Bloodshot Dawn
Demons


4.0
excellent

Review

by Madbutcher3 USER (89 Reviews)
October 27th, 2014 | 43 replies


Release Date: 10/26/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Smoothing out the edges of their already fairly polished melodeath sound, Demons serves as a more cohesive follow up for Bloodshot Dawn.

After both a split with their drummer Doug Anderson and a Kickstarter campaign for the follow up to Bloodshot Dawn's eponymous debut, it was interesting to try and establish what the next album would attempt. Their debut was a clear indicator of the extreme heights of their talents (especially the lead guitars) and showcased many excellently written sections of songs, but suffered as a whole from fairly repetitive songwriting and a somewhat messy production job. These specific areas have been tackled on Demons, resulting in an excellent, if predictable follow up.

More specifically regarding areas of improvement, the drums and overall quality of performance has improved greatly. The band's self-titled had several moments where the band sounded as though they lost time, and the mastering seemed greatly clipped throughout, which didn't lend itself well at all to the band's otherwise machine-like sound. On Demons, the drum and rhythm guitar performances have improved tremendously, with new drummer Janne Jaloma providing an extremely tight and more aggressive showing and Josh McMorran having tightened up his rhythm and lead playing. The vocal performance has also diversified, with McMorran occasionally adopting a Marcel Schmier-esque bark that works extremely well with the extremely thrashy Inadequacy. The quality of the engineering is excellent on this release, with the vocals feeling extremely deep and with a cleaner sound overall.

The songwriting has also improved, in that it no longer seems to rely on Benjamin Ellis' leads as a crutch nearly so much as on their debut, where most of the songs compensated for fairly plain riffs with his admittedly excellent guitar solos. Here, the riffs are both improved and more varied, and whilst largely predictable, they're better integrated with the overall sound of each song. Unified perhaps evidences this best, and is the best written track all round with smooth and well integrated tempo shifts along with a more carefully considered use of their prominent melodic elements than at any point of their debut. Ellis, whilst still frequently placed at the forefront, provides a somewhat toned down performance, no longer compensates for underweight songwriting and instead helps to add atmosphere and facilitate transitions, as well as amaze often enough. On Smoke And Mirrors, Inadequacy and especially The Image Fading (which also features Teemu Mantysaari from Wintersun, Per Nilsson from Scar Symmetry, Andy James and Chris Amott), he cements his position as one of the top lead guitarists in metal. Despite a dip in quality with Human Void and The Image Faded, the overall songwriting quality is far stronger here, and the title track closes the album very well.

Overall a more focused and polished effort than its predecessor, Demons is both an easier and deeper listen which sees the band realizing their potential much more effectively. As a result, it quite easily qualifies as the top melodic death metal album of the year thus far.



Recent reviews by this author
Abysmal Torment The MisanthropeExodus Exhibit B: The Human Condition
Voivod The WakeSadist Tribe
Vader Dark AgeIn Vain Currents
user ratings (89)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2014


8189 Comments


Album stream: http://bloodshotdawn.bandcamp.com/album/demons


Good review overall.

Digging: Zordah - Fury

Madbutcher3
October 27th 2014


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Edited where I felt appropriate, Voivod. I chose not to cut down certain sections because I felt it would eliminate the actual information within.



I'm not too bothered by the focus on the guitars personally, Cap. Whilst the riffs aren't anything special, they are effective on all the tracks and fit together cohesively. Also, "emotionally moving the listener" is not and should not be the main goal for music - most of the worlds most heavily praised music does not emotionally move me and yet I still enjoy it because it sounds GOOD in its own weird sense. For example, I do not regard Symbolic as emotionally moving as such, but it's easily one of my favorite albums. If you are saying that this album doesn't necessarily hit you in a way that impresses you especially, then that's fair enough, but that's probably critical in the most subjective way possible.

Madbutcher3
October 27th 2014


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Then perhaps our notions of being moved emotionally is different, although I would say that CTAWB and Everything Is Fire would fit into my definition.

Madbutcher3
October 27th 2014


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Trvth.



Guitar's going alright, I've actually written a few new tracks, I'll link one on a list I suppose.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2014


24655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this rips yeah



[L]Andy James[/L




formatting error there but otherwise good rev

Madbutcher3
October 27th 2014


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fixed.

Durrzo
October 27th 2014


1645 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loving this album. I have a hard time finding Melodeath bands that I actually enjoy, these guys hit the sweet spot though.

Cloudcity
October 28th 2014


110 Comments


bet this sucks

thacoconut94
October 28th 2014


1497 Comments


Might just buy for that cover

KingdomOfTyrant
November 13th 2014


650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really, really good

Thibs
November 13th 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't give a fvck about emotion, for the most part (especially in metal). this riffs m/

betray
November 19th 2014


9387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wooooooooo buddy does this album tear

Evening
November 21st 2014


2 Comments


I personally liked the album a lot. Maybe it's just me, but this album actually does have a good deal of emotion. I like the vocals, too, and that's saying a lot. I usually dislike aspects of vocals, but I really like them in this album and their debut. Yes, I do like harsh vocals, and I do them myself, but a lot of them nowadays are performed by people who just try to overuse heavy tone and gutturals. The lyrics to this album are actually very well written, showing how the standards have dropped in Metal. Everything seems to be more plain in this genre. All just overly technical, overly angry, or just trying too hard to be heavy. This is one of my favorite albums of the year. To each his own, though.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2014


2586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The band's most consistent and solid album yet, even if at only 8 tracks I feel a tiny bit underwhelmed (I would have preferred a few more only because I feel the creative ideas here don't seem stretched out to their full potential). That said, it's a real powerhouse instrumentally. The guitar work is very efficient and well-executed all the way through, and that bass work on songs like "Inadequacy" is just insane. They've got a bigger and brighter future in front of them if they keep this up, that's for sure.

Digging: Downfall of Gaia - Ethic of Radical Finitude

Nocturnalize
February 4th 2015


2463 Comments


This album kills it my only complaint is some of the vocals sound really forced but other then that this is top notch stuff

dodgep
February 25th 2015


1 Comments


Great stuff, really enjoyed their breathtaking musicianship and dexterity, but better still the songs are songs not just riffs.

UnitK2K
November 5th 2015


136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys really know how to write music. There's little repetition in each song with a good amount of solo bass play here and there.

Brewtality91
June 23rd 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album rules so hard. Every time I hear it I can't help but be impressed and even blown away.

Sven from Aborted is featured on Human Void and it's a really sick mix between his vocal style and Bloodshot's riffs.

AdolfChrist
August 22nd 2016


19567 Comments


good melodeath. has sweet melodies without being too sugary.

Digging: Mylingar - Doda Vagar

swipenet
October 12th 2016


2917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The Image Faded" is fucking glorious. 4 guest solos, damn!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy