Motorpsycho
The Motorpnakotic Fragments


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
December 18th, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 12/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A lovely gift for the fans

This summer Motorpsycho started taking orders for what would become the most elusive project in their career so far. Fans only had a certain amount of time to order The Motorpnakotic Fragments and once the deadline was reached, any chance to obtain them was gone forever. Then, the lucky ones started receiving every six weeks or so one 7" vinyl, containing two songs and unique artwork. With the 4th and final single, which was shipped along with the CD, the manuscript was completed. This is not the first time the band gave such gifts to fans, the first being Child Of The Future, released solely on vinyl (with special artwork too) on their 20th anniversary, however, this easily tops it both musically and conceptually.

Even though it was marketed as a compilation of unreleased tracks that couldn't find their place on any record throughout the years, they sound too cohesive and reminisce most the previous two LPs, Behind The Sun and Still Life With Eggplant. I believe they have been re-recorded in the past two years (and possibly re-arranged too), because there are many sonic similarities to what we have heard lately. Either way, these prolific Norwegians have done it again. There are some gorgeous tunes to be found on The Motorpnakotic Fragments and all are meticulously crafted. Moreover, they are shorter and more straightforward, thus becoming more immediate and easier to digest. One of the key tracks here is 'Mockingbird', with its idyllic tone and swaying sing-alongs. The distorted bass and snare-filled drum patterns drive the vocals and guitars, which work very well together, delivering some murky riffs and tasty solos. Another highlight, the explosive opener, 'The Jig Is Up (Kiss The Snake) shares groovy rhythms interspersed with some of their hardest hitting rhythms in a while and a really cool psychedelic solo towards the end. On the contrast, 'Future Of Our Nation' grows from an infectious lead and a deep bass rhythm to a noisy coda, where everyone helps creating a wall of fuzzy riffs and solos.

It wouldn't be a Motorpsycho record if there weren't some lovely, summery songs to be found. 'Forget It' is a lighter jam with beautiful vocals and lovely organ touches that bring to mind the shiny '60s and the Summer of Love. Also, 'One Way Or Another' is a softer ballad where Bent manages to sound like Ozzy Osbourne in the '70s. As the song reaches its climax, the dual guitar leads and faint keyboards give way to an epic solo. The atmosphere it creates is similar to a hot day in the scorching summer heat. You feel exhausted and everyone around moves in slow motion.

Overall, it's easy to observe the chemistry between the members is at an all time high. Releasing such strong albums every year while constantly reaching new creative peaks is what makes Motorpsycho a key act in the entire hard rock/prog/psychedelic scene today. Those who missed the pre-orders will most likely find their way to the tracks via internet and they should as fast as they can, because these songs are just as good as anything that came out before them. Dig it!



Recent reviews by this author
Brant Bjork JacoozziThe Brian Jonestown Massacre The Brian Jonestown Massacre
Tim Bowness Flowers At The SceneMy Life with the Thrill Kill Kult In the House of Strange Affairs
Motorpsycho The CrucibleFront Line Assembly Wake Up the Coma
user ratings (9)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I found only a few videos of the songs and two of them are live performances that sound decent enough to understand what's going on.



The Jig Is Up - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nrvf_35sts

Mockingbird (live) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBG0OCF07jk

Forget It (live) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UgVToBvaSM

Digging: Fennesz - Agora

Mad.
December 18th 2014


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds fantastic, I can't wait to hear it when some faithful fan uploads it. Awesome review as well man. I just hope they can upload the actual files rather than recordings of the vinyl because the quality will be awful

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope the band decides to give this a wider release at some point. Maybe part of some bundle, that would be nice. Still, I understand it was meant for the hardcore fans in the first place.

TheSpaceMan
December 18th 2014


11910 Comments


sweet nice review man! gotta check this sometime

menawati
December 18th 2014


16587 Comments


Need to get this somehow, nice review

SharkTooth
December 18th 2014


13968 Comments


I hope someone uploads this sometime soon

SharkTooth
December 18th 2014


13968 Comments


why is it that your reviews always get featured and never seem to get attention? It's just so weird tbh

tcat84
December 19th 2014


1241 Comments


This band is becoming one of my favorites... I can't believe I hadn't heard of them until this year

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@SharkTooth - A lot of the bands I write about aren't big on Sputnik. Few people are interested in checking out, so maybe that's why.



@menawati - I don't think it surpasses Behind The Sun, but it's a lot of fun, much like Still Life.

Mad.
December 19th 2014


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As nice as it is that they're giving the fans this opportunity, it's a bit unfair to those of us that didn't know about it / don't have a record player but still love the band and want to hear it /:

tcat84
December 20th 2014


1241 Comments


It depresses me that I don't think I will ever have the opportunity to see them live. This band has consistently produced quality music and has even re-invented themselves successfully in the last decade

Lord(e)Po)))ts
December 20th 2014


42499 Comments


didnt these guys just release an album yesterday too

Digging: Cvd - Elsewhere Nowhere

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where are you from tcat?



Yeah, they released Behind The Sun in spring. I wouldn't be surprised if they had another album in the works for next year.

SharkTooth
December 21st 2014


13968 Comments


Well it's Motorpsycho, they deserve as many features as possible tbh

Mad.
December 21st 2014


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amen



Still gotta hear this

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The mods are probably enjoying the album right now. The feature was imminent.

Mad.
December 28th 2014


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally gave this a listen, wasn't nearly as good as Behind The Sun but Future of our Nation is a great track

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2014


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, it isn't as encompassing as Behind The Sun, but it's a great record nevertheless.

Mad.
January 24th 2015


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PEOPLE WHAT'S THE FUTURE OF OUR NATION!?!?!



Turns out that song is actually a cover of an obscure 70s Australian rock band called The Masters Apprentices, pretty cool.

Gonna have to check them now

Emelic
September 12th 2017


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@tcat84 you should travel to Europe to catch some shows. I went to 4 shows in Germany and NL at 2014 and it totally worth it. I hope I can make it again some day



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy