Hangar
Last Time


1.5
very poor

Review

by Mister Twister USER (28 Reviews)
October 25th, 2014 | 13 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The flaws stick out like a sore thumb.

Any good band is like a well-oiled machine. They need to be cohesive, all capable of performing their tasks, and well-rounded in order for the album to flourish. Hangar's debut album, Last Time, is a textbook example of why this is the case, as there seems to be a serious disconnect between the members throughout the performance.

To be fair, the album isn't entirely bad. Upon beginning, one may be taken aback by the shoddy production, but all instrumental performances are solid and generally are somewhat catchy. Then, however, enters the vocalist. Suddenly, the album takes a monumental turn for the worse. The vocal performance on Last Time is the cog in the machine which doesn't turn, and brings the entire work to a screeching halt. On top of the performance being just plain unappealing to the ears, the grating voice is also quite often flat and incapable of hitting the high notes set up by the song itself.

It truly does go downhill from this point. The vocal performance alone makes every track a chore to listen to, as the weak production merely exacerbates the issue. It's a shame too, as the drumming performance is pretty strong all throughout. Time is kept well, and some technical displays are showcased at certain points. The guitar work is somewhat dull, but nothing offensively bad. Tracks such as Absinth serve as more effective demonstrations of the group's potential, as the vocalist takes a rest for most of the song, permitting the rest of the group to salvage the song.

It's definitely unfortunate to see an album with potential being brought down to an experience which is difficult to listen to based on one flaw alone. Had the vocal performance been somewhat passable, the album could have been salvageable. The other elements of the album aren't quite as glaringly weak as the voice. However, Last Time is a case where the one flaw is so overwhelming and all-pervasive that the rest of the work becomes a struggle to enjoy.

Recommended Tracks:
Absinth



Recent reviews by this author
Temple of Blood Prepare for the Judgment of MankindFueled by Fire Spread the Fire
Excel Split ImageFallen Angel (SWE) Faith Fails
Tantara Based on EvilPentakill Smite and Ignite
user ratings (5)
1.2
awful
recommended by reviewer
Hangar Infallible


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mister Twister
October 25th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Just something small so I don't get rusty. This thing had potential, but to truly witness the awfulness of the vocals, here's your link:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmaLid6fWsU



Infallible is a massive improvement. Production's fine, riffs better, vocals are actually strong, it's just damned fun.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
October 25th 2014


70163 Comments


its tagged as power metal so no it had no potential at all

Archelirion
October 25th 2014


6528 Comments


Pos'd, short review that certainly did the trick at covering the album.

Couldn't even finish that link you posted, holy shit that was awful.

Mister Twister
October 25th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Here's something to wash out the taste left in your mouth:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYrCf7L67gM



That's them in 2009. Huge improvement, if I must say.



As for the link I posted, I would have posted Absinth but I can't find it on YouTube, and I don't know how many people trust Grooveshark.

Archelirion
October 25th 2014


6528 Comments


I've used Grooveshark before, but it can be a tricky wotsit.

They definitely spent more time on this one. Is it the same vocalist? Daaamn.



Mister Twister
October 25th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nope. Vocalist on this is Michael Polchowicz, while on Infallible it's Humberto Sobrinho.



Last message I had sent was because Metal Archives is weird.



Man, A Miracle in My Life is awesome.

Archelirion
October 25th 2014


6528 Comments


Figures. I was hopeful there'd been a miracle.

Mister Twister
October 25th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, it would have been incredible if they had really improved to that extent. First vocalist left in 2005, so he was only there for two albums. Notice the ratings of their first two albums here.

Archelirion
October 25th 2014


6528 Comments


Haha, hooooo shiiiet that's a bit of a step up! By the sounds of things they had improved at playing as a unit as well which would have helped (as well as obviously having more money to throw at the production) but there's no denying the change of vocalist helps. Feel almost bad for the original vocalist, but I guess something had to give.

Mister Twister
October 25th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah.



No idea what's going on over at RYM though, this is only 0.09 lower than Infallible. Might be because Infallible has a fairly high amount of ballads and slow stuff.



Then again, there's a review on RYM of Extravasation that claims it's a 3/5 because tracks like Give Me are overly long and bog it down.

SomeGuyDude
October 26th 2014


377 Comments


I have no idea what makes those vocals terrible as opposed to any other power metal. Sounds the same to me.

Mister Twister
October 26th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You must be listening to some pretty shitty power metal, then.



Either that or you've clicked the link to the track from Infallible by mistake. I could genuinely not think of any other explanation.



Just compare this to the likes of Sonata Arctica or whatever. Even if you're talking about bands with divisive tones, groups like Black Majesty make it work far better than these guys could on this particular album. It's a combination of a really strange, unfitting tone of voice with the fact that he's almost constantly flat.



It also hurts that the production here sucks and just compounds how bad the voice is.

Artuma
October 26th 2014


32620 Comments


its tagged as power metal so no it had no potential at all [2]

Digging: Gospel - MVDM: Magick Volumes Of Dark Madder



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy