Silent Planet
The Night God Slept


3.0
good

Review

by PuffertsDoxology USER (1 Reviews)
November 20th, 2014 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like a new book with bent pages, Silent Planet's debut is welcome but seems used.

Supposedly a discussion with J. R. R. Tolkien about the woes of modern literature inspired C.S. Lewis to write his sci-fi novel Out of the Silent Planet. Rather than simply critique the dearth of great literature in their time, Lewis and Tolkien aspired to create literature that would inspire greatness in others. If not in name alone “Christians-in-a-band” metalcore act Silent Planet have taken up Lewis’s challenge to create art that elevates the medium and the message.

While lead singer and lyric writer Garrett Russell is nowhere near Lewis’s level of literary prowess, Russell makes an honest effort at penning meaningful songs. The Night God Slept is a concept album about women who have suffered at the hand of evil and fate. Russell seems to be full of concepts himself, making no less than sixty-one references to literary works (Russell includes citations with the song booklet).

Unfortunately, he muses in wordy abstract complexities that more often than not obscure rather than illuminate his point. In the song “Firstwake” Russell chokes out “Caught in the paradox/juxtaposed between bifurcated black and white/ and my propensity to fail you.” However, when Russell isn’t copying and pasting from a thesaurus, he writes stingingly curt lines like “But God, are you man?/Then how do you see me?/From where you sit up in heaven/looking down on my hell.”

Musically, Silent Planet wobbles between an homage and an appropriation of a sound associated with Oh, Sleeper. The Night God Slept is full of fret-board arpeggios and over-produced, perfunctory drum fills that would comfortably fit with Oh, Sleeper’s sound on Son of the Morning. Thankfully, the band makes efforts to give their album a distinct sound by featuring guest musicians who broaden Silent Planet’s soundscape. However, Russell’s vocals so closely resemble Micah Kinard of Oh, Sleeper that any sonic distinction becomes lost.

While Silent Planet’s debut is good and promises a bright future for the band, they have not brought anything significantly new to the table.


user ratings (286)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
FanCrazedPanda (5)
But God, are you man? Then how do you see me? From where you sit up in heaven...


Comments:Add a Comment 
RivalSkoomaDealer
November 20th 2014


1630 Comments


Excellent review. Agree hard with the Oh, Sleeper comparisons.

Digging: Opeth - In Cauda Venenum

PuffertsDoxology
November 20th 2014


6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks. I really wanted to like this album, but I just find it a little dull.

Durrzo
November 20th 2014


1931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't really agree with the Oh, Sleeper comparisons. I mean I can hear it to an extent, but not nearly as much as the reviewer. When listening to this I don't ever find myself thinking "this sounds like OS." I think they put far more work into atmosphere, while Oh, Sleeper is more riff and lead focused. And while the vocal styles are similar I think there's a pretty huge difference in the voices of the two vocalists.



Just my opinion. Review is good.

cvlts
November 20th 2014


9651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Terrifically worded review, especially for a first.



Unfortunately, he muses in wordy abstract complexities that more often than not obscure rather than illuminate his point.




Well said, and agreed with this album.



In the future, I'd suggest a bit more substance into the sound of the album rather than just "sounds like Oh, Sleeper", even if true.

PuffertsDoxology
November 21st 2014


6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Durrzo: I would agree that Silent Planet have a different atmosphere than OS, but for me the first thing I thought of when I listened to them was... OS.



@cvlts Thanks. Yeah, I wanted to talk more about the sound, but I also didn't want to make the review too terribly long. So I'll have to work on striking that balance in the future.

TheProsOfCon
January 9th 2015


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, Sleeper comparison notwithstanding, I think this is an exceptional album from an exceptional band. The atmosphere is tangible and provocative. It's formula is familiar, yet completely beside me. I dig it.

MuhNamesTyler
February 19th 2015


6553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pretty good

FanCrazedPanda
February 22nd 2015


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I heard this album in a pretty dark place, and I felt that the lyrical content was amazing. I rated this album so highly for personal resonance (and the fact that I have probably listened to it 50 times since its recent release). Like a previous comment, the template felt like it was there, but they brought it to new heights with amazing lyricism, and huge emphasis on feel and atmosphere.

Digging: Sleep Token - Dark Signs

Toondude10
May 11th 2015


14118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is decent, but I've heard much much better.

Digging: Norma Jean - All Hail

NonApplicable
July 11th 2016


2738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't quite there. It's pretty rough compared to everything was sound.

SteakByrnes
December 9th 2016


16078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Darkstrand is so damn good, the opening guitar riff tho

Digging: PVRIS - Hallucinations

betray
January 13th 2017


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really appreciating this one now

SteakByrnes
January 13th 2017


16078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this, I might be seeing them in February with Dayseeker

Storm In A Teacup
March 16th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm

Storm In A Teacup
March 16th 2017


26914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album deserves a better, more accurate review than the two it got

SteakByrnes
March 16th 2017


16078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Do it my guy

SteakByrnes
March 29th 2017


16078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys are pure insanity live

Dolving999
July 10th 2018


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"this album deserves a better, more accurate review than the two it got"



Def agree. Reviewer seems to have a bit of a bias against the singer and the lyrics, comparing him to C.S.Lewis... C'mon.

SteakByrnes
December 3rd 2018


16078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is still their best album and I will not entertain other options

tyman128
December 3rd 2018


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still need to listen to this...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy