Whitesnake
Slide It In


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg STAFF
December 27th, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The turning point in Whitesnake’s career and their first step in conquering the US market.

Slide It In is a landmark within Whitesnake’s discography for a variety of reasons. To begin with, it’s the band’s final album with legend Jon Lord on keys and the sole effort with Cozy Powell on drums. Moreover, it’s the point where David Coverdale decided to make a conscious effort in trying to win the US market. Finally, it’s the last album that features the initial Whitesnake logo.

As a result of the above and the band’s partnership with Geffen Records, there are two versions of Slide It In; the UK and the US one. Consisting of the same tracks but in different order, the US version features a more ‘metallic’ sound that suited better the American market, while John Sykes plays most guitar parts. In addition, Coverdale’s vocals and Sykes’ guitar are more prominent than on the UK version while the rhythm section and the keys are slightly lower in the mix. That was proven to be a correct decision as the US version has that oomph that the UK one lacked.

The actual content of the album is somewhat different than Whitesnake’s previous efforts in the sense that it’s less bluesy and more influenced by the growing (at the time) hair metal movement. Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean that the final product sounds exactly like Van Halen, Ratt or Quiet Riot as it has Whitesnake’s characteristic hooks and blues rock influences. However, the music sounds more modern and heavy than Ready An’ Willing or Lovehunter. The emphasis is on catchy melodies and memorable riffs without having a negative impact on the music’s quality though. Tracks like, “Gambler” and “Slide It In” are bound to get stuck in the listener’s mind while “Love Ain’t No Stranger” is the standout track; with its highly effective buildup and the addictive vocal line, it’s probably one of the best hair/pop metal tracks of the ‘80s. In addition, Micky Moody’s substitution with John Sykes works for the better of the album as Sykes was/is one of the most competent glam guitarists. Moreover, Ian Paice’s replacement by Cozy Powell, provides Slide It In with a more powerful/heavy metal drummer rather than one of the genre’s best when it comes to rhythm.

On the other hand, the band’s fixation with lyrics regarding women, sexual innuendos and saucy themes is bound to tire some listeners. Furthermore, on Slide It In the band further strays from its roots which might alienate some of those who have a clear preference for Whitesnake’s pre-1982 work.

Overall if you’re a fan of the band or have only listened and dig Whitesnake, chances are you’ll love this album. Its quality blend of blues rock and glam metal combined with Coverdale’s impressive voice and Sykes’ performance make Slide It In a very attractive offering.



Recent reviews by this author
Legendry Dungeon CrawlerRainbow Rising
Sorcerer The Crowning of the Fire KingPagan Altar The Room of Shadows
Paradise Lost MedusaIced Earth Incorruptible
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A very sweet jam when you're in a happy place. Coverdale, Sykes and Cozy Powell guarantee you a good time.



Full album: https://play.spotify.com/album/68PsM4em1g689aTXcYi0Qm

Digging: Legendry - Dungeon Crawler

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


7625 Comments


Great review, pos.

I think I have the UK version of the album because I remember the sound being closer to "vintage rock".


the band’s fixation with lyrics regarding women, sexual innuendos and saucy themes is bound to tire some listeners

haha I totally get your point friend albeit I don't belong to that category of listeners. Even when women are mad at you and nag all the time, they are adorable in their own way.



Arcade
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


8497 Comments


John Sykes is a beast, love this and 1987. great review, too.

Digging: Godflesh - Post Self

EvoHavok
December 27th 2014


7301 Comments


Sweet review. The idea of having a slightly different sound for each market sounds interesting.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.



@Voivod

Yeah the UK version sounds closer to their previous releases. It just sounds a bit flat to my ears compared to the US even though it was produced by Martin Birch. Regarding women, nagging is what they love doing but what can you do...

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2014


26819 Comments


Good album. Nice job, manos.

Tracks like, “Gambler” and “Slide It In” are bound to stuck to the listener’s mind


stick in*

or

get stuck in*

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, nice catch Jamie. Thanks for the correction.

Titan
December 27th 2014


18045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review manosg!



This album needed a review in the worst way. I'm not sure which version I like better as I do own both. Gambler, Slow An Easy, Slide It In, and Love Ain't No Stranger are my favorites here.



This review was well written.

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2014


11569 Comments


Nice review as usual man, pos'd from me. Don't care much for Whitesnake, though.

Titan
December 27th 2014


18045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really Daniel?

TheNotrap
December 27th 2014


8638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Nice review and accurate summary.

Album rocks hard.



Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2014


11569 Comments


Yeah Titan, I'm afraid so. In Whitesnake instrumentation's alright sometimes I guess, but I tend to be put off by Coverdale's often annoying lyrics, as Manosg pointed it out in his review. Welcome back, NoTrap!

TheNotrap
December 27th 2014


8638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers Daniel :]

Titan
December 27th 2014


18045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Understood Daniel....



I definitely have music that I'm into where the lyrics are atrocious or off-putting but the music is just too good for me discard. I'm no where near suggesting that Whitesnake should be like that for you though haha.





manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers guys. Never thought you wouldn't be into Whitesnake Daniel but I see where you're coming from.

SharkTooth
December 27th 2014


13794 Comments


nice review man! Haven't heard anything from Whitesnake, should I start here?

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers dude! This is a very easy album to get into so you can definitely start with this one. Just bear in mind that Whitesnake's first few albums are more classic rock sounding so there are two eras for this band. This album belongs to the second era where it holds the blues rock elements but adds a bit glam metal. If you want to have an idea of the first period, you can check Ready An' Willing too.

deslad
December 27th 2014


600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Smooth review man, pos. I have only listened to Ready An' Willing as a full album; I hope the lyrics are not very tiresome on this one.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2014


10641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks! Nah they're not very tiresome but it depends on one's mood. The music is very catchy and well constructed so I think most listeners will focus on that.

Titan
December 27th 2014


18045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

UK version definitely has the better flow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy