Black Veil Brides
Black Veil Brides


2.0
poor

Review

by buildthewall USER (3 Reviews)
October 29th, 2014 | 74 replies


Release Date: 10/28/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black Veil Brides, yet again, attempt their best impression of every glam rock band ever. With (very slightly) better results.

Black Veil Brides have long been one of the bands at the centre of the “scene” music taste along with bands such as Blood on the Dance Floor and Sleeping With Sirens. And, for this, they are often immediately lumped into the “bad music” category without a single listen and, after listening through their older albums, rightly so. So does this new self-titled LP re-establish the makeup-covered quintet as a worthy contribution towards the modern rock industry" Not really.

Black Veil Brides remain as painfully average as ever throughout the entire album. The key problem throughout their discography is that songs are interchangeable, they all sound the same and this album is no exception. Every song is a bland chug of guitars with Andy Biersack’s plain worn-out voice that never ever changes pitch over the top. A guitar solo that sounds like it could have come directly from your average Bon Jovi song is thrown in at some point in 10/11 songs. The band makes very slight effort to stray from this in Stolen Omen through the use of growled vocals but due to the inconsistency with the rest of the albums and the obvious inexperience Black Veil Brides have using these vocals it comes off as cheesy and forced. A horrific attempt is also made at a heart-felt ballad in Walk Away but it comes across so plastic and formulaic that it’s genuinely laughable. Lyricism, as usual, remains bland and thoughtless throughout the entire album. Backing vocals in the form of “oohs” and “ahhs” are constantly present, poor and often badly placed (with the exception of “Drag Me to the Grave” where I think they fit quite well and improved the atmosphere of the song)

However this album does come with a couple of personal improvements for Black Veil Brides. Whilst the band doesn’t have anything new or interesting to offer instrumentally, the ability to create ambiance using those instruments has drastically improved. A particular example of this is the guitar work in Goodbye Agony. Songs feel better structured throughout this album to so, although each segment in itself is boring, the songs still feel like they have genuine segments to them rather than a generic verse-chorus-verse style.

As far as I’m concerned this is the best album Black Veil Brides have ever released, but that definitely does not mean it’s a good album. The band seems comfortable staying exactly where they are in terms of maturity and musical progression. They sound exactly the same, but a little more polished and slightly more professional. Whether they’re happy with that is up to them but at the current rate they’re going I don’t expect them to be a particularly respected band in the music industry any time soon.


user ratings (325)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
CaliggyJack (4)
Bob Rock helps produce some of the best Black Veil Brides music so far....

Insurrection (2.5)
Black Veil Brides is Black Veil Brides doing Black Veil Brides. Take that as you will....

DropTune (2.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
betray
October 28th 2014


9391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I think they fitted quite well"



fit quite well*



"Songs feel better structured throughout this album to so that"



Fix that at the end



Good review. I have a review mostly written for this album but it's got the same rating and key points as this review, so I'll let you have it.



Surprisingly decent instruments are squashed by shitty production and stupid lyrics sang by a terrible voice.

ViperAces
October 28th 2014


12593 Comments


inb4 skele(?)

buildthewall
October 28th 2014


2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thank you for the feedback, fixed the errors you pointed out as well

emester
October 28th 2014


8251 Comments


asnidereturns ...

and leaves

betray
October 28th 2014


9391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"This band hasn't worn make up since Set the World on Fire,

please change this."



they really have lol they did like less than a year ago



they might not do the whole huge hair with white facepaint deal but pretty sure they still wear makeup

betray
October 28th 2014


9391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"i hate it when people list the members of bands, literally no one who's trying to write a serious review would do that"



yeah that annoys me too.



it makes sense for bands that have had multiple changes of the entire lineup but not fucking BVB and save for biersack they're all stupid stage names anyways

InFlamesWeThrash666
October 28th 2014


8778 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

And no everyone, I'm not back, the fact that people still are focusing on the makeup annoyed me to the

point where I decided to log in. Logging out now.



lol

Digging: Children of Bodom - Hexed

BertMacklinFBI
October 28th 2014


501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Needs more 5s

InFlamesWeThrash666
October 28th 2014


8778 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I will 5 it soon

betray
October 28th 2014


9391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"And no everyone, I'm not back, the fact that people still are focusing on the makeup annoyed me to the

point where I decided to log in. Logging out now.



lol "



yeah i definitely wouldn't say that referring to BVB one time as "the makeup-covered quintet" is really focusing on it but ok

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2014


10504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I actually liked Wretched and divine but the single for this was pretty weak.



Lol for the glorious and brief return of snide.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2014


10504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Doesn't he need to post the album stream or something, I didn't think this was officially out yet?

betray
October 28th 2014


9391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

came out yesterday unfortunately

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2014


10504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I don't really want to listen but I feel like I should



for snides sake

TheSupernatural
October 28th 2014


1817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

EVEN WHEN I FALL DOWN TO MY KNEES, I NEVER POS'D A REVIEW WITH WHICH I DON'T AGREE

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2014


56394 Comments


"i hate it when people list the members of bands, literally no one who's trying to write a serious review would do that"

times 10000

ericu03
October 28th 2014


186 Comments


That album cover is intense, like a video game boss or something.

zaruyache
October 28th 2014


20499 Comments


wait so snide left for good or something?

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

Cloudcity
October 28th 2014


110 Comments


I'm just logging in to tell you that I have left forever and never logging in again.

See you tomorrow.

- Snide

facupm
October 28th 2014


11368 Comments


not another bvb album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy