Brand New
The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me


3.5
great

Review

by Mall USER (42 Reviews)
January 18th, 2015 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sure as hell paid for that mistake

Somehow gaining a level of praise that few other bands in the genre have achieved, Brand News reputation marks them as a game-changer with a small but rewarding discography. The more pop punk-inflected Your Favourite Weapon and the alternative rock/emo mashups of Deja Entendu preceded this record, both showing potential but neither capitalising on the songwriting genius of Jesse Lacey. Yet The Devil and God Are Raging Inside of Me, the bands third record, has a unique approach to production that gives its ominous stories an invigorating sound that their other material sorely lacks.

After the monotonous ‘Sowing Season’ has concluded its mediocre trundle, ‘Milestone’ is the first track that really encapsulates the dark, disturbing experience of The Devil and God. The soaring hook might mislead you into thinking that the entire album will revolve around these sorts of anthems, but as an attention grabber it has no equal. It’s the most accessible song on the whole album, but definitely amongst the weakest when it comes to vocal ability. It’s not that Jesse doesn’t deliver on grungy, downtrodden songs such as this, but the places he really takes off are on tracks like ‘Degausser’, featuring spine-tingling melodies and a tantalising glimpse of something even greater in its atmospherics. ‘Handcuffs’, which is hands down the most flooring song here, concludes the bands nightmarish visions with subtly-woven layers of darkness in what would be an otherwise disappointing and abrupt end. The lyrics are so shocking that the way they are delivered may initially seem unimportant, but it becomes very easy to appreciate Jesse’s moaning and groaning once you grasp the motifs of innocence and corruption that pervade this album.

The band don’t really unite behind their frontman all that often, but when they do the results are gorgeous. The loss of faith expressed in ‘Jesus Christ’ and ‘Limousine’ make them mesmerising as it is, but the harmonics, wailed backing vocals and stadium-sized, sledgehammer riffs bring them up to an almost unprecedented standard for post-hardcore perfection. The epic production may have something to do with how incredible this album often sounds, even on duds like ‘You Won’t Know’ and the almost Muse-esque ‘Not the Sun’. These weaker numbers nearly ruin the already inconsistent middle section, but it’s hard to say you don’t appreciate the intricacies of the wonderfully balanced mix, bringing out stampeding drums in some places and grim bass twangs in others.

The highlights on The Devil and God are often the ones that require most attention to really get. You may forget all about ‘Archers’ after ‘Handcuffs’ gives you a slap of sombre reflection, but here the melodies are strongest, the drums most diverse and the guitar flourishes at their most complex. It’s a fantastic listen, and alongside 'Luca' (brimming with thick, bassy riffs well deserving of a much heavier album) consolidates the bands more diverse approach as a success.



Recent reviews by this author
Rick Ross Hood BillionaireSecret Band Secret Band EP
Converge GravelPitbull Globalization
Touche Amore Touche AmoreLa Dispute Vancouver
user ratings (6303)
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
January 18th 2015


17645 Comments


I still haven't listened to this, never had the interest. Good review though, have a pos.

ChoccyPhilly
January 18th 2015


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like yur points but this seems like a really rushed review

Digging: Injury Reserve - By The Time I Get To Phoenix

Mort.
January 18th 2015


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

loads of malls review feel rushed (no offense bro) because i swear he puts up one every other day.



I dont know how you have the time

Digging: Brainiac - Electro-Shock for President

Mort.
January 18th 2015


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not than any of your reviews are bad tho, theyre always good.

Mort.
January 18th 2015


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i usually write a review in around 20-30 minutes so doing one a day isn't usually that hard"



good lord i can only get one a week out and thats if i try really hard



but then again i get distracted very easily and procrastinate a lot. and have multiple reviews on the go all the time

Jots
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2015


7397 Comments


(edit: fixed)

Overall a solid review man and a great read. nice to see a less gushing review of this. Pos

Faraudo
January 18th 2015


4008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Edgy rating, album is a classic for me. Solid review, nontheless

Digging: Thrice - Horizons/East

Ryus
January 18th 2015


25447 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

edgy rating

Digging: Samurai Breaks - TURBO RAVE ARTILLERY

Relinquished
January 18th 2015


46922 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I couldn't rate this lower

MattTD
January 18th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Mate what are you chatting, Sowing Season is the best song on this album!



Otherwise, a fair review. Have a pos.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2015


19539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Handcuffs is one of the best on here agreed

Digging: Big Red Machine - How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last?

Lambda
January 18th 2015


2654 Comments


I hate people who say "WOW THIS NEEDED ANOTHER REVIEW."

A review is just an explained rating. The more reviews, the better.

Crawl
January 18th 2015


2850 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"duds like ‘You Won’t Know’"



what

BMDrummer
January 18th 2015


14709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

not a 5 agreed

Mort.
January 18th 2015


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decay nobody cares

Mort.
January 18th 2015


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its easy to see that Mall is the favourite child

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 18th 2015


10989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In regards to his review output, I'm similar in that when I actually write a review it often doesn't take but 30 minutes or so. The most I've spent on one is like an hour. However I don't usually do reviews nearly as often. I also spend a lot of time on editing, usually

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 18th 2015


10989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean he can review it if he wants, even tho we technically don't need it.



What's your problem with ratings tho Ov?

Jots
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2015


7397 Comments


IMO we should have an option to review an album without rating it. I like the rating system as a means of organizing albums I like but as far as reviews go, people get too bent out of shape over the number at the top of the page that they don't read the review fairly

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2015


19539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only reason I rate albums is for people to see what I like, that's about the extent to how seriously I take them, it's pretty flawed and people spend way too much attention to them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy