Blur
The Great Escape


4.0
excellent

Review

by CharmlessMan USER (6 Reviews)
April 27th, 2006 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


Blur's 4th album, The Great Escape, had some big shoes to fill from the outset. Not only was it the follow-up effort to 1994's much loved Parklife, It was released into the soaring Britpop phenomenon of the mid-to-late 90's, and into a year that produced stand-out album's, including Oasis' (What's the story) Morning Glory? and Pulp's Different Class. This album was a massive release, but somehow, it got lost in the translation. A month before the album's release, Blur won the infamous battle-of-Britpop against Oasis, in which they both released singles from their new album's on the same day (Blur's 'Country House' V. Oasis' 'Roll With It'). Country House won the battle, But Oasis eventually won the war, with 'Morning Glory' completely engulfing 'The Great Escape', which is a shame, because this album is rather amazing.

The album opens up with a familiar Graham Coxon guitar riff that is Stereotypes, an ode to wife-swapping. This is followed up with the completely loveable 'Country House', in which the up-beat mood is halted by the bleak ballad 'Best Days'. The album starts off strongly and continues on like this with the punky 'Charmless Man', including piano by Damon Albarn, blistering guitar work by Coxon and solid-but-bold basslines by Alex james, with added backing Na-Na-Na's by all 4 members. Other Highlights of this album include the Space-themed 'The Universal', with it's simplistic instrumentation and bold string section, the humorous 'Mr Robinson's Quango' and the thought-provoking 'He thought of cars'.

This album was greeted by glowing reviews and successful sales when released, but is now regarded as lost amongst other albums of the Britpop era. Blur turned their back on Britpop after this album, completely changing direction to a more indie lo-fi sound with their next release, the critically-acclaimed 1997 self-titled release, 'Blur'.

The Great Escape is a very enjoyable listen, a forgotten gem and essential to the CD collections of anyone who loves British music.



Recent reviews by this author
The Stone Roses Second ComingOasis Be Here Now
Gary Moore Still Got The BluesT. Rex Electric Warrior
Paul Weller As Is Now
user ratings (509)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
HolidayKirk (4)
For Tomorrow: A Guide to Contemporary British Music, 1988-2013 (Part 18)...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Two-Headed Boy
April 29th 2006


4527 Comments


Spectacular blurb. One of the best, if not, the best I've seen. Well done, sir!

As for Blur, I have the Best Of and it's great!

CharmlessMan
April 30th 2006


169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you for enjoying the Blur-b.

Blur are one of my favourite bands of all time and this album is a must-have for anyone who loves this band as much as I do. It's quite a shame it got buried like it did because it's a truly amazing album, every bit just as good as Parklife.

Pechorin
October 3rd 2006


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's probably my second favorite, right behind Modern Life is Rubbish. Great blurb. I may do a full-length review if I get the time to do so eventually.

zoozilla
September 29th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty nice blurb.



Don't think it's quite as good as MLIR or Parklife, but it's got some really solid songs on it. The Universal is incredible.

royscoop19
April 18th 2010


137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is their 2nd worst album behind Leisure.



Self titled LP and Modern Life is Rubbish are streaks ahead IMO.

menawati
September 22nd 2012


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

One of my least favourite Blur albums but good review pos'd.

PappyMason
March 21st 2016


5702 Comments


He's not making plans
Because now he understands


danielcardoso
August 14th 2016


11770 Comments


Sometimes i feel like Dan Abnormal speaks to me so much lol.

zakalwe
August 14th 2016


28820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I want Mcnormal and chips or I'll blow you to bits give us it.

rodrigo90
October 8th 2017


5795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never liked country house, the rest of the abum is great, globe alone rules.

SandwichBubble
January 5th 2019


10291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Had a good relisten to this today

Highlights really bolster this

Log S.
January 5th 2019


2789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not my favorite Blur album by a long shot but i like it WAY more than I did as a kid

random
February 26th 2019


2772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The “Country House” video is weird and surreal. It fits the song perfectly.

Digging: Penfold - Amateurs and Professionals

Kompys2000
February 26th 2019


3249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opener is such a jam

Log S.
February 26th 2019


2789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Robinson's Quango in one of their most out-there, jammin' Britpop songs & i fuckin' love it

hadeserbonfa
March 17th 2019


268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just passing here to show Fade Away some love

claygurnz
June 2nd 2019


5430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This band has some great songs but I can't really get into any of their albums in full. Looking forward to checking the S/T and 13, I think I might like them better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy