Basement
Further Sky


3.5
great

Review

by Dan H. EMERITUS
November 9th, 2014 | 13 replies


Release Date: 07/29/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Basement are back, perhaps for good.

Rather like the coelacanth, Basement never really disappeared. Though the content of their interviews suggested that Colourmeinkindness was to be their swansong, the band wasted little time in deciding that they were no longer extinct, allowing us to reclassify them as endangered instead. The young bucks of Basement have never kept their intentions a secret, and their approach to making music has always been a sensible one. After their 2012 release it seemed a certainty that the members were each set to stoically suffer the rigours of modern life in their own way, be it by going back to college or by beginning their training for solid, lengthy careers. The sustainability of their existence has always fought against their joy of making music together, and their periods of activity may always prove to be frustratingly intermittent. However, the speed with which they announced their return suggests that they’ll continue to walk the tightrope for as long as they possibly can. The allure of playing to sweaty crowds in different cities every night might just be winning the battle against the textbooks and desk jobs that working life has to offer.

Further Sky sees Basement ditch the emo flavoured grunge of Colourmeinkindness for a catchier, more positive alternative rock sound. It suits the band well, and leading the change is vocalist Andrew Fisher. Throughout Basement’s career Fisher’s tone has always mirrored the brashness of the guitar work underneath, and with the distortion at an all time low, he’s adopted a surprisingly approachable tone. The borderline shouting and slurring which characterised their earlier works (‘Whole,’ ‘Covet’) has been mostly replaced by a softer, more pronounced delivery. Combined with the slightly cleaner guitar lines, it proves to be refreshing, and the package is only sweetened by the increasing reliance on major chords and arpeggios. Though the atmosphere falls short of being jovial, there is a quiet air of contentment which pervades the entire E.P. Each of the three songs carries the new theme comfortably, almost as if the band has never sounded any different.

Every release in Basement’s career so far has seen a subtle evolution from the last, and there’s no guarantee that the band’s next full length will have the same characteristics as Further Sky. But if the band is looking to blend work with pleasure to make Basement their full time venture, then it’s a route that they should strongly consider following. Each of the songs has more than enough depth to appease their existing fan base, while also containing a new sense of accessibility which could snare some new listeners too. The chorus of final track ‘Animal Nitrate’ sees them prioritise melody above all else, and it’s the closest the band has come to writing a radio-friendly rock song. Continue down this road and not only is there the potential for meaningful airtime, but there’s also a chance that one day, Basement might just become their day jobs.



Recent reviews by this author
Big Ups Before a Million UniversesBasement Promise Everything
Arcane Roots Heaven and EarthLoma Prieta Self Portrait
Frank Turner Positive Songs for Negative PeopleRefused Freedom
user ratings (107)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
November 9th 2014


1384 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Opening line is a nod to a past Basement review. Their next full length could be very exciting.

dimsim3478
November 9th 2014


8020 Comments


lol we were talking about coelacanths last week in science

it's nice that these guys are back

Digging: The Collectors (JP) - YOUNG MAN ROCK

cryptside
November 9th 2014


2397 Comments


Awesome review, buddy. Mindpos, sounds like I need to check Basement out.

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
November 9th 2014


1384 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks bud, check the song 'Spoiled' and see what you think, you'll probably get on with them.

ExplosiveOranges
November 9th 2014


4408 Comments


by beginning training for a solid, lengthy career

I don't know why, but I don't like how "beginning training" is phrased. How about "beginning to train" or "beginning their training"?

However, the speed with which they announced their return suggests that they’ll walk the tightrope for as long as they possibly can, and the allure of playing to sweaty crowds in different cities every night might just be winning the battle against the textbooks and 9 to 5’s that working life has to offer.

Really long sentence. You could probably break it up into at least 2 or 3.

Combined with the slightly cleaner guitar lines it proves to be refreshing

Try throwing in a comma after "lines".

Though the atmosphere falls short of being jovial there is a quiet air of contentment which pervades the whole E.P, and each of the three songs carries the theme comfortably, as if the band has never sounded any different.

Pretty long sentence. Try breaking it up into two.

Every release in Basement’s career so far has seen a subtle evolution from the last, and there’s no guarantee that the band’s next full length will have the same characteristics as Further Sky, but if the band is looking to blend work with pleasure to make Basement their full time venture, then it’s a route that they should strongly consider following

You could probably break this one up into two or three as well

Other than that, great review. You think I'd dig these guys?

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
November 9th 2014


1384 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll see what I can do about those sentences man, cheers. I think you might dig them as a bit of easy listening, the second album more than the first I suspect!

ExplosiveOranges
November 9th 2014


4408 Comments


Will do. Sorry if I came off as a little harsh in my criticism. Review's fine, really, but I feel like it could be a lot better with those edits.

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
November 9th 2014


1384 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not at all man, nobody is above constructive comments. I've edited it based on your input, and though I disagreed with your second point I've changed it up anyway to see how it would look, and I'm equally happy with it. The rest certainly improved it, thanks.

Skoop
November 9th 2014


2062 Comments


I like their new style


LosingmyOatcakes
December 6th 2014


2 Comments


Animal Nitrate is a cover of the suede song. Good change in direction either way, it's good to see they haven't broken up.

MuhNamesTyler
January 28th 2015


6469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Didn't know this had a review, cool

GmemberKills
February 24th 2015


3683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey

MuhNamesTyler
February 24th 2015


6469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hi.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy