Kendrick Lamar
Overly Dedicated


4.0
excellent

Review

by HipHopKid USER (40 Reviews)
January 3rd, 2015 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Overly Dedicated is an interesting listen to hear how much Kendrick Lamar has changed over the years.

One of hip hop's most prominent current figures, Kendrick Lamar released this very good project. At the time, Kendrick really hadn't fully discovered his style, so he doesn't sound as energetic as he would later.

Regardless of that, Kendrick Lamar made himself known as an interesting character. One with dope lyrics, and a unique delivery that distinguishes him from anyone else in hip hop. There are a few fantastic songs, such as "The Heart Pt. 2", which was evident that Kendrick had took a lot of time in writing this song. His emotion here makes this the best song easily. The beats on this album are pretty abstract, and they have a unique sound to them.

However, there are a few forgettable songs, one of them being "Michael Jordan". This song has Kendrick Lamar trying way too hard to sound like Lil' Wayne, which is what it sounded like in Kendrick's early mixtapes (which were very weak, and pale in comparison to his newer work). The lyrics aren't good at all, and they're very generic, as well as the beat. There's also "Alien (Today With Her)", which is boring. The chorus on this song is pretty annoying, as Kendrick tries his hand at sing-talking, and it frankly doesn't sound good.

This album has Kendrick using a pretty odd delivery, and he would eventually grow upon it. He uses some weird voices, and some autotune (not T-Pain type) to add to his abstract style. The lyrics are pretty dope, and he rhymes about what it's like to live in Compton. The storytelling here is pretty good, and there's a bit of it on most of the songs. Kendrick would later grow on the skills that he's aware of himself having, but he's still pretty damn good here.

Overly Dedicated is a pretty good album, although Kendrick Lamar definitely matured as an artist. It's interesting to listen to how Kemdrick Lamar changed from this album to his next 2 projects. This is a pretty dope album, check it out.

Ratings:
1. The Heart Pt. 2 (feat. Dash Snow): 4.5/5
2. Growing Apart (To Get Closer) (feat. Jhené Aiko): 4/5
3. Night of the Living Junkies: 3.5/5
4. Ignorance is Bliss: 4/5
5. P&P 1.5 (feat. Ab-Soul): 4/5
6. Alien Girl (Today With Her): 4/5
7. Opposites Attract (Tomorrow Without Her) (feat. JaVonte): 4/5
8. Michael Jordan: 3/5
9. R.O.T.C. (Interlude) (feat. BJ the Chicago Kid): 4/5
10. Barbed Wire (feat. Ash Riser): 4/5
11. Average Joe: 4/5
12. H.O.C.: 4/5
13. Cut You Off (To Grow Closer): 4/5
14. Heaven & Hell (feat. Alori Joh): 4.5/5

Bonus tracks:
15. She Needs Me (Remix) (feat. Dom Kennedy & Murs): 4/5
16. I Do This (Remix) (feat. Skeme & U.N.I.): 3.5/5

Best songs:
Heaven & Hell
The Heart Pt. 2
P&P 1.5
Average Joe
Growing Apart (To Get Closer)

Weakest song: Michael Jordan

Production: 8.2/10
Lyrics: 8.4/10

Overall rating: 83/100
Grade: B



Recent reviews by this author
Geto Boys Grip It! On That Other LevelIce-T VI Return Of The Real
Ice Cube AmeriKKKa's Most WantedKendrick Lamar Section.80
Mobb Deep The InfamousBone Thugs-N-Harmony Creepin On Ah Come Up
user ratings (340)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
FarveDollarFootLong (3.5)
Every artist has to start somewhere....


Comments:Add a Comment 
danielcardoso
January 3rd 2015


11770 Comments


Slow down on your reviews, man. Wait until your other reviews are knocked off front page until you can submit new ones.

HipHopKid
January 3rd 2015


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@dankelcardoso My bad, what did you think of the review though.

danielcardoso
January 3rd 2015


11770 Comments


It's nice, you've got some potential as a writer.
But I'd ditch that.

1. The Heart Pt. 2 (feat. Dash Snow): 4.5/5
2. Growing Apart (To Get Closer) (feat. Jhené Aiko): 4/5
3. Night of the Living Junkies: 3.5/5
4. Ignorance is Bliss: 4/5
5. P&P 1.5 (feat. Ab-Soul): 3.5/5
6. Alien Girl (Today With Her): 3/5
7. Opposites Attract (Tomorrow Without Her) (feat. JaVonte): 4/5
8. Michael Jordan: 3/5
9. R.O.T.C. (Interlude) (feat. BJ the Chicago Kid): 3/5
10. Barbed Wire (feat. Ash Riser): 4/5
11. Average Joe: 4/5
12. H.O.C.: 3/5
13. Cut You Off (To Grow Closer): 4/5

Skip-able songs: 4

Best song: The Heart Pt. 2
Weakest song: Michael Jordan

Music vibes: 8/10
Lyric vibes: 8/10

Overall rating out of 5: 4/5
Overall rating out of 10: 8/10
Overall rating out of 100: 78/100
Grade: C+


It's just not necessary at all. Also, you've got to fix that a pretty dope album part. Obviously I understand what you're saying, but don't write dope in a review. Put in great, excellent or cool, I don't know.

HipHopKid
January 3rd 2015


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@danielcardoso I took out the rating out of 5 and 10, but I feel like the song ratings help, as they give the reader my rating on each song.

danielcardoso
January 3rd 2015


11770 Comments


I don't know, what other reviewers told me when I was getting started was that the reader should realize just from what you're saying in your text which songs you'll consider better and which songs you'll consider skippable. That's just a matter of individual opinion, of course, if you think you'll benefit from it if you keep your ratings, keep 'em.

danielcardoso
January 3rd 2015


11770 Comments


Also, it sounds a bit strange to give a C+ grade when you have it rated at 4/5. If your rating is 4.0, it sounds closer to a B, or a B- at least.

Tunaboy45
January 3rd 2015


16779 Comments


Hey man, slow down

Yeah seriously just take it easy because the more you do the less thought or effort you might put in. The "vibes" thing seems pretty unnecessary too.

Slut
January 3rd 2015


4255 Comments


This person has their own rating system and everything lol

iamamanfromspace
January 3rd 2015


1030 Comments


Dang, your tracklisting for this is way different to mine. I've never even heard of a track called 'Night of the Living Junkies'

Hurricanslash
January 3rd 2015


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man, I don't know, your reviews remind me a lot of thecreative0nes' style back in 2012, just more fleshed out. I'd say this is an okay review, just, please ditch the end part and you'll be fine.

HipHopKid
January 3rd 2015


54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@danielcardoso a C+ for me is a 78-79 out of 100

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 3rd 2015


1970 Comments


you should ditch this very short style with ratings for individual songs, not received very well around here.

cryptside
January 3rd 2015


2397 Comments


Ditch the individual ratings of songs here, and while shorter reviews aren't necessarily looked down on, there is a lot of fluff to the review. I would try to spend a little more time on the review before publishing.

JeetJeet
January 4th 2015


6868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'M FROM HOOVE MAYNE

HIGH AS SUPERMAYNE

Digging: Young Thug - So Much Fun

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 4th 2015


1970 Comments


this mixtape is actually really good

iamamanfromspace
March 20th 2015


1030 Comments


It's awesome, with the track-list I have anyway. Pretty much equal to Section.80 for me, and better than gkmc :-p

iamamanfromspace
March 20th 2015


1030 Comments


2.5 WHY

are the tracks not on my version of this that bad

iamamanfromspace
March 20th 2015


1030 Comments


Hm even if it's the one the reviewer's talking about it's MOSTLY the same tracks, and I never had any problems with the production. Idk how you can be too lukewarm on an album with tracks like Ignorance Is Bliss, P&P 1.5, Barbed Wire etc... Ignorance Is Bliss is what got Kendrick noticed by Dr Dre and rightfully so

iamamanfromspace
March 20th 2015


1030 Comments


Love his flow on Barbed Wire

iamamanfromspace
March 20th 2015


1030 Comments


Yeah Michael Jordan is certainly not a highlight here, I was also never so keen on the closer and often used to skip it

But yeah I'd recommend that since I definitely think this is a solid Kendrick project overall



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy