Lakota De Kai
Big Dad Wolf


3.5
great

Review

by Comatorium. USER (47 Reviews)
January 12th, 2015 | 11 replies


Release Date: 12/30/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Still La Dispute with bigger balls. And that's still a good thing.

Lakota de Kai have been puttering around for a few a years with a couple EP’s up until this point that have shown some great promise. The young band hit hard from the beginning with a sound incorporating Every Time I Die and the Chariot-style furious riffs, emotive twinkly emo bits and vocals that recalled MI post hardcore band Victor! Fix the Sun, and generally sounding like La Dispute with more balls.

This mishmash blended together well but stumbled in the songwriting area at times on the first EP "smoke Signals," and the flat production didn’t help matters much on second ep 'Heavy Teeth.' On 'Big Dad Wolf,' LDK hit their stride with eight polished songs that have the production to back their sharp and abrasive sound up.

Hardcore riffs make up the backbone of the album while the vocals jump from spoken word to furious screaming, and often both, on a whim. They take the forefront and are very… animated. Whether you find the vocalist's very prominent southern drawl fitting of their sound or comical depends on how much cheese you can stand in your music.

The majority of the songs ebb and flow from quiet guitar noodling to furious southern metalcore passages building to almost post-rock like climaxes. The cues they take from seasoned bands are obvious, but LDK cuts out an impressive niche of their own sound-wise.The spoken word bits aren’t exactly brimming with lyricism that warrants the attention that the style draws to the sections, and the make the vocal delivery stand out more, but thankfully they are few and far between towards the tail end of the album on cuts “A Boy Named Sad” and “Hell in a Cell '98.”

The bulk of the album is lots of anger, some twinkly bits, and furious, dirty southern guitar barrages with some serious attitude. I maintain that this full length is indeed a continuation and refinement of their “La Dispute with balls and some ETID riffs,” and that is in no way a bad thing.



Recent reviews by this author
Frank Turner Positive Songs for Negative PeopleSenses Fail Pull the Thorns from Your Heart
Haste the Day CowardGodspeed You! Black Emperor 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'
AJJ Knife ManBad Lamps Soultronic
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Comatorium.
January 12th 2015


4847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I tried to fix the formatting.. I dunno. Someone help? First review in a long ass time. A short, concise one for a short, concise album that I liked.

dixoncocks
January 12th 2015


3213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad these guys finally got a review. They have been flying under the radar for a while and deserve some respect. I love their energy and the vocals are a breath of fresh air.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2015


16052 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the spoken word brought this down hard for me, that and the blatant ETID and la dispute ripoffs

Comatorium.
January 13th 2015


4847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The spoken word shit does need to go, though I guess they do it better than bands likes Listener and mewithoutyou.

dixoncocks
January 13th 2015


3213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn if you think mewithoutyou is bad, you should hear Being As An Ocean's pseudo-poetic nonsense.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2015


16052 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i thought mewithoutyou does the spoken word shit pretty ok, being as an ocean is atrocious though.

Comatorium.
January 14th 2015


4847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah my problem is the lyrics don't warrant spoken word delivery, not the spoken word itself. It's okay when La D does it sometimes, but even then i'm like okay come on let's get on with it.

dixoncocks
January 14th 2015


3213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I honestly think MewithoutYou can pull this style off better than anyone. Aaron Weiss is a really talented lyricist and they are probably the first band I've ever heard use it. I agree though it is getting pretty old.

Jorss
January 20th 2015


33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love A Boy Named Sad. The rest of the album is great as well.

elephantREVOLUTION
January 25th 2015


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have no idea where the direction of this band will go in the future. Their vocalist left and is in Kingmaker now and he was a big part of their sound.

Comatorium.
February 4th 2015


4847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Whaaaat? When did that happen? That seems kind of shitty...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy