Rotting Christ
Sleep of the Angels


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
November 13th, 2014 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Very reminiscent of its predecessor, Sleep of the Angels is a highly atmospheric gothic metal album suitable for this time of the year.

Rotting Christ is one of those bands that beat the odds by a margin throughout their career. Hailing from Greece, they released their first LP in 1993 playing black metal with an emphasis on epic atmosphere with a few slower passages. Nevertheless, through the years they moved from their early roots by fusing their sound with doom and gothic metal elements. After all, following the success of Paradise Lost, numerous bands were influenced by them and after Draconian Times the Brits ruled the world of metal for a brief time.

Fast forward to 1997 and Rotting Christ had released their most mainstream album at the time, A Dead Poem. Straying far away from their black metal days, the album relied heavily on midtempo compositions and a gloomy atmosphere.

Sleep of the Angels is in a nutshell the natural evolution of its predecessor and a product of its time. Having only one track that can be classified as black metal (“The World Made End”), the album revolves around memorable guitar riffs combined with distinctive screechy or whispering vocals. In addition, the music can be described as gothic metal with very sparse black metal outbreaks. All in all, Sleep of the Angels is a highly atmospheric album that musically is close to Samael, Moonspell and Tiamat. There are numerous epic moments and melodic passages and it flows very naturally throughout its 41 minutes.

On the other hand, the album cannot be characterized as a progress regarding the band’s sound and while the music is very well written and performed, it’s mostly a repeat of A Dead Poem. In addition, the fact that the song structure is more or less the same over much of the album, it might lead some to feel that Sleep of the Angels is a bit flat.

All things considered, Rotting Christ’s fifth release is definitely worth a listen especially during the fall and winter seasons due to the atmosphere it conveys. Those who enjoyed A Dead Poem are almost bound to like this one as well while it can also serve as a smooth introduction to the band’s catalogue for those who aren’t very familiar with black metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacral Rage Beyond Celestial EchoesSlash Living the Dream
Friendship (NO) Ain't No Shame Paradise Lost Host
Survivor Vital SignsCarriage Visions
user ratings (99)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Couldn't believe this one didn't have a review. Anyway, it's a great album guys, feel free to check it.



Full album: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Sleep+Of+The+Angels/860138



Your comments are appreciated.

Digging: Dio - Magica

ksoflas
November 13th 2014


1244 Comments


Sweet and consice review my friend.
Pos'd.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude!

FrozenVain
November 13th 2014


3003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, man! I pretty much fully agree.

Cold Colours is a really good Rotting Christ track.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Yeah, Cold Colours is a great track. I'd say I enjoy all of the tracks of the album on various degrees though.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10405 Comments


Nice review, pos'd.

I remember this band being on the Brutal Legend game soundtrack and hearing that story about Dave Mustaine kicking them off a tour because he was a high and mighty christian but never listened.

Should I remedy that?

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks and the answer to your question is why not? If you're ok with black metal you might want to start with Triarchy of The Lost Lovers. Otherwise, this one or A Dead Poem are good places to start with these guys. They're actually not as half extreme as their name suggests.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, pos.



"Der Perfekte Traum" is awesome, the album overall is good, it's just that I wasn't as moved as I thought I would be.



I should listen to the album again sometime.

Digging: Suffering Quota - Life In Disgust

Totengott
November 13th 2014


4218 Comments


Pos'd, band is awesome, but I have never listened to this.

Digging: Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10405 Comments


"Thanks and the answer to your question is why not? If you're ok with black metal you might want to start with Triarchy of The Lost Lovers. Otherwise, this one or A Dead Poem are good places to start with these guys. They're actually not as half extreme as their name suggests."

I love black metal, although this sounds a good bit different from the usual BM I know, but I'll give them a listen

Metalstyles
Emeritus
November 13th 2014


8573 Comments


If you love black metal then Thy Mighty Contract is going to be a real treat for you. I myself especially love that album + the last three that they have released. They kind of reinvented their whole sound (at least for the fourth time in their career haha) on Theogonia and the black/folk mix they're churning out since then, I actually think that's the best sound for them yet. No one else really sounds like them these days. Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy was one of my top 3 albums last year.

I actually haven't heard this album, mostly because I always read that it's basically like A Dead Poem, and while that album is pretty cool on its own, I like the band's non-gothic eras more.

FrozenVain
November 13th 2014


3003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Theogonia and latest are jams.



"Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy was one of my top 3 albums last year."



Nice!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10405 Comments


I'll start with one of their older albums I guess, see if it grabs me.

Totengott
November 13th 2014


4218 Comments


Theogonia is my favorite album by them, I also really like their last album.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys have such a solid discog, they're great songwriters. I don't think there's one album of theirs I dislike even though my favorite period of is 1996-99.

Totengott
November 13th 2014


4218 Comments


I agree, they have no bad albums.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10405 Comments


Triarchy of the lost lovers is pretty cool, like a 3.5. The style is pretty different to me though so it's gonna take some getting used to I think. Could be higher once I adapt and explore their discog some more

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


11317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you checked Triarchy man. Yeah give it some time to sink in.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10405 Comments


the riffs sounds pretty old school and classic metally in places i thought. not a lot of the long tremolos. the vocals and atmosphere are what add the black metal feel more it seems

deslad
November 13th 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really great review manos, pos'd. I haven't checked this one out yet, I plan to do so soon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy