Horsehunter
Caged In Flesh


4.5
superb

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
October 25th, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 04/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like digging for gold.

Nothing in the world demands more attention than a band that simply sounds huge, and no adjective more aptly or concisely describes Horsehunter. Once the gargantuan guitar presence found in the opening moments of ‘Stoned to Death’ is felt, all doubt concerning what the listener is in for is immediately removed. On this goliath of a debut, with an intriguing blend of stoner rock and sludge metal, these Australian musicians have produced a lead-heavy album attempting to wade its way through honey.

Caged in Flesh opens with an abrasive mammoth of a track, not only sonically but in terms of duration as well. Over a quarter of an hour in length alone, ‘Stoned to Death’ wastes absolutely none of the time it takes, justifying every moment with incredible songwriting and musicianship. The track starts off low and slow, the attention focused on the drumming for a while before the guitars move in and dominate the soundscape. As the track lurches forward it begins to resemble a shambling giant; large and powerful but somewhat lethargic, taking care with its movements. The drummer is impeccable and adds exactly what the track needs each time, be it some atmospheric cymbal crashing or a percussive assault on the senses. Undeniably it’s the guitars which draw the most focus from the listener, often combining long, drawn-out chord progressions and sluggish riffs with rapid soloing throughout the album in the most mesmerizing of ways. The bass guitar weaves in and out of every track, subtly piecing together the backbone of the album alongside the infallible drumming.

Everything here sounds larger-than-life, but never feels suffocating or overbearing, always with plenty of room to breathe and flow. The album is almost akin to something that the fellow stoner-influenced band Kyuss might create had they adopted the metal genre into their sound and lowered the BPM. The title track exemplifies Horsehunter’s meandering style to the greatest extent, slowing to the point of almost stopping until a rocking guitar riff revives the track once more. Fitting for this style of music, the vocals are harsh and the lyrics are dismal. Bassist Himi Stringer and guitarist Michael Harutyunyan are responsible for vocal duties and both impress with their distinct styles, utilising hoarse screams and strained yells as opposed to the low growls which are common within the sludge and doom metal genres.

With Caged in Flesh, Horsehunter have produced a monolith of an album, an attack on all fronts with an air of understated restraint and intelligent songwriting behind it. With a thick, syrupy sound sure to appease sludge metal enthusiasts, coupled with groovy stoner influences that ensure a memorable experience, Caged in Flesh is the equivalent of digging for gold, and finding diamonds.



Recent reviews by this author
Natsukashii Driving EastDisturbed Evolution
Korpiklaani KulkijaJonathan Davis Black Labyrinth
Majesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das LichtDream Troll The Witch's Curse
user ratings (23)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Kyuss Welcome to Sky Valley

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


superb album, one of my favourites from this year for sure. Album is available for stream/download here: http://horsehunter.bandcamp.com/

review comments/criticisms are welcome and appreciated

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 25th 2014


6686 Comments


I'll def read this in a bit man, but first: I have panned for gold, and it was mostly mud. "Panning for gold in mud" seems kinda like redundant simile. To me, it'd be like saying "it's like bathing in water" or something.. ya know?

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


lol that's a very good point actually, I'll change it up a bit

Edit: Changed it to digging which makes a lot more sense.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


8299 Comments


First track sounds awesome. Good review, pos.

Digging: Forgjord - Ilmestykset

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 25th 2014


6686 Comments


Good suggestions ^ it mostly comes down with making your sentences more concise. Just another step in editing that I'm working to improve as well :/

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


cheers Voivod, I appreciate the feedback, I'll edti now as I agree with all those points, apart from the "regarding its movements" one, i prefer it the way it is. The rest I'll get on now.

VaxXi
October 25th 2014


4403 Comments


Damn son where'd you find this?

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


I actually can't remember how I found it but I am so glad I did. It seems to have slipped under the radar here but it looks like it's been massive on bandcamp. Glad to see you liked it too.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 25th 2014


6686 Comments


"listener is in for is immediately removed"
- you could cut out the 'is' and reword it, like "all doubt concerning what the listener is in for vanishes" or something. meh. idk, could be more concise to me

there's a few other sentences where I think you could cut down the word count in favour for some concise descriptors. again, this is something I'm just starting to look at myself, but I think it really helps, especially with the shorter reviews like this. A good example, I think, would be Aziz's reviews. They're fairly short, but there's rarely much filler in his sentences.





ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


fair point, I'll see what I can do tomorrow but I certainly agree. I generally try to get a good description of what I'm trying to say, sometimes I think I might go overboard but I can't shake it once I know what I want to convey. Like this for example "these Australian musicians have produced a lead-heavy album attempting to wade its way through honey." even though it's better than what i had before I think it's an example of me going too far with my description and yet I really like the honey analogy because I think it's really apt and I'd hate to get rid of it. I don't know, i guess it comes down to preference.

Anyway, check this album out Johnny, i think you'd dig it.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 25th 2014


6686 Comments


will do. I'm not generally big on sludge or stoner rock but I'll jam it

Archelirion
October 25th 2014


5651 Comments


Haha, I was gonna review this one but I'm glad you beat me :P Excellent review, really good album if maybe a tiny bit long.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


11682 Comments


thanks Aaron! I'm glad some other people know about this here.

tacos n stuff
October 25th 2014


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

free on bandcamp too

holy fuck #tybg

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2014


11682 Comments


I love bandcamp, full of cool free stuff like this. although this album is one of the best things I've found there.

Grizzlypyro
October 26th 2014


272 Comments


Review is great. Mostly because I would not have heard this otherwise, cheers!

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2014


11682 Comments


thanks! glad you checked it out.

tempest--
November 2nd 2014


20632 Comments


great review man. this rocks.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2014


11682 Comments


cheers tempest

SpiritCrusher2
November 6th 2014


6116 Comments


so good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy