as hell. Review rules. Also I like Drop though I know that's an unpopular opinion. I prefer Step 2 Rhythm because it's more cohesive, but damn, the drummer tightened up his act on this.

ComeToDaddy
January 19th 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah Drop is definitely a cool track, it just feels clunky in context. Definitely agree on the drumming front, that and the production job are a big part of why I'd pick this over the EPs. Even though 'Step 2 Rhythm' is more cohesive, it doesn't feel nearly as original as this one to me, though it's all opinion really. Thanks for the kind word on the review friend, appreciate it

ConsumerOfNut
January 19th 2015


325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's definitely less original, but some of the songs on this could use some fleshing out, I think. Dig

the production though, the chunky riffs sound GREAT

lucasjcockcroft
January 19th 2015


3721 Comments


Cant Deny It and Blue By You are so sick

ComeToDaddy
January 19th 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Blue By You is such a great track, I sort of wish they fleshed it out more and brought their surf-rock tendencies to the forefront

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2015


11589 Comments


Probably your best review CTD, and that is saying something. Loved reading this one.

Digging: Dekagram - May Flights Of Devils Guide

ComeToDaddy
January 19th 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow, thanks a heap Scuro. I spent a while trying to cut as much fat as possible from this and it ended up being my shortest review to date, so I'm glad it showed results.

accompliceofmydeath
January 19th 2015


4689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only listened to this once so far, but the 90s worship is ridic. Still dig it quite a bit though.

Digging: The Vandals - Hitler Bad, Vandals Good

botb
January 19th 2015


12020 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

meh

Digging: Old Gods Defied - Demo 2018

NightProwler
January 22nd 2015


7005 Comments


This is really fun. Good review, pos'd!

Sniff
January 22nd 2015


5005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Overproduced much?

betray
January 22nd 2015


9379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I gotta check this

betray
January 22nd 2015


9379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love it so far

betray
January 22nd 2015


9379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

out of rage and love lasso kill the vibe yet also keep the album from sounding the same throughout.

ComeToDaddy
January 22nd 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I honestly found the production great, it's still got a punch despite how clean it is. Such an addictively fun album, glad most of you are enjoying it.

betray
January 22nd 2015


9379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

backtrack and rage against the machine in 'recommended' hahahaha literally the first thing that came to my mind when i started listening

ComeToDaddy
January 22nd 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I didn't vocalise the Backtrack similarities in the review, because RATM is the more obvious one, but they're really similar. I'm glad there's the surf rock influences because I'd almost have to call plagiarism otherwise haha

NightProwler
January 23rd 2015


7005 Comments


I'd give this a 3.5 if it didn't make me want to listen to several other bands instead

But still fun

betray
January 23rd 2015


9379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the sort of dreamy passages are the only thing separating this band from a million others but its so undeniably fun



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy