Lights
Little Machines


4.0
excellent

Review

by melgosabackstage USER (1 Reviews)
January 1st, 2015 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Calming, exquisite and moving towards the right direction.

It's been three years since Lights released her last album, and what a worthwhile anticipation this has been. Siberia battled between electro grit and synth pop, while Little Machines takes a turn around, as it finds itself conforming new wave grounds. I'm happy that she decided to go for a softer edge to her synth-fueled power-pop ballads. While the title track ‘Portal’ starts the album off a little slow, it is clear that Valerie Poxleitner has grown up and found a happy medium between old and new albums.

This album speaks to me on many different levels. I don't know if it's the stressful semester I had last year, but Little Machines is an album that couldn't have come at a more perfect time. From switching dorm buildings, to entirely new roommates I was ready to start year twenty of my life differently. 'Running With the Boys' had me reminiscing The Cure and other 80's pop rock that incorporated live guitar. Like my transition in college, I don't believe Lights is afraid of change either. It may be the fact that she just had her first kid, but nevertheless her change in sound seems convenient for herself.

In her song 'Speeding' she sings, "The world in the rear view mirror doesn't shake me, I haven't looked back there lately". I see this is as a foundation to what the future holds for Lights. Like old sings, she accepts that Little Machines sounds a little different. The choruses are a bit bigger; the synth such as in ‘meteorites’ is a little calmer, and the overall feel of the album is all the more soothing.

It’s not often I play an album more than 90 times in it’s first week of purchase, but this one hit every emotion of mine just right. Lights can’t be any more forward than ‘Don’t Go Home Without Me’ as she sings to her husband “This is the song I will sing to you when you're old and tired”. Little Machines isn’t just about moving forward; it’s about discovering life and clinging closely to what is already important.


user ratings (177)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
BilboTeaBaggins (4.5)
Lights creates an amazing album, leaning more towards the bubbly synths of The Listening rather than...


Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
January 1st 2015


7443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review, great album! Say more about the music though

melgosabackstage
January 1st 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. For my first review I guess I was worried more about it making sense. I'll see what I can add to it.

Greyvy
January 4th 2015


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

still good :]

melgosabackstage
January 5th 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree. I was obsessed with Siberia, so this album took a while to get into. Dang, what a solid album though. I get too see her valentines day in Minnneapolis :D

BrushedRed
January 26th 2015


3215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Britney Spears and Lady Gaga wish they were. If all pop were like this, well then I wouldn't hate pop as much as I do.

Digging: Tame Impala - The Slow Rush

melgosabackstage
February 3rd 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BrushedRed: I think Lady Gaga has the right idea with the direction of her music, but it seems she is maybe trying to hard. Lights sounds like she is having fun. She and Kate Nash were actually a couple of the first pop artists to get me into pop music

guitarded_chuck
March 6th 2015


18055 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still my jam

Greyvy
March 6th 2015


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yup so many good songs on this. From All Sides has to be my favorite, love the acoustic bit at the end.

melgosabackstage
March 10th 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't get over how catchy meteorites is. I finally just got to see her perform live as well. Such a fun show.

BrushedRed
April 1st 2015


3215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album fucking rules

theNateman
April 16th 2015


3805 Comments


Dope album. I get to see her perform tonight. Soo stoked

Digging: Hayley Williams - Petals For Armor I

melgosabackstage
June 1st 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell ya it rules.

Greyvy
September 12th 2015


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this just doesn't get old. Still so good

SCREAM!
September 28th 2015


15756 Comments


This just strikes a sweet spot between calming, catchy, emotive with sprinkles of sweetness

This is great

melgosabackstage
October 23rd 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad everyone is still into this album. It is still my favorite release from her.

guitarded_chuck
October 23rd 2015


18055 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its my go to when im in the mood for this kind of thing

im p much in love with her

doesnt hurt she looks a lot like my gf

(i got subtle brags for days)

melgosabackstage
November 2nd 2015


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

guitarded_chuck you win hahah. I'm trying to see her in Minneapolis soon, but it's the day after thanksgiving. Must be at a different time for her in Canada.

SCREAM!
November 2nd 2015


15756 Comments


Yeah Canadian Thanksgiving was in October but tbh I'm not sure that makes a huge difference for a touring artist. If they're in the area they'll play the show. I've seen shows on Mother's/Father's day, on Easter, etc

Greyvy
November 12th 2015


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

seeing her this sunday! im so excited. never thought she'd tour close to me

melgosabackstage
January 8th 2016


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Greyvy what state are you from?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy