Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket
Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden


4.5
superb

Review

by Arche CONTRIBUTOR (82 Reviews)
December 16th, 2014 | 108 replies


Release Date: 10/06/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A painful reminder that everything beautiful dies.

There are few bands that are as aptly named as 'Vi som alskade varandra sa mycket'. Translating as 'we who loved each other so much', their debut full-length illustrates poignantly the unrequited feelings of someone watching their relationship fall away from them as they desperately try to cling onto what remains. The result is a bitter, agonising release, which projects its emotion as much through its delivery as it does through the lyrics.

Entirely in Swedish, most of the lyrics deal with the aforementioned feelings of angst, unrequited love and additionally the difficulties of accepting that nothing remains of 'what once was'. Although these are themes commonly associated with screamo, their poetic quality is what makes them so affecting - a first-person prose used throughout which could easily be the thoughts of the recently alone, scrawled onto a notebook as some cathartic exercise. As a consequence, many of the songs are laced with an undercurrent of self-deprecation, adding further to the air of desperation that surrounds this album.

The music, bright in tone but dark in mood, operates using the quiet-loud aesthetic so frequently seen before in post-rock. High levels of reverb are used through which bleed the notes into one another, creating a beautiful atmosphere which contrasts heavily with the anguished vocals. Whether during a slow quiet introduction or a tremolo-picked verse, none of the music is aggressive, which importantly further enhances the sense of fragility which 'Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden' creates.

However, the highlight of this album is the stunning vocal delivery. Where the lyrics are already maudlin and emotionally charged, vocalist Arvid Ringborg cracks, howls and screams with so much intensity that even to a non-Swedish speaker there can be no question as to what the sentiment lying within the music can be. Despite being by no means a perfect vocal performance, it is (at the risk of sounding too cliched) the imperfections which gives the words such life and context.

Everything sounds tortured, harrowing and most importantly genuine, which is what allows for so much replay value - the reminder that our emotions, no matter how uncomfortable, mean that we are still human and should be held on to if only for that one reason. As 'Vi som alskade...' gear up for a split with 'Khayembii Communique' next year, hopefully there will be more to come after this exceptional debut.



Recent reviews by this author
Morrissey Low In High SchoolIDYLLS The Barn
Schwefelgelb Den Umgekehrten AtemI Hate Models Totsuka no Tsurugi
Red Velvet The RedIU Palette
user ratings (45)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Felt like this needed a review. Sorry it was me that did it. Any comments, corrections or suggestions as

always welcome! =)



http://visomalskadevarandrasamycket.bandcamp.com/album/den-sorgligaste-musiken-i-v-rlden Full stream here.

Sniff
December 16th 2014


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have you heard their first EP?

Artuma
December 16th 2014


29173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome album, so creepy. great review as well so have a pos



a little mistake in the band name translation: we that loved each other so much

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I've listened to them once, maybe twice. They weren't too bad as I recall.

dimsim3478
December 16th 2014


7721 Comments


emo AOTY disregarding hotelier which i consider to be pop punk anyway

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! Ah I see - when I translated it I realised that the 'that' was there but didn't deem it important.

I'll pop it in there, thanks for the heads up



Edit: done.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2014


10195 Comments


"bright in tone but dark in mood operates using "

i think there should be a comma after "mood"

"Despite by being no means "

I think "Despite being by no means" would be a smoother wording

Very good review, pos'd

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That first one I don't think makes too much of a difference, but I definitely agree with the second! I'll change them both anyway. Thanks!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2014


10195 Comments


yep, up to you after all, nice job

NightProwler
December 16th 2014


7005 Comments


Good review, pos'd as well.

Glad you reviewed this, such a great album.

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! This has grown on me; I liked it a lot at first listen, but now this is probably tied for AOTY with Gastronomicon.

Sniff
December 16th 2014


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And the real correct translation should be "We who loved each other so much".

Sniff
December 16th 2014


3976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't you think that sounds better?

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that does sound better! I'll change it (again ;) ). Thanks!

ComeToDaddy
December 16th 2014


1613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Sorry it was me that did it."



Matey, I'm GLAD you did it. Album needed a review badly and you did a great job

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ahh, thanks man! :D

Artuma
December 16th 2014


29173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is easily one of the best albums of the year. might 5 at some point

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2014


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm on the verge of doing the same. Only thing stopping me is Alfa och Omega, but I think I'm warming to that now as well.

Artuma
December 16th 2014


29173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

storm och lÃĪngtan and illusionen om oss are just way too good omg

ATARI
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2014


22804 Comments


my god that album art is gorgeous

Digging: Amy Shark - Night Thinker



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy