Saetia
Saetia


3.0
good

Review

by facetheslayer666 USER (32 Reviews)
January 4th, 2015 | 26 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Saetia, one of the cornerstones of screamo, proves its glory in its highly dignified debut LP.

Shortly lived screamo band Saetia was, to be blunt, the cornerstone of a genre. Oh, sure, there was screamo before them; there would be I Hate Myself in Florida, Orchid in New England, Loma Prieta in California, and pg. 99 in Virginia; heck, there was even Raein in Italy! But Saetia, originated in New York, thrived nonetheless in their 3 year career, influencing said bands. How did they do it" Good question -- they weren't exactly "innovative" to any extent in their lifespan. Sure, they were a bit heavier than the emo of the time (excluding emoviolence), they were aggressive, lo-fi, and unbelievably punk rock. But the answer to the original question lies not in their excogitation, but in their music:- behold 'Saetia.'

This nine song debut LP (proceeding 'Demo Cassette') was both scrappy and melodic, the immature production of Level Plane Records notwithstanding. Superb in its impact, first track "Notres Langues Nous Trompent" (which tanslates to "our languages decieve us") attacks the listener with shrieking and melody in one blow, assuring that said listener pays attention -- this won't just be another screamo record. Track 3, "An Open Letter", acts the same way in its predatory yet poetic nature, as do tracks 6 and 7, constantly pounding your eardrum with raw aggression. Track 9, "Endymion", is a good conclusion to the LP, but this track brings the songs we have NOT talked about into question; their "indie rock" influence...

Is it "bad"" No, not necessarily -- it all depends on the auditor, mind you (for me it was face-palmingly hideous) -- but amidst SCREAMO songs, well, that's a completely and totally different story; indeed, in might even change the quality of the songs. This album's categorial inconsistency is the main concept that will degrade this as part of Saetia. Not only is it BAD, but it definitely does NOT flow with the vocal hostility of this album, especially when acoustic guitar is mixed with screaming; this occurence is displayed quite perfectly in track 2, "The Sweetness and the Light", which is a really bad song anyway. "Woodwell", track 4, is just boring, as is track 5. When they try to do calm music among sheer chaos, it does not work. Fortunately, other bands such as I Hate Myself have been able to pull it off, but this was after Saetia; they made other bands better indirectly.

Once you have concluded this nonuplet of an LP, ponder underdeveloped in taste and production, debut record 'Saetia' is just that; young, precious, a baby wrapped in a blanket, clinging to its mother's bosom. It may have its imperfections: it screams in helplessness sometimes, and other times is as peaceful as an angel. But somehow, it seems uneasy when it isn't helpless among its vaguely defined emotional episodes. You have to get used to it to truly appreciate it in its fragile beauty, as a young being -- but I digress severely. Give this album a listen, and like it or hate it, give it another chance; sure, the songs might be boring or inconsistent, but it's very important that you listen to it as many times as it takes, and eventually, tears will well up in your eyes when you really hear Saetia in all its glory. 3/5



Recent reviews by this author
Years and Years CommunionNate Ruess Grand Romantic
Death Grips No Love Deep WebZedd True Colors
Adventure Time Dreams of Water ThemesSleep Party People Floating
user ratings (141)
Chart.
4.2
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


14034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally a review

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2015


13295 Comments


what a load of pointless shitty name dropping at the beginning

Digging: The Physics House Band - Mercury Fountain

Artuma
January 4th 2015


29123 Comments


this review is a fucking mess

DanielNightLewis
January 4th 2015


1028 Comments


The introduction is also incorrect: Loma Prieta started in 2005, Raein in 2002 Orchid & pg.99 were both formed in 1997. I hate Myself was first active in 1996 but didn't release until 1997. Saetia were formed in 1997.

You started badly and just got worse. Not a great review.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2015


6372 Comments


Yeah I pointed the name dropping thing out on your last review. If it helps people get an idea for how a particular moment/song sounds by comparing to another artist then by all means (sometimes it's more effective then trying to describe it yourself) but all you do is just list a bunch of bands in the genre.

Also, you say: "Oh, sure, there was screamo before them; there would be" which sounds like you're saying "there were bands before them.... but nvm that here's a bunch of bands that came after that they influenced" ... idk, it's just worded really clumsily. This review - as well as your last - read like you just got into screamo a couple weeks ago and feel the need to cram a bunch of irrelevant factoids into your review

your closing paragraph is also cheesy as fuck. idk man, I think your writing could use some work. if you'd like, for your next review go to the "site forum" on the bottom of the page and post it in the "proofreading thread" before you submit it and you can get a second opinion

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2015


6372 Comments


also, you say it's "hideous" but then backpedal and give it a 3/5. If I wasn't already familiar with Saetia I'd have no idea what to make of this album based off of your review

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2015


13295 Comments


yeah like Johnny said i checked to see if you were the guy who wrote that old grey review yesterday because this has many of the same issues that one did



StallionMang
January 4th 2015


8076 Comments


There are some points in the review where it sounds overwhelmingly positive and points that sound extremely negative

After reading this I can't tell whether you enjoyed this album or not, and it certainly doesn't read like a 3 review

Digging: Ross From Friends - You'll Understand

RogueNine
January 4th 2015


3343 Comments


Where's SadAndHolyGlow? He really ought to write a review of this.

StallionMang
January 4th 2015


8076 Comments


Also wasn't this at like a 4.3 avg before wtf

YakNips
January 4th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awful review

YakNips
January 4th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and yeah loma prieta formed 6 years after saetia broke up lmao

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2015


55359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saetia are good

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

treeqt.
January 5th 2015


16894 Comments


quite so

facetheslayer666
January 5th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ugh sorry this review sucks xDD

TheSonomaDude
January 5th 2015


5651 Comments


faceslayer666! I knew you were behind this...

facetheslayer666
January 5th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol is there a way to redo it or no?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2015


6372 Comments


You can edit it from your profile

Or, you can post it in the meds threads in the site forum and ask them to delete it

eternium
January 5th 2015


16354 Comments


The fact that you named bands that everyone knows aren't as old as Saetia makes me assume that this review is a joke. That or you're so lazy that you won't do basic research before writing something up.

facetheslayer666
January 6th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol no primarily i was trying to show their influence but i messed that part up xD



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy