Aversions Crown
Tyrant


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
November 18th, 2014 | 143 replies


Release Date: 11/14/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A new tyrant of deathcore.

With the growing emergence of space themed deathcore bands, perhaps spawned by bands such as The Faceless and The Contortionist, and now capitalized on by artists like Rings of Saturn, it seems that Brisbane outfit Aversions Crown intend to carve out a place for themselves. Since releasing their debut record Servitude almost four years ago, Aversions Crown had mostly kept their follow up release under wraps, that is until now. The band has finally unleashed Tyrant onto the modern deathcore scene, and, while not breaking many boundaries, proves to be a release that manages to capitalize effectively on all of the genre’s strengths and improve on a few in the process.

One glance at Tyrant’s artwork will give prospective listeners a pretty clear clue as to what this album revolves around. Namely, an alien invasion, further evidenced by track titles such as “Earth Steriliser” and “Xenoforms”. Through all the rapid blast beats and crushing breakdowns, Aversions Crown weaves tales of extraterrestrial life and destruction at the hands of advanced technology. All the while the music creates an ominous tapestry for the lyrics to advance over. While the music is very much similarly themed to the previous bands I’ve mentioned, the music lies within a region somewhat less technical than Rings of Saturn and demonstrates none of the progressive tendencies of The Contortionist. The technicality is most definitely there to a degree, blast beats and rapid tremolo picking being staples of the band’s sound, but there is a much greater emphasis on heavy grooves and dark atmospheres. In fact the atmosphere is much of what makes the record stand out, and proves that the artwork and lyrics aren’t the only reasons I label this space themed.

Opener “Hollow Planet” sets the album off on a high note, beginning not with a breakdown as many deathcore bands might have, but with some blisteringly higher register tremolo lines. When the inevitable breakdown does appear, it absolutely destroys rather than bores. Every song demonstrates a similar level of entertainment and execution, which is good in a way, but at the same time Tyrant suffers slightly from a lack of variety. Moments like the intro to “Conqueror”, with a melodic intro that is actually beautiful rather than ominous, vary things up slightly, but this feeling of being “one note” is the album’s greatest flaw. Regardless, all the songs remain top tier spacey deathcore that, while short on breathing room, is not short on enjoyment.

Instrumentally, the band is quite proficient by the standards of the genre. The pace remains frantic throughout, absenting some slower and deeply groove oriented sections, and the drums shine as a result. The needed blasting is excellently executed and the drums are all around quite well performed. The guitars balance technical riffs with the low end chugging quite well, even if the latter is a tad bit too common. The bass is sadly forgotten, buried in the low end, but it doesn’t detract too much in the grand scheme of things. Vocally, Aversions Crown have found an excellently varied frontman. High shrieks and low gutturals are the name of the game, but he employs some sparingly used vocal layering and a strong mid-range roar as well to great effect. His lyrics are, for the most part, well written and filled with sci-fi vocabulary, although he throws around profanity a bit much. All in all, the band is firing on most cylinders.

Tyrant proves to be a breath of fresh air into Australia’s deathcore scene, one that may set a standard for underground bands to come. Despite a few flaws, this is an enjoyable and extremely well executed release that was quite some time in the making. Aversions Crown certainly have their work cut out for them trying to top Tyrant, but for now deathcore fans are quite well equipped for the wait.



Recent reviews by this author
Born of Osiris The SimulationHate Eternal Upon Desolate Sands
Cultes Des Ghoules SinisterHorrendous Idol
Bosse-de-Nage Further StillThou Magus
user ratings (137)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Feedback as always.



Link to the stream:



http://www.blabbermouth.net/news/aversions-crowns-tyrant-full-album-stream/#Kgbj46JtCXZGkAGA.01

DazSkunk
November 18th 2014


128 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review man, pos'd

"All the while music ......." has to be "the music"



As for Space-themed Deathcore bands, Thirteen Bled Promises is really worth mentioning

Beardog
November 18th 2014


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review is as good as the album ;)

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"All the while music ......." has to be "the music"



actually I was wondering if the better fix would be a comma between "while" and "music", any thoughts?



Love thirteen bled promises



thanks for the pos's guys

AtomicShane
November 18th 2014


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review. deathcore AOTY if you ask me

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks, not sure if it's mine but it's up there

AtomicShane
November 18th 2014


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rings of saturn and the acacia strain would be close behind i guess

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Both of those are hard 3.5's for me. My favorite of this year was probably the new Carnifex.

AtomicShane
November 18th 2014


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya die without hope is a solid 3.5 that I could probably bump to a 4. The drums pretty much make this a 4 for me.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah the drums are great, although they could do with some more fills or accents or something

DazSkunk
November 18th 2014


128 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If The Acacia Strain was a deathcore band, i'd say Coma Witch would be my Deathcore AOTY, although they sound like a Beatdown hardcore band to me



I'm still deciding between Carnifex and Aversions Crown

Rings Of Saturn and Within The Ruins are close

DazSkunk
November 18th 2014


128 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

- actually I was wondering if the better fix would be a comma between "while" and "music", any thoughts?



I personally would add the "the"

Nocturnalize
November 18th 2014


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man my deathcore favourite of this year is Lugal Ki En or this without a doubt.



I WILL BE THE END OF YOUR FUCKING EXISTENCE



This album crushes start to finish m/

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

pretty much yeah, I will say that Lugal Ki En is RoS's best album yet but until they manage to rein their wanking into more coherent songs they'll never get higher than a 3.5 from me.

Hertzy
November 18th 2014


70 Comments


I know I repeat myself but for me deathcore
AOTY is still Lorelei. I guess it's just stuck
with me a bit more.

Edit: Still haven't listened to this one though

Nocturnalize
November 18th 2014


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lorelei's album is great as well, 2014 ended up being a pretty sweet year for deathcore tbh

XfingTheSullen
November 19th 2014


4361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good review, the album is good but not really memorable, some songs are worth repeated listens though. better than the last one too.

XfingTheSullen
November 19th 2014


4361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

and yeah, Lorelei >>> this



So's Ovdi and Slice the Cake. these are the best deathcore acts right now as far as I'm concerned

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2014


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I would probably agree with that sentiment, far as more adventurous deathcore goes ^

AtomicShane
November 19th 2014


2121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slice the cake hasn't done anything in 2 years tho. Ovid's is pretty neat, but this album is way more fun to listen to imo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy