Winterfylleth
The Divination Of Antiquity


3.5
great

Review

by ExplosiveOranges CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
October 19th, 2014 | 56 replies


Release Date: 10/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Far over the misty mountains cold.....

Throughout much of its history, black metal was a very set-in-stone, underground genre. Death metal often garnered a more widespread fanbase, and few bands ever sought the support of bigger labels. For the longest time, it seemed as though the genre was to remain as an obscure gem in the eyes of most metal fans. That all changed with the Internet age. Many new bands decided to abandon the less desirable traditions of past, and opted to gain attention and distribute their work through big labels and websites such as Bandcamp. Thus, we enter English black metallers Winterfylleth. In the course of their short career, they’ve amassed a small but loyal following, and created four full-length albums. And while their previous LP, The Threnody of Triumph, was subject to lukewarm reception by most critics, they’ve quickly managed to recover and craft a pleasant surprise in the form of their most recent album, The Divination Of Antiquity.

Clocking in at around 56 minutes long, The Divination Of Antiquity wastes no time in catching the listener’s attention. Only three songs dip below seven minutes in length, and only one is under five minutes, so don’t expect the shorter variety of black metal on the album. The production isn’t quite messy enough to fit in with the sound of older bands, but there is still a bit of a raw feel to it, and that middle ground works to Winterfylleth’s advantage. Although the black metal scene is primarily dominated by Scandinavian and American bands, the old English lyrical themes of The Divination Of Antiquity manage to help distinguish the band from their contemporaries. “Whisper of the Elements” exemplifies this perfectly, with these chillingly poetic ending lines: ”Whether sun doth shine/Or rain descend/I remain/I will remain 'till all Life's End”. “A Careworn Heart” is also standout track, capturing the listener’s attention for all of its nine minutes and thirty-nine seconds with aggressive, muddled guitars and just the right amount of ambience to build up that ominous, brooding feeling you get from a black metal band. “The World Ahead”, is also a highlight, serving as a haunting acoustic interlude that leads straight into the final two tracks, “Over Borderlands” and “Forsaken In Stone”, both of which hold their own as well.

Ultimately, though, it’s Winterfylleth’s concept of flow and attention to detail that create the highest points on the album. There’s never any point where the album becomes tedious to get through, and at the same time, you never really get that feeling that they could’ve or should’ve done more. That being said, seasoned black metal fans are unlikely to find anything here that they haven’t already heard before. Even with the occasional addition of a background choir and the heavy atmosphere, the chances of The Divination Of Antiquity becoming an instant hit among the black metal community are slim. But even then, everything is executed so well that there’s no particular reason as to why black metal fans shouldn’t give it a listen. If for nothing else, The Divination Of Antiquity is an excellent return to form for Winterfylleth, and is a great introduction to the band for anyone exploring the new black metal scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Every Time I Die Low TeensAsking Alexandria The Black
School of Seven Bells SVIIBTextures Phenotype
Fat White Family Songs for Our MothersIntervals The Shape of Colour
user ratings (78)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://candlelightrecordsusa.bandcamp.com/album/the-divination-of-antiquity



Huge props to JohnnyOnTheSpot for proofreading this. Album is available at the Bandcamp link above and on Spotify. Had an awful writer's block these past few days, so feedback is welcomed.

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

solid review EO. I must say that the last paragraph is in complete tandem to how I perceived this album. it's solid enough and I did really enjoy it, but I am pretty sure it will be lost in a sea of similar releases and does not have enough novelty to stand the test of time.



have a big pos.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Yeah, this is great, but I doubt it'll be remembered as fondly as either of the albums I put in the recommended by reviewer section.

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

possibly that Hoth album, but I guess it comes down to personal taste ;)

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eh, to each their own. This album is a lot better than their last one, though.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2014


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. I've jammed one Winterfylleth album and it was pretty awesome.



One thing about black metal that's odd is that there are so many bands in the genre that are often pretty similar to each other, sometime identical, yet BM fans eat the fast majority of it up like it's the freshest music ever. It's odd when you compare it to like the metalcore scene where people get hung up every time another band comes along doing the same thing. I'm pretty much the same as the BM fans I'm talking about but still.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, Game. Yeah, I can kinda see what you mean, but I think it's just the fact that black metal is usually seen in a more positive light than metalcore, unless you're talking about bands like Converge or Botch.

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think this is pretty much on par with their last album.



@GoM: I agree to an extent. However, considering how bm song structures tend not to be as formulaic as, for example metalcore, even bands that sound similar sonically manages to still sound more interesting next to one another than two metalcore bands would. At least in my experience. Then again, I doubt that most bm fans swallow all material passed their way. I'm sure we can all think of some bm albums that bored the ever-living shit out of us. ^^

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


11569 Comments


Nice, man. Not my type of music, but great review. Pos'd.

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also, I'm sure you could argue that for fans of most, if not all, genres considering a genre is

spawned from multiple musicians making similar music. It's all down to some form of "respect" for the

genre as a whole, and metal fans (again in my experience) tend to be experts at stipulating

what genres are shite and which ones are worth a dime.

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Jac: agreed, this lad can write a good one. Contribify!

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Jac luv u 2 bby

@osmark You just said basically everything I wanted to say, only better than I would've, lol.

@Dan Thanks, man.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2014


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Especially on sputnik it's really hard to find a negative BM review it seems. One thing that rarely changes on black metal records is that shriek which is pretty interchangeable in a lot of cases.



But I eat up 99 percent of BM I listen to so I'm not sure I have room to talk. Most releases are almost insta 4's lol

MoosechriS
October 19th 2014


6194 Comments


another awesome review dude, only had chance to jam this once since i got it but it sounded good first time through so i've got high hopes for this one. Their last album was a bit meh

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2014


6446 Comments


definitely rooting for your promotion man.

I'm glad I was of some use for this review, always down to help good writers get better, and you're one of the best user writers easily so I'm flattered you place some faith in my judgement lol

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

from what I've read you're not so shabby yourself ILikeToReferenceWeen. you two seem solid candidates for contribs and if there was a vote for the userbase you'd get mine.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2014


6446 Comments


@ osmark - it's a Texas is the Reason reference, dammit!

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

my bad ILikeToReferenceWeenOrTexasIsTheReasonInterchangeably

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2014


6446 Comments


uh oh, how do I dig myself out of this one..

anyway, let's keep the focus on ExplosiveOranges since this is his review after all, and time to shine

*hopes everyone makes fun of his username instead*

osmark86
October 19th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

now that you mention it, there is nothing indicative that citrus fruits would spontaneously combust. silly, e'er so silly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy