Pianos Become the Teeth
Keep You


4.0
excellent

Review

by scottpilgrim10 USER (13 Reviews)
October 20th, 2014 | 81 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Your wick won't burn away"

On Pianos Become the Teeth’s third LP Keep You, the band decides to forego the screaming that long time fans have come to love from the band. And with this exclusion, the sheer amount of up front emotional intensity conveyed on past releases is nowhere to be seen. Although they’re still capable of capturing sincere moments of anger and regret, with melodic guitar lines (albeit uninspired) that are distorted for maximum effect. Keep You is still a worthy successor to The Lack Long After, the record's solemn atmosphere and understated ferocity along with some masterful lyrics keeps the band’s spark alive.

David Haik’s hard hitting drums punctuates Kyle Durfey’s verses nicely. The different fills and tempos Haik utilizes stand out especially, when all that’s present is a subdued and melodic guitar line. His hits are very punchy throughout, keeping an overall exciting tempo. Now while the melodies played are at times moving, many of them feel recycled or just too similar to other tracks on the album. The melodies help in part to ramp up the album’s emotional clarity, but they're not very inspired, and at times they feel a bit forced. There are some choice guitar licks to be found, and the bridge during “Old Jaw” is particularly brilliant, but a few original moments doesn’t make up for being generally lackluster and uninspired the rest of the time melodically. Most tracks follow a basic formula of starting off soft and dreary, and then Pianos start to increase in volume and intensity. While the song structure is very simple, these basic songs shape the record's overall mood pretty well.

The album would work better if Durfey could muster a single paltry spine-tingling scream, but the amount of intensity they were able to create without that essential part of the band is pretty impressive. Lyrically Pianos are as poignant and heart wrenching as ever. While Durfey’s jaded look at life and love in general is written beautifully. Images conjured by Durfey portray the emotions conveyed by the album’s gloomy instrumentation resoundingly well. Lyrics like “Like a room left open, Just for being kept like some lonely facet” from the track “Repine” are heartbreaking, and because of these emotionally relatable lyrics, past fans will have a reason to look past the lack of screams. Durfey's screaming delivery on past albums give off emotional intensity with ease, but it’s still easier to interpret Durfey’s messages when he’s singing clearly. Heck, Durfey’s lively singing on Keep You almost makes up for the exclusion of screams.

Keep You’s depressive lyrics and dreary overall tone could substitute a cathartic group therapy session. Durfey’s top notch lyrics are as electric as ever, and is by far the best part of Pianos third LP. The guitar melodies are a bit generic and overused, but Haik’s sensational drumming keeps the album afloat musically. While the musical intensity of their first two records is sorely missed, Pianos are still able to pull off this new softer direction. If you go into the record with no previous conceptions of what a Pianos Become the Teeth album is suppose to sound like, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.



Recent reviews by this author
Ninja Sex Party Attitude CityPrimus Primus and The Chocolate Factory With The Fungi Ensemble
Echosmith Talking DreamsHorrorshow The Grey Space
Stars No One Is LostOK Go Hungry Ghosts
user ratings (575)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
scottpilgrim10
October 20th 2014


4750 Comments


Stream the album here: http://pitchfork.com/advance/575-keep-you/

The album definitely grows on you with each listen, feedback is appreciated.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 20th 2014


6750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review feels rushed, and considering it just started streaming I guess that's to be expected.



you also make quite a few criticisms that you backpedal from. at one point you criticize their songwriting, but then say "but it's still fantastic", uhhh ok then. idk man, it really feels like you aren't 100% confident in your words. IMO you should have given this more time to sink in before pounding this review out. still a good review, but it's not particularly convincing

ABjordanMM
October 20th 2014


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

someone 1'd this. insta-neg

scottpilgrim10
October 20th 2014


4750 Comments


JohnnyOnTheSpot
Maybe you're right, but I am pretty confident with my opinion on the album. While the song's structurally are pretty basic and similar to other tracks on the same album melodically, they still create the gloomy atmosphere well enough and allow room for the drumming and Durfey's singing to shine. But yeah I pounded this out pretty quick, I've just been writing a ton of reviews lately. Writing reviews has felt very satisfying creatively, so I've been spending most of my free time writing them, but next time when I review a really new album I'll make sure I'm 100% confident in my opinions. I like this review tho.

scottpilgrim10
October 20th 2014


4750 Comments


Static will pay for his crimes against humanity.

Evanpowers
October 20th 2014


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

proofreading takes literally a few minutes

ABjordanMM
October 20th 2014


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This reminds me a lot of the new tides of man for some reason.

breakingthefragile
October 20th 2014


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol didn't this just start streaming like 2 hours ago?

YakNips
October 20th 2014


19924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

wow that was quick

Ignimbrite
October 20th 2014


6577 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This hasn't ever been streaming for half a day, dude.

YakNips
October 20th 2014


19924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

god i hate pitchfork streaming so much

Comatorium.
October 20th 2014


4885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album is a shocker. I didn't care much for OP and TLLA, but I decided to give the stream a spin and see what a few of the songs sounded like. 45 minutes later I'd listened to my first Pianos album all the way through.



Now to go back and see what I've been missing with their last two...

Taxt
October 21st 2014


1380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is solid, but I agree that it is somewhat monotonous after the first listen.



Honestly my biggest complaint here is how under-utilized David Haik is. Dude can fucking SHRED but he doesn't have the room to really lay into it on this thing which is a shame.

hogan900
October 21st 2014


3136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ill review this when i can get a good grasp of it, my rating is subject to change.

The ending to this thing is fantastic though.

YakNips
October 21st 2014


19924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

that's the gayest thing you've ever said fti

ABjordanMM
October 21st 2014


1722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"clean vox only?



this'll def be my favorite putt album" [2]

Snake.
October 21st 2014


21851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

who the fuck is putt

Digging: Tricot - Makkuro

climactic
October 21st 2014


22505 Comments


Having the first review of a new album is very important!

TomTomTomato
October 21st 2014


134 Comments


better than i expected it'd be but still just meh

TomTomTomato
October 21st 2014


134 Comments


i really like the line "your wick won't burn away" though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy