Heart
Dreamboat Annie


3.5
great

Review

by Worst User of All Time Agreed USER (38 Reviews)
December 14th, 2014 | 97 replies


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rocks quite a bit more than the artwork suggests

Back in the 70's, mainstream female musicians were pretty much singing cheesy boring soft rock ballads about love. However, some women came to the reasonable conclusion that soft rock sucked and decided to make something that actually resembled a "rock" band. And thus came the existence of the band Heart, who recorded their debut: Dreamboat Annie. While some songs end up succeeding as hard rock jams, for the most part is just feels too soft to register as a hard rock band along the likes of popular acts of the time like Deep Purple, or AC/DC. Like with its cover, I keep getting this feeling that this album could've benefitted a lot had these girls rocked with at least a bit more aggression than they displayed here.

The album cover does far from justice to the album, and instead looks like if Barbara Streisand and Carole King recorded some sh*tty duet album and released it on Valentines Day. The music on the other hand, is actually pretty good, the opening track Magic Man has a nice beat coupled with an impressive guitar solo at the end. Crazy On You is undoubtably the catchiest track off this album, with a rhythmic acoustic guitar melody in the background while the two vocalists sisters Ann and Nancy Wilson show off their rather impressive vocal ranges in the chorus, to the extent where you want to join in when they say:"LET ME GO CRAAAAZY ONNN YOUUU". But then there's the folkier like Soul of The Sea or even the title track, which are interesting on their own right, and worth listening to since the Wilson singers are so good at their jobs. White Lightning is another gem in this album, which shows the aggression this band is capable of, leading to a rather bouncy song that shows just what Heart is capable of.

'Dreamboat Annie', is a pretty good album, one that strays quite a bit from the abyss of quality that is soft-rock. However, probably due to the folkier aspects, still rocks a bit more soft than I personally would've liked. That being said, if you happen to enjoy folk music, hard rock, or female vocals, there is no reason for you not to check this out.



Recent reviews by this author
GAM EiszeitPalm Desert Pearls From the Muddy Hollow
The Haggis Horns What Comes To MindThe Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones No.2
Hills FridEcho Tail King Defeatism
user ratings (229)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
December 14th 2014


14918 Comments


Review probably sucks but whatevs. I had to do this someday for the Review a Random Album Game(K-Tel Edition)

That being said, feedback appreciated

Frippertronics
Emeritus
December 15th 2014


19513 Comments


no. 3/17

pos

Friday13th
December 15th 2014


7621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice. Yeah the cover is misleading. I like the soft songs, it's just overall nothing mind-blowing.

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


There's the neg I was expecting

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
December 15th 2014


20969 Comments


BARRACUWDA OHHOHOHOOOOWAAA

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


LETMEHGOCRAAAZYCRAAAAAAZYYONYOUUUUUUOOOAAAHHHH

Jasdevi087
December 15th 2014


8116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LEMME GO CRAAAAZY CRAZY ON YOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUU WOOOAAAAH!!



Review could have been better but hey, at least you gave it a go and actually finished it. Damn good album too actually.

Jasdevi087
December 15th 2014


8116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't neg though.

ArsMoriendi
December 15th 2014


40914 Comments


This review is disappointing. I know you're capable of writing better than this.

I feel like the entire second paragraph is irrelevant or at least better suited as a passing
comment rather than a focus.

Also, if you want a woman who rocks out in the 70s, try Patti Smith.


SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


Part of me just wishes someone else could write something better for this and get flagged, but yeah I'm glad I finished this thing

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


This review is disappointing. I know you're capable of writing better than this.
the big problem here is that this album is very far from my comfort zone tbqh

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


"Also, if you want a woman who rocks out in the 70s, try Patti Smith."
thanks man, will check out

Jots
Emeritus
December 15th 2014


7561 Comments


Back in the 70's, female musicians were pretty much singing cheesy boring soft rock ballads about love

I winced. Gotta be careful with starting reviews with generalizations like these. pretty sure you could base your thesis off something else besides the facts that Heart has female members. that'd be like if I started a Bee Gees review with "back in the 70s, male musicians were mostly playing wanky prog rock". it just sounds ham-fisted

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


yeah I should've put the word 'mainstream' in front, thanks

Jots
Emeritus
December 15th 2014


7561 Comments


also:

this album is very far from my comfort zone tbqh

I get that reviewing a genre you've never covered much of can be daunting, but it shouldn't really be an excuse for a weak review. you're just interpreting sounds and words, like anything else. if it's something you're not super knowledgeable on as far as black-and-white facts, then fine. don't include objective stuff. you can still do the music justice, regardless of the genre.

there's this user called 'exitsense' who doesn't post often, but one thing he said hit home, gonna paraphrase here: "there's no such thing as knowing more about music. you might know more music, but you can't know more about music." you can interpret it however you see fit man. be confident. the whole 'point' of these review a random album games is to encourage writers to try different things.

laughingman22
December 15th 2014


2838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos for actually reviewing this, I know it was a challenge



rocks much more than it should





SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


One day I'm going to go back to this and make some much needed changes,
If I were to guess, it'll probably be during the winter break

manosg
Emeritus
December 15th 2014


12707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This needed a review for so long and I was thinking of doing it just for that reason.



I know you could have done a better job but nevertheless you deserve a pos.

facupm
December 15th 2014


11844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

cool

SharkTooth
December 15th 2014


14918 Comments


@manos
I think you should still do it, since honestly I think this is the worst review I've ever written. I'll probably make some edits/make a complete rewrite next week when Christmas break starts, but right now it's not something I'm very proud of



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy