Monster Magnet
Milking The Stars


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
November 15th, 2014 | 67 replies


Release Date: 11/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Be sure to wear flowers in your hair because Monster Magnet’s latest offering is exactly what its title suggests; Last Patrol almost in the midst of the summer of love.

Ease your mind and let’s travel together through time and space back to the beginning of 1968. The psychedelic rock movement was already at full fledge boasting monuments such as The Doors, Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Are You Experienced, Forever Changes and Disraeli Gears among others. Masterpieces like Electric Ladyland, Odessey and Oracle and The White Album were in the making while a harder type of sound was about to appear. Behemoths like Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple were either downtuning or setting their Marshalls not to 10 but up to 11(!). The Vietnam War was taking place and 2001: A Space Odyssey premiered in the cinemas in front of confused audiences while Martin Luther King was getting shot to death. And of course drugs and pretty colours were all around the place before young Dave Wyndorf’s eyes (12 years old at the time).

You might wonder and for good reason why I’m rambling about all the above; firstly, because history is always important and secondly because this is where Dave Wyndorf attempts to transport us with Milking the Stars: A Re-Imagining of Last Patrol. Released just 13 months after its predecessor, Monster Magnet’s latest effort is promoted as an attempt to show to their audience how Last Patrol would sound if it was recorded in the midst of the psych rock movement. As a result, out of the album’s 12 tracks, 6 are supposedly taken from Last Patrol and reinvented so as to sound even more retro, 2 are live renditions from Last Patrol again while the remaining 4 are new songs. Nevertheless, “Goliath” is similar in name and nature to “Goliath and the Vampires” so what we’re left is just 3 new tracks, right" Wrong, because this is just one way of looking at this album; the other way is to view it as a unique entity which is much more enjoyable.

Moving on to the tracks, the 6 “re-imaged” ones, indeed sound even more retro than their Last Patrol versions but despite Wyndorf’s genius they don’t sound exactly as if they were on a 1968 album. At times, they sound like MC5 on steroids while on others they’re like a huge black hole coming towards the listener. They’re fuzzier, include more organ and sound effects with Dave Wyndorf’s voice. The live renditions of “Last Patrol” and “Three King Fishers” prove that the band is on great form while “Goliath” felt like a link before the album’s last tracks rather than a track of its own. Regarding the “new” tracks, “Let the Circus Burn” is “Last patrol” reinvented, “No Paradise for Me” is “Paradise” with slightly alternative arrangement and I’m almost certain that “Milking the Stars” has its roots somewhere in Monster Magnet’s discography.

To sum up, if listeners expect new work from Dave Wyndorf and Co, they’ll probably end up disillusioned. Milking the Stars: A Re-Imagining of Last Patrol is exactly what its title suggests; Last Patrol in a time capsule. The best way to enjoy this album is to forget what came before it and appreciate it for what it is. With previous releases, Monster Magnet had their one foot on stoner and the other on psychedelic whereas now they manage to deliver a very successful heavy psych album circa 2014.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacral Rage Beyond Celestial EchoesSlash Living the Dream
Friendship (NO) Ain't No Shame Paradise Lost Host
Survivor Vital SignsCarriage Visions
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice to hit the big 40 (review-wise) with this one.



Once I have a full album stream, I'll post it on this comment.

Digging: Dio - Magica

danielcardoso
November 15th 2014


11769 Comments


Congrats on your 40th!
Great review, pos'd.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I appreciate you checking my reviews.

Ryus
November 15th 2014


16574 Comments


this sounds great dude, pos

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Knowing your taste, I think you'll like this one.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


6676 Comments


dunno if I'd like this, but this review is tight. Pos

menawati
November 15th 2014


16587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first part of review makes it sound like i could really like this

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Johnny

I appreciate you checking the review nonetheless dude.



@mena

Yeah, I think you'll probably like it. It's a really great album for what it is.

IntriguingSergei
November 15th 2014


171 Comments


Nice review, you were concise and made that first paragraph interesting and relevant to the rest of it. Pos.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


4638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meh, I was quite disappointed with how this 're-imagining' turned out. The songs sound like some demos rather than alternate takes and none of them is better than the original. They should have altered the songs even more to capture that old school sound.



Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@IntriguingSergei

Thank you Sergei.



@insomniac15

Tbh I was very skeptical when I heard the news about this album. But I do enjoy it for what it is even though it doesn't sound as if it was recorded in 1968. I don't know if an album today can sound sincerely like if it was recorded in the 60s. I'm sure that as a musician you will know better.

InFlamesWeThrash666
November 15th 2014


8484 Comments


"...the don’t sound exactly as if they were on a 1968 album" (third paragraph)

You missed a "y". Well written review btw

Digging: Bokassa - Divide and Conquer

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice catch InFlames, thanks.

dannyboy89
November 15th 2014


13404 Comments


Sweet review mano, count on my pos.

Digging: Blue Oyster Cult - Agents of Fortune

zakalwe
November 15th 2014


25914 Comments


Travel through time to 1968 with flowers in me hair.
Cool!!!!


SharkTooth
November 15th 2014


13854 Comments


"I don't know if an album today can sound sincerely like if it was recorded in the 60s. "

It's probably doable, but will take a shit-ton of effort to nail that production quality with today's
machines. Awesome review manos, will definitely check this out!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@dannyboy89

Thanks man, I can always count on you.



@zak

Oh what would I give to be able to do that haha.



@Shark

Thanks dude! The thing is that even if someone nails the production issue, can they release actual music that sounds like the 60s or 70s composition-wise? Can we have a Master of Reality or Machine Head today?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


4638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with you. However, they way Dave marketed the album led me into thinking this is a more drastic remake. Unfortunately, none of them could find its place on Last Patrol. I enjoyed the new songs, even though they are instrumental.





deslad
November 15th 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoyable review, pos; the album sounds really appealing.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2014


4638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Btw, you need to check out the new Siena Root. It's got that sweet old school sound, even though they ditched the Eastern instruments on the new one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy