Jeromes Dream
Presents


4.0
excellent

Review

by BMDrummer USER (52 Reviews)
November 4th, 2014 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What sellouts.

Jeromes Dream might as well be one of the most interesting screamo bands of all time. While many might find their vocals intolerable, it’s impossible to deny how powerful their music really was with its shockingly honest screams, grind-esque songwriting a la Orchid, punk lyrics, and nearly flawless experimentation. I really can’t think of any other bands that have made an album that sounds remotely similar to their stellar debut, although this is probably because of their vocals. They really were a band doing things the way they damn well felt were right, all the way up to their ending. They probably could’ve made more, but they only ever released two albums. Both are wonderfully unique and different from one another, but Presents almost sounds like a different band. It’s always cliché to say such a thing about a band from album to album, but it’s 100% true for Jeromes Dream.

The biggest thing they decided to change was the vocal style on this one. While Seeing had Jeff Smith ripping his vocal cords out, literally sounding like a murder victim, he had to tone it down on this one. He instead opted for a more traditional hardcore-shout kind of approach, almost like talk-yelling. The result isn’t nearly as intense as their debut, but it seems like they knew this. What I mean is that the instrumental department seems to have improved at a very interesting rate. They decide to throw in tons of weird rhythms, dynamic builds, dissonant chord progressions, and in-studio experimentation. Of course their debut had all of this, but they really push the boundaries on this one. It’s very likely that they alienated a large portion of their fans in the process, but I’m sure they knew this as well. It’s punk, what can you do"

With this and Seeing Means More Than Safety under their belt, Jeromes Dream should gladly be remembered as one of the most interesting punk bands of the last decade. Both albums sound wildly different, with Presents mainly being the weird one, and Seeing being the definitive one. Seeing is relentlessly emotional and visceral, while this one is much less straightforward in its presentation. Seriously, they ended the album with an instrumental song almost in the vein of some of Fugazi’s instrumentals. But in the end, while it doesn’t reach the drastic bar set by their debut, it does come pretty close. This is basically what Daughters would begin doing around their second album, and we all know how good they were. It’s good and it has passion.



Recent reviews by this author
Ada (ME) AdaVic Chesnutt At The Cut
Bonnie 'Prince' Billy Master And EveryoneLungfish The Unanimous Hour
...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead MadonnaXiu Xiu A Promise
user ratings (63)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BMDrummer
November 4th 2014


14294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

feel like i haven't reviewed in a little while, this definitely needed one.

Ryus
November 4th 2014


16514 Comments


i love you!


good review, only release by them i haven't jammed yet tho

BMDrummer
November 4th 2014


14294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hehe thx, this is a weird one for sure. really interesting tho

BMDrummer
November 4th 2014


14294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also kurt ballou did production on this so it sounds really good

Ryus
November 4th 2014


16514 Comments


oh sweet didnt know that

my only suggestion is perhaps to go into a little bit more detail about what this sounds like but i also like the short conversational style this review has going for it

SharkTooth
November 4th 2014


13853 Comments


nice review man, sadly I don't care much for punk music save for very few exceptions

demigod!
November 4th 2014


49295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review



i actually really like the vox here, even more than on seeing (though that's the better record). tough to explain why, they're just so unique

laughingman22
November 4th 2014


2798 Comments


Cool review, I would take out the "What I mean is that" from the second paragraph to avoid going into first person

RoundOnEndHiInMiddle
November 4th 2014


898 Comments


sweet review. generally anything produced by Kurt sounds amazing.

Artuma
November 4th 2014


29743 Comments


excellent review, pos'd hard. it seems like i'd probably dig this more than smmts

Digging: Massive Attack - 100th Window

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2014


10390 Comments


Solid review, bit short for my taste tho. I usually like a more in depth review. Pos'd

Wonder if I would like this.

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Sinister

BMDrummer
November 4th 2014


14294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thx guys, and yeah it's pretty short since the album is so short i guess

YakNips
November 4th 2014


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i should actually probably bump this yeah

MyRamona
November 10th 2014


1098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The loss of Jeff's voice makes me damn sad.

Supercoolguy64
December 13th 2014


8590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I heard a rumor once that when they were recording their split with orchid the singer passed out from screaming so much, which is why they changed their vox style on this one.



also he lost his voice? damn, that sucks

Digging: Autechre - LP5

Supercoolguy64
October 30th 2015


8590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i had a dream the other night that i killed jeff smith

BMDrummer
October 30th 2015


14294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

good times

calmrose
October 21st 2016


3734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

goddamn this rules so much, I don't know why but I love the vocals so much on this and the instrumentation fucking rips

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

Supercoolguy64
October 21st 2016


8590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this got that beast production guitars are thick af

Supercoolguy64
November 27th 2016


8590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BZN2webCQjY

Apparently there's now an official JD instagram too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy