Stella Luna
Stargazer


4.5
superb

Review

by BilboTeaBaggins USER (2 Reviews)
November 2nd, 2014 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A lush, soothing shoegaze record more suited for gazing at the stars.

Stella Luna are a band that have been active since 1996. I don't think they've released anything since this record, which came out 2002. Shoegaze and dreampop have become increasingly popular pretty recently but this is closer to the timeframe of Loveless. One thing that stands out is how well it all flows together. I couldn't discern a few of the transitions from one track to the next, which isn't a bad thing. While some bands suffer from lack of originality and other factors that keep tracks from standing out, the spacey, post-rock feel to this album keeps it from being a problem.

The album is 26 minutes long with only 4 songs. The vocals are lush and soft and compliment the guitars. The instruments, guitars specifically, aren't as distorted and chaotic compared to other shoegaze albums. The vocals themselves are more of an instrument than a voice. They contribute to the feel and flow of the album rather than distract from it. Ambiance and certain sound effects make this album stand out from the already amazing performance. The sounds are focused on making this album as spacey as possible, with radio communication intervals and takeoff-esque effects.

The entire album is subdued and soft with some blaring moments. The guitars are distorted and low,but the instruments aren't meant to be focused on individually. like any aspect of this album. It's all focused on the feel and flow of the album. That's not to say the musicians aren't proficient with their instruments, but it's not a super technical album.

Overall this album isn't going to be a classic within the genre, mainly due to obscurity. I think it could definitely be one of the greats if it was more popular. A towering work of shoegaze and dreampop with post-rock influences and beautiful, soothing vocals, this is a great album to check if you're a fan of the genre.


user ratings (47)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
BilboTeaBaggins
November 2nd 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review

DarkNoctus
November 2nd 2014


10915 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you don't really go into anywhere near enough detail



you describe a lot of things as 'good' or the like but you never explain why, and you don't do much to describe what it sounds like other than the genres it belongs to. anyone new to shoegaze would have absolutely no idea what to make of your review.

Digging: Esoteric - A Pyrrhic Existence

BilboTeaBaggins
November 2nd 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I see what you mean. I touched it up a little bit but I'm not sure if it's any better. Albums like this are kind of hard to describe in a way,

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2014


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I'll probably review this soon, so underrated

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

Asdfp277
November 2nd 2014


21718 Comments


wait so this didn't have a review before? ?

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2014


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

This review isn't under "my discussions" or under the "new user reviews" section, is this in the process of getting deleted or something?

Asdfp277
November 2nd 2014


21718 Comments


so there's still no review for this

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2014


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

It still exists obviously because we're still commenting, but it's not fully on the site for some reason. I'll ask about it on the meds thread.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
November 2nd 2014


6743 Comments


It's a first review, therefore needs to be approved by the mods before it shows up on the front page

Edit: oops, beat me to it ^

BilboTeaBaggins
November 2nd 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this didn't show up in discussions yet. They have to approve it. And no this wasn't reviewed yet

Artuma
November 2nd 2014


31305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this got a review sweet. the review itself could be more subtle but it's a first so won't neg

Digging: Have a Nice Life - Sea of Worry

BilboTeaBaggins
November 2nd 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Any suggestions?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
November 2nd 2014


6743 Comments


The review is sorta.. well, not subtle. You say "this happens and the guitar does this" which is something I would know if I listened to it, but it doesn't offer and insight that would be persuasive (especially to new listeners). I wanna know exactly what makes this such a joy to listen to, beyond what the guitar effects do. Put a bit of enthusiasm into your description, and maybe some personal creative flair. Elaborate on the album highlights a bit

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
November 2nd 2014


6743 Comments


Also, some of your sentences could be condensed, such as the very first sentence

Rhyme
November 2nd 2014


1405 Comments


ayy this finally got a review neat

Let
November 2nd 2014


1688 Comments


I've been on a shoegaze kick and this sounds like something I'd really dig. will check

BilboTeaBaggins
November 3rd 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol this needs a better review.

@let yes this was really good

SCREAMorphine
November 3rd 2014


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love this

Keyblade
November 3rd 2014


28274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yooo this got a review. Major props even though the review could use some work

Tyler.
November 3rd 2014


17533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy